We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Plaka Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Adrian Hotel(Athens)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Tempi(Athens)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Athos Hotel(Athens)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (3,536)
Filter reviews
3,536 results
Traveller rating
1,934
1,319
211
54
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,934
1,319
211
54
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop bargreat locationwithin walking distancefree tea and coffeebreakfast roomrooftop viewsyntagma squarean amazing viewflea marketroof gardenancient agoracentral locationmajor sitesgreek yogurtbreakfast was excellentrestaurants and shopswould highly recommend this hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,113 - 2,118 of 3,536 reviews
Reviewed 26 April 2012

The Plaka Hotel delivers a lot of value for your travel dollar. The location is ideal, in the Plaka area of Athens, close to the Acropolis, Parliament House, shopping in the Plaka, ruins and beautiful little churches around every corner. Out the door, turn left, and a short walk of a few blocks has you walking the Plaka for shopping and, perhaps treating yourself to honey soaked cake balls from a bakery. Street level and rooftop restaurants with excellent offerings abound. Out the door, turn right, and a short walk will take you past high end shopping and Parliament House for the changing of the Guards. For our junket to the island of Poros, we were able to walk a couple of blocks to the metro to easily catch our ferry. We had heard to be on the lookout for pickpockets, so we didn't carry purses. None of the five people in our group had an experience that was scary in any way. If we have the chance to go back to Athens we would stay at the Plaka Hotel again.

Stayed: March 2012
Thank MemereNancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2012

Dear Guest,

We are very pleased to read that you returned home with a pleasent memory from Athens and Plaka hotel.
We thank you for recommnending us and we hope that we will have the possibility to host you again on a future trip.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

This is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed at. Fist, the location was amazing and well within walking distance of the major sites within Athens. Next, it had fabulous views of the acropolis. I have been showing people pictures from the rooftop terrace and they cannot believe how beautiful it was! The staff at the hotel was very friendly and made sure that we were having a pleasant stay and knew what to see and do in Athens. On top of all of that, the breakfast was really delicious. It was even available early in the morning (5am) for when we had to leave early for our flight. Last but not least, the rooms had very large comfortable beds, great showers, and a nice refrigerator to store any items that need to be kept cool. It was definitely worth the little splurge to stay here. The only downside was the internet. I wish that they had free wi-fi or offered 25 free minutes per day and not per stay, but that was only a minor inconvenience.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alison E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Dear Guest,

We're delighted to read that your stay with us was so positive that you offered us such a nice title!

Thank you for sharing your positive experience on Trip Advisor and for your high score.

We really look forward to welcoming you again on a future trip to Athens.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

We had a very enjoyable 3-night stay at Hotel Plaka. The rooms were very nicely decorated and the beds were comfy. The bathrooms were spotless and the showers were fantastic and roomy. We asked for Acropolis view rooms, and what a view it was! There was something magical about going to sleep underneath the lights of the Acropolis. The staff was cooly efficient, but not warmly welcoming. But the rooms made up for that. The only downside for me is that the rooms were a bit warm. We visited in February and the air conditioning wasn't yet turned on. We were able to open the windows, but Athens is a noisy city at all hours -- problematic for a light sleeper. Breakfast was included in our room rate. The breakfast was decent and filling, but not remarkable. Overall I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shazzer36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences of your stay with us
Your feedback helps us examine our achievements and improve our services.
It is very nice to hear that you enjoyed the room, our new bathrooms and the view.

Thank you for recommneding the Plaka Hotel.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Along with many other reviewers, we thoroughly enjoyed our room, view, breakfast, and usually helpful staff. In general, we would recommend the Plaka Hotel to most travelers. In particular, however, as older travelers, we had a disturbing experience with an attempted pick-pocket incident just yards from the hotel's entrance. Even though my husband's wallet was not in a vulnerable position, a group of young women converged upon us, caused a distraction, and attempted to remove it. My husband is 80 years old, and almost had to fight them off. When we reported the situation to the hotel staff, they simply explained that pickpockets were common. We were aware of that and had taken precautions. Needless to say, my husband was shaken by the experience. It almost spoiled an otherwise lovely trip. We don't expect the staff to patrol the sidewalk immediately in front of the entrance, but surely something could be done to ward off future problems that might occur almost on the premises. In spite of our many good experiences with the Plaka, at this time, we're not sure that we could recommend it to our elderly traveler friends.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jean150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. I am pleased you enjoyed many elements from what the hotel is offering.
Concerning the pick pocket's attempt close to the hotel, it's a unique incidence we have heard of. All our staff took great care of your husband. Plaka area is a top location from security point of view and strategical for visiting museums, the Acropolis and most sites.
We are really sorry for the unfortunate moment.
Hope to see you again.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Hotels in Athens are always a challenge, there is always something not quit right or worse. completely wrong. The Plaka hotel though did its best to show that things could be done as well as possible within its limits. The location is great, the views from the roof and the rooms facing the Parthenon are spectacular; the rooms are, as is the norm in Athens, small but renovated and comfortable and the breakfast is up to standards.
All together it was good value for the price I paid and will stay there again in the future.
n.b. I've over the years stayed in at least 20 Athenian hotels and apart from some luxury hotels
have seldom been impressed with the quality/services offered (but still enjoyed the ambiance and flavours though).

Room Tip: get a room with the view of the Acropolis
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vouna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel during your recent visit to Athens.

Experienced guests satisfaction, as you, is of great importance and we are pleased to know that our high standards of service and facilities enabled you to have an enjoyable and memorable stay.

I hope that you will choose to stay with us again.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews