We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$ 467
US$ 313
Bookgreece.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 224
US$ 201
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 240
US$ 232
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$ 190
US$ 184
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 242/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Attalos Hotel(Athens)
US$ 159
US$ 148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$ 200
US$ 176
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Areos Hotel(Athens)
US$ 116
US$ 108
Bookgreece.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 145
US$ 139
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Herodion Hotel(Athens)
US$ 293
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (3,758)
Filter reviews
3,758 results
Traveller rating
2,895
612
151
62
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,895
612
151
62
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbutler servicerooftop restaurantwinter gardenbutler floorcigar bargb roof gardensyntagma squareparliament buildingbeautiful hoteldeluxe suitesteam roomindoor poolgreek parliamenttop floormarble bathroomking georgeour honeymoon
Filter
Updating list...
2,383 - 2,388 of 3,758 reviews
Reviewed 23 January 2013 via mobile

An incredibly beautiful hotel. The decadence and grandeur are hard to get over. Every time you return to the hotel and walk through the marble clad lobby you almost feel that you are staying in a palace. The service, facilities and location are also unbeatable. I highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alanlynchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

This hotel is stunning, the lobby, lobby bar, the rooms and then the rooftop! OMG! The view, the bar, the pool, lunch, dinner or drinks this is the definition of world class! When it is 100 degrees out side during the mid day stay in or by the pool and have a lovely lunch. Early mornings and evenings are for adventure out of the hotel but the mid day is all Grande Bretagne. Dinner and cocktails at sunset is the place to be. I hate gush but when something is this good I have to!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JSWINES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Htl_Grande_Bretagne, Manager at Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback after your recent stay at the Hotel Grande Bretagne. We couldn’t be more delighted upon reading such riveting comments and do hope to welcome you back when you are next in Athens.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013

This is by far the most sumptuous hotel I have ever stayed in. The style is indeed "grand," with tons of polished marble, gorgeous mosaic floors, plush and beautiful carpets, extensive architectural finish on the walls, stairways, etc. Very posh.

The high tea (complementary for our stay, for some reason) was excellent, no cutting corners here. Superb scones and clotted cream, little sandwiches, and perfect tiny pastries, along with very good tea. As the other commentators have noted, breakfast is hard to beat. First, it is in the roof-garden with a view of the Acropolis! Second, the selection is extensive, probably 20 kinds of pastries including croissants, spinach pie, and lots of other things. Poached eggs in a little cup! Choices of honey! Wonderful cheeses, hams, yogurts, you name it.
There is also a spa, way more elaborate than most luxury hotels. A very good indoor swimming pool, the best gym I have seen in Europe or Asia, pedi/mani, massages of many kinds. This is a full service spa.
The location is also perfect, right on Constitution Square, across the street from Parliament which is beautifully lit up at night (as is the Acropolis, up the hill).
This is a very hard to top hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pilker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Htl_Grande_Bretagne, Manager at Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback after your recent stay at the Hotel Grande Bretagne. We were delighted to read your positive comments and happy that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay with us. We look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to Athens.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

Location of hotel magnificent. Close, by foot, to all interesting points of the city.Reception persons are professional and very friendly.Rooms are clean and comfortable.Breakfast is of the best quality. In total very positive impression of my stay.
Would come back.
Thank you!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Vlada1712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Htl_Grande_Bretagne, Manager at Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for writing your comments after your recent stay at the Hotel Grande Bretagne. It was lovely to read that you had such a nice time while staying with us and we hope to welcome you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 6 nights with my family this past December/January. We had an amazing stay at this hotel, and found the rooms to be amazing and functional and the staff to be extremely helpful.

Location and Restaurants : The location of this hotel is IDEAL: You can walk to the "Plaka" and many other important sights in Athens, there are great shops and restaurants around the corner....including the big department store "Attica" as well as luxury boutiques such as Hermés, Louis Vuitton etc. There are also great cafes in the square in front of the hotel....a great place to have lunch and breakfast. The hotel restaurants and room service are way over priced and not worth it.

The Rooms: The rooms were traditional and modern at the same time. The decor was very old Italian style, with rich colors and antiques. The bathrooms were also very functional and big, allowing you lots of room to get ready. The only issue we had with one of our two connecting rooms was the temperature.....the heating was too much and we could not seem to control the temperature. But overall the rooms were amazing.

The Staff: The staff was INCREDIBLE. We found the concierge to be amazing, a special thanks to "Apostolos", who helped us so much and also printed out our boarding passes and sent them to our room for our flight to Crete.

The Spa/Gym/Pool: I had a few spa treatments at the hotel spa, and although the treatments were amazing and the staff was great, they were over priced compared to what I've paid for similar treatments in similar hotels all over Europe. The pool and spa area was nice, would have been good to have more options in the men's locker room opposed to just co-ed spa choices. The gym was enough, but I was expecting more for such an amazing hotel.

Overall we had an amazing stay at this hotel and I recommend it to everyone and anyone visiting Athens! You will have a delightful and restful stay in Athens!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sergiotheexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews