We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable But With A "Cloud"”
Review of Hilton Athens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Athens
Ranked #17 of 282 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2012

We were very comfortable during our recent stay at the Athens Hilton. However, the "cloud" that currently hangs over Greece was apparent at the hotel. I expected a vibrant, four-plus star hotel with a sense of style and attentive service. What we experienced was a really comfortable escape from the city, but with a pall hanging over everyone's attitude. It was as if the malaise that currently afflicts Greece had also infected the hotel in terms of the vibe. That said, if you want the comforts of a Western-style hotel room, the Hilton delivers. If you want to experience Athens but want a place to escape to, the Hilton fits the bill.

The front desk staffers were hit or miss. There were a few who were really helpful; others were downright dismissive. Getting food or a drink at the pool restaurant and bar was a chore. There was one waiter for a crowded pool area during our weekend there. I had to walk over to the hostess at the restaurant and order directly through her.


We are an extended family, and we had connecting rooms on so-called noisy side of the hotel. We didn't hear a thing. The windows are sound-proofed with nice blackout curtains for a good night's sleep. There's a design flaw in the connecting rooms: the doors between the rooms shut and lock automatically! Doesn't that defeat the purpose? We locked ourselves out of the other side several times.

We had a really good price, so we're not complaining. The pool is a great place for kids (we have a young one), and the location of the hotel is close to the city center but far enough away so that you don't need to worry about protests. You can also walk to several inexpensive restaurants and a snack/drink kiosk. We recommend doing that, because the food at the hotel is costly.

Room Tip: I don't agree with those who say pay extra for Acropolis view. We got a really cheap deal, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alj1208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2012

Dear Sir/Madame,

We thank you very much for taking the time and trouble to post your comments in reference to your stay at the Hilton Athens.

It was a pleasure to note that you were satisfied with most of the hotel's facilities, the comfort of your room, the hotel location, the outdoor pool.

Your input regarding the Front Desk and Pool Restaurant & Bar service you received, has been communicated to the respective department heads and corrective action will be taken. Thank you for letting us know and sorry for the inconvenience caused.

Look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (3,844)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,475 - 2,479 of 3,844 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2012

This property might however look too bling for a place like Greece. I would expect a more heritage like structure. But what is within is more important. Nothing is more impressive than the food here. The Greek sweet dishes are to die for. Breakfast is fantastic.

Room Tip: Not very far away from Plaka. Perfect place in the city centre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MyHighway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2012

Dear Sir/Madame,

Many thanks for posting your comments regarding your stay here at the Hilton Athens.

With pleasure we noted that you enjoyed your visit and were satisfied with the facilities, services rendered as well as the food selection. Your positive input will be communicated to my team!

Thank you for having stayed with us. Look forward to welcoming you back!

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

With tourism down, the Hilton is booking at remarkable good rates. On hot summer days, it has been a real oasis since the 60s and the pool itself may be worth the stay. Rooms are not plush by today's standards, but were once stylish and modern. And the location is fine, not as good as the Grand Britania, yet removed from the chaos that sometimes wracks Syntagma Square. We stayed twice recently. The first time our room had not been properly serviced. Both times we found the food underwhelming, particularly breakfast. Ask for an Acropolis view. It is worth it and you can even see the sea!

Room Tip: An Acropolis view is worth the extra charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Visitor_from_Athens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2012

Dear Sir,

Thank you for having chosen the Hilton Athens for your stay.

It was a pleasure to note that you enjoyed your visit, the facilities and service rendered. Your kind comments will be communicated to my team, which I am sure will be much appreciated.

Look forward to welcoming you back in the not distant future and extend once again the warm hospitality that our guests have come to expect from us over the years.

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Hilton Athens is probably the poorest 5-star hotel we have ever stayed at. They charge you for everything and 'service' does not seem to be in the hotel staffs' vocabulary. The breakfast is the only thing good about this hotel. Would not come back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Y K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2012

Dear Sir/Madame,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your stay here at the Hilton Athens.

We were concerned to read that the general impression of your visit was not positive. Please accept our apologies for this. Your input has been taken into consideration and reviewed with my team.

Once again, many thanks for having chosen our hotel. Do hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back and prove that we can serve you better.

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We stayed here one night on the executive floor. Rooms was very spacious with Acropolis view. Gorgeous views of the day and night Acropolis. The hotel has a rooftop bar/lounge with great views as well. Food and drinks were pricey but that's expected. The breakfast on the executive floor was plentiful and there was a good selection. Location was a few blocks from the train stop and short cab to the Acropolis.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 92lber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athbart, General Manager at Hilton Athens, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2012

Dear Madame,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hilton Athens!

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed the hotel's location, the comfort and spaciousness of your room, the services rendered.

Look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel on your next visit to the city of Athens!

Kind regards,

Bart van de Winkel
General Manager
Hilton Athens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#11 of 282 in Athens
3,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 282 in Athens
3,945 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#10 of 282 in Athens
2,439 reviews
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Athens? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Athens

Address: 46 Vassilissis Sofias Avenue, Athens 115 28, Greece
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Athens
#11 Family Hotel in Athens
#14 Luxury Hotel in Athens
#14 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#20 Business Hotel in Athens
Price Range: ₹ 13,590 - ₹ 29,103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Athens 5*
Number of rooms: 506
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Athens is not just a hotel. It’s a legacy in Athens. Consider the fact that a whole area is named after the Hilton and you’ll start to understand the immense name this hotel has had the past 48 years. Socialités, fashionistas, local and international celebrities, you see them here!An architectural marvel, the Hilton Athens has been fully renovated in 2003 to be able to cope with the next episode in its ever interesting life. The hotel boasts 506 spacious rooms and some of the best city views available. You can almost touch the Acropolis! Art is abundant and local artists are used throughout the hotel. Hilton Athens has the largest outdoor pool in the city center and features four restaurants and two bars. The Byzantino restaurant offers Mediterranean cuisine in a renowned atmosphere. At the Milos restaurant, you can taste gourmet Greek cuisine at its best. Aethrion Lounge is where local celebrities and politicians meet for a coffee and the rooftop Galaxy Bar Restaurant truly is the most glamorous Athenian hangout to start out or end your night, to see or to be seen. Remember; people like to dress up here! Be the VIP you are while enjoying a citywide view. The hotel is just 25 minutes away from the airport by direct subway. It features 22 meeting rooms for 2 to 1300 people, a 24-hour Business Center and an Executive Lounge with Acropolis view. For a spa getaway or some pampering time away from the real world, you can visit the Hiltonia Spa, featuring an indoor pool, a fully equipped fitness room, a Pilates studio with natural light and an endless array of health and beauty treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Hilton EMEA, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Hilton Athens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Athens Hotel Athens
Hilton International Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing