We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful stay, fantastic staff”
Review of Periscope Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Periscope Hotel
Ranked #70 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“wonderful stay, fantastic staff”
Reviewed 16 March 2012

I know this is posted rather late, but we stayed there in august last year, and what a treat it was. Having been to Athens many times, i opted to stay in kolonaki to get away from the tourist trappings of monastoraki or plaka, but still wanted to be near restaurants and cafes, and thats exactly what Kolonaki gives you.
The staff at the hotel were wonderful, more than helpful, as i arrived last year in the middle of the taxi strike and couldnt get the hotel, they were very concerned and helped me by sending a friend to collect me, all the time keeping contact with my on my cell phone.
The hotel its self is modern with a wonderful city scene on the roof of the bedroom, we spent some time lying on the bed, trying to work out where everything was :-)
If you like big breakfasts, this i the place for you. delicious, made to order, and they seemed to be concerned that by the 3rd day i was just ordering fruit salad and toast, asking if anything was wrong, but as im not normally a breakfast eater, i couldnt fit it all in - however my friend did and enjoyed every mouthful .The server and breakfast was very sweet and very friendly. we opted to sit on the pavement to have our breakfast, on the little bench with tray tables ( which i think are just meant for coffee ) , but it was no problem for them, they just moved the table settings outside for us, and each morning after that , they were ready waiting for us.

there are all the main shops found in ermou street , just a few blocks away, in kolonaki sqaure, the market is 2 blocks away and was fun to walk through looking at all the wonderful fruit. there are restaurants just round the corner, and the metro is at the bottom of the hill.

so this is a gem of a hotel, which i will go back to this year, without a doubt. it was smooth sailing all the way with the periscope , thank you all. cheryl

Room Tip: as for a room facing the street, great for people watching :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheryl d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    127
    35
    6
    3
See reviews for
30
177
35
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

The hotel is a good choice as the neighborhood is upscale and not in the middle of noisy Athens. It is also very near to the "teleferik" so us to get up on top of the Lycavittos for great views of Athens. The morning breakfast is very cute and charming.

Room Tip: Keep in mind that your room overlooking the street can be noisy. Try to get the rooms with views ove...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fermal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, R?on de Bruxelles-Capitale, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2012

This is a small, but very fine hotel! Superb minimalistic decoration, wonderful beds, a very tasteful breakfast, good amenities, friendly staff... and this in the Kolonaki area, where you can find the nicest shops & restaurants in Athens. Look no further and choose this hotel!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BLOOMBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naxos, Greece
1 review
Reviewed 8 February 2012

A beautiful, well-located hotel staffed by polite, friendly, multilingual employees. They serve a wonderful breakfast including fresh orange juice. This hotel is located at the heart of fashionable Kolonaki district in a very safe area of town even at late hours and a short walk to Syntagma Square. The hotel has a great restaurant with excellent food, I highly recommend. This is the 4th time I was here and I will definately visit it again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michaela d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

we have just returned from ten days in Athens having had one of the best holidays we have ever had. We were worried that ten days in the same hotel might be too long - not at all. Our room was big enough to act as a sitting room and bedroom, with TV, DVD and minibar as well as a desk, sofa and balcony. The restaurant downstairs serves some of the best food we had to the extent that we often ate either lunch or dinner there. The staff were charming, friendly and discreet as well as being very helpful and considered with their recommendations. All in all we couldn't recommend Periscope more highly and can't wait to return!

Room Tip: go for a junior suite for a bathtub, sofa and lovely balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Kolonaki / Lykavittos
Coco-Mat Hotel Athens
Coco-Mat Hotel Athens
#12 of 326 in Athens
245 reviews
Kolonaki / Lykavittos
Saint George Lycabettus
Saint George Lycabettus
#68 of 326 in Athens
2,003 reviews
Syntagma
New Hotel
New Hotel
#10 of 326 in Athens
1,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omonia
Fresh Hotel
Fresh Hotel
#33 of 326 in Athens
2,009 reviews
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#16 of 326 in Athens
2,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Periscope Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Periscope Hotel

Property: Periscope Hotel
Address: 22 Haritos str., Kolonaki, Athens 10675, Greece (Formerly Athenian Inn)
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Kolonaki / Lykavittos
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Athens
#26 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#45 Luxury Hotel in Athens
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,901 - ₹ 26,195
Hotel Class:4 star — Periscope Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Periscope is a minimal city hotel with an impressive urban architecture, located on a quiet street, minutes away from Kolonaki square. The hotel draws its name from its electric periscope, a fantastic way to visit Athens from a distance! In the Lounge Bar, guests can find a remote control for a periscope located on the roof of the hotel. With a 360 degree range, the periscope's views, which guests select, are shown real time on a big plasma TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Periscope Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Periscope Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing