We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfort, design and excellent staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of New Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
New Hotel
Ranked #7 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Comfort, design and excellent staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

I stayed for just a day and it's such a shame really, this is a lovely hotel.

Location wise it can't be faulted, it's right in the centre of Athens. Design wise too it's bold and quirky. It's a bit of a strange combination of elements but definetely interesting. The room is also a bit unusual in terms of where things are placed but in a very good way. Loved the balcony too, I hate hotels with no outside spaces.

However, what really sets the hotel apart is its staff. So unusual in larger hotels! They are geniunely friendly and I felt that I was being taken care of. I especially would like to mention Ms. Christina who was so great during breakfast with her sunny disposition.

I used to live in Athens and I am usually very strict with all Greek hotels but I couldn't recommend New Hotel enough. It's a really lovely place.

Room Tip: All rooms have lovely and different design features. Ask to see one or two, they are happy to help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sofia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YesHotels, Manager at New Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Dear Guest,
We are happy that our services and location were exactly what you were looking for.
Our staff aims to provide comfort and hospitality to all our guests and make New “a home away from home” experience. Thank you for your kind words and we are looking forward to welcome you back at New Hotel.
We remain at your disposal


Kind regards

Dimitris Valyrakis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,410 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    986
    350
    51
    14
    9
See reviews for
209
728
67
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

No, this is not another W Hotel wanabee, definitely it has its own character and not pushing itself to be the hippest place on earth. Location wise, perfect ! Right in the middle of Athens where Syntagma square is just merely 5-10 minutes walk. Comes very handy when the whole transport system gets completely paralyzed by strike. Shopping area of Plaka and Kolonaki is just another 15-20 minutes walk, perfect location indeed. The lobby is small, interestingly decorated with chopped furniture from the previous hotel being used to cover all the walls and column. The room is not too big, but ample size that you will not feel of being squeezed into a small nicely decorated room. It is seriously a nicely decorated room, but again nothing too overwhelming. Compact and smartly designed bathroom, stocked with Clarins amenities. This is where you can really sense the luxury of this place. The staff is young and hip, genuinely warm, cheerful and ready to assist you in every way. Breakfast was amazing, not the kind of usual big buffet but more to a perfect selection of morning delight to give you a wholesome beginning. Highly recommended, with a reasonable price tag as well.

Room Tip: Room with a glimpse of Acropolis view would be nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DAZJakarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

A cute small hotel in the center of Athens, ideal location if you travel for business.
The concept of the decoration is upcycling with old materials with a truly impressive reception.
The two rooms I saw before I chose mine had two different concepts. The first had photos of 50s 60s Athens with vintage themes and the second had these blue "eyes" Greeks carry as good luck charms. The staff is very polite and professional and very alerted of their guests.
Bravo to the restaurant hostess with an incredible smile and eagerness to assist the guests.
Regret to say I was not impressed with the food of the restaurant. Nice presentation but overall an effort to describe it as gourmet when it is not.
Prices are very well set and I believe it is one of the best value for money in the center of Athens but I would be willing to pay a little more if I had a more spacious room.
Even though the center of Athens is quite messy and noisy I would also like a balcony which there wasn't.
Overall a good experience, I recommend this hotel and class it as a stylish small hotel but not boutique luxury.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JeanTene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

Modern but warm and comfortable, very nice rooms and halls, very good restaurant for dinner and breakfast, actually the best I have found inside an hotel in Athens, and I have been in the most famous (Grande Bretagne, A for Athens, Athens Plaza, Athens Imperial Classical, Electra Palace, Theoxenia House Kifissia, etc.). Waiters are very friendly and nice without being obsessive. In my opinion is the best value in Athens, I will return surely

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fabvir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greece
Level Contributor
86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

As anyone who is interested in modern design knows the Campana brothers are modern semi gods; making their first hotel ever in Athens was something that i have been waiting for long (also it took them more than 3 years to complete it). The result is breathtaking. Campanas set a workshop in Athens which under their supervision used all possible elements from the old, iconic, 60-70s hotel, and turn this into a design maverick. The art installation of the lobby and restaurant, the reclaimed chairs, the Edra (designed by Campana again) chairs, sofas and mirrors (super expensive), the evil eye charms on the walls of my room, the gold fragmented wash basin stands, the bamboo flooring create a literally NEW design vocabulary. If i had to add something i would also say that the value for money is unique, breakfast is amazing and service is cleverly informal while super attentive. My only criticism, if i had to think one, is that they could also come up with a cheaper lunch preset menu.....

Room Tip: Choose a room with the evil eye charms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank greek1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#14 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,802 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#4 of 325 in Athens
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#9 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Hotel

Property: New Hotel
Address: 16 Filellinon | Syntagma Square, Athens 105 57, Greece (Formerly Olympic Palace Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Syntagma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Athens
#3 Business Hotel in Athens
#5 Family Hotel in Athens
#6 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#6 Romantic Hotel in Athens
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,874 - ₹ 19,559
Hotel Class:5 star — New Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Hotel is located 200 meters from Syntagma (Constitution) Square, the most central part of Athens, a center point to the daily activities of all Athenians. An ideal location to get the best of Athens, from ancient to modern times. New Hotel, a deluxe property totally designed (with exclusive furniture) by Campana brothers. 79 rooms & suites in total, featuring a strong and authentic Greek design concept within the rooms under the perception of the Campana brothers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Prestigia and Agoda so you can book your New Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympic Palace Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing