We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calm and restful hotel in a great location”
Review of Plaka Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Plaka Hotel
Ranked #12 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Calm and restful hotel in a great location”
Reviewed 26 April 2012

We only spent one night here and we wished we were staying longer. We arrived very early (having disembarked from a rather hectic cruise at 6.00am) on the Greek Good Friday. We were very tired. We knew that we were way to early to check in but the person on the desk stored our luggage for us and very kindly told us to go up to the breakfast room and have whatever we needed to eat, and we also used the beautiful public washroom. We came back in the afternoon to find that our room was spacious, immaculate and beautifully presented, with a stunning view of the Acropolis. We went out again and returned in the evening. To our amazement a basket of fruit, some water and a bottle of wine had been placed on the dressing table with a 'With compliments' slip. We asked the receptionist for a restaurant recommendation and the one he sent us to was great - fantastic food, great ambiance and a really low bill! The beds were firm but comfortable and there was an easy chair in the room. There is lots of really helpful tourist information provided around the hotel. We also stayed one night before the cruise at the 'A for Athens'. This is also really great but if you are comparing the two, I would say that the Plaka is better for more mature travellers, but the A for Athens has a very lively bar and a more 'happening' location so is possibly better for younger travellers. However, it is a matter of personal preference. They are both excellent.

Room Tip: At the back, quiet and with a view of the Acropolis over the backs of buildings
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz187147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Dear Guest,

We are delight to read that as an experienced traveler, you had a very nice stay with us and that you enjoyed the calm of the hotel, the central location, our rich buffet breakfast, as well as the services we provide.

We thank you for your positive review and high score.

A bientot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,729
    1,196
    181
    49
    16
See reviews for
635
1,546
224
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (589)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2012 via mobile

The Plaka Hotel delivers a lot of value for your travel dollar. The location is ideal, in the Plaka area of Athens, close to the Acropolis, Parliament House, shopping in the Plaka, ruins and beautiful little churches around every corner. Out the door, turn left, and a short walk of a few blocks has you walking the Plaka for shopping and, perhaps treating yourself to honey soaked cake balls from a bakery. Street level and rooftop restaurants with excellent offerings abound. Out the door, turn right, and a short walk will take you past high end shopping and Parliament House for the changing of the Guards. For our junket to the island of Poros, we were able to walk a couple of blocks to the metro to easily catch our ferry. We had heard to be on the lookout for pickpockets, so we didn't carry purses. None of the five people in our group had an experience that was scary in any way. If we have the chance to go back to Athens we would stay at the Plaka Hotel again.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank MemereNancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Dear Guest,

We are very pleased to read that you returned home with a pleasent memory from Athens and Plaka hotel.
We thank you for recommnending us and we hope that we will have the possibility to host you again on a future trip.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012

This is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed at. Fist, the location was amazing and well within walking distance of the major sites within Athens. Next, it had fabulous views of the acropolis. I have been showing people pictures from the rooftop terrace and they cannot believe how beautiful it was! The staff at the hotel was very friendly and made sure that we were having a pleasant stay and knew what to see and do in Athens. On top of all of that, the breakfast was really delicious. It was even available early in the morning (5am) for when we had to leave early for our flight. Last but not least, the rooms had very large comfortable beds, great showers, and a nice refrigerator to store any items that need to be kept cool. It was definitely worth the little splurge to stay here. The only downside was the internet. I wish that they had free wi-fi or offered 25 free minutes per day and not per stay, but that was only a minor inconvenience.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2012
Dear Guest,

We're delighted to read that your stay with us was so positive that you offered us such a nice title!

Thank you for sharing your positive experience on Trip Advisor and for your high score.

We really look forward to welcoming you again on a future trip to Athens.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

We had a very enjoyable 3-night stay at Hotel Plaka. The rooms were very nicely decorated and the beds were comfy. The bathrooms were spotless and the showers were fantastic and roomy. We asked for Acropolis view rooms, and what a view it was! There was something magical about going to sleep underneath the lights of the Acropolis. The staff was cooly efficient, but not warmly welcoming. But the rooms made up for that. The only downside for me is that the rooms were a bit warm. We visited in February and the air conditioning wasn't yet turned on. We were able to open the windows, but Athens is a noisy city at all hours -- problematic for a light sleeper. Breakfast was included in our room rate. The breakfast was decent and filling, but not remarkable. Overall I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shazzer36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences of your stay with us
Your feedback helps us examine our achievements and improve our services.
It is very nice to hear that you enjoyed the room, our new bathrooms and the view.

Thank you for recommneding the Plaka Hotel.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mill Creek
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Along with many other reviewers, we thoroughly enjoyed our room, view, breakfast, and usually helpful staff. In general, we would recommend the Plaka Hotel to most travelers. In particular, however, as older travelers, we had a disturbing experience with an attempted pick-pocket incident just yards from the hotel's entrance. Even though my husband's wallet was not in a vulnerable position, a group of young women converged upon us, caused a distraction, and attempted to remove it. My husband is 80 years old, and almost had to fight them off. When we reported the situation to the hotel staff, they simply explained that pickpockets were common. We were aware of that and had taken precautions. Needless to say, my husband was shaken by the experience. It almost spoiled an otherwise lovely trip. We don't expect the staff to patrol the sidewalk immediately in front of the entrance, but surely something could be done to ward off future problems that might occur almost on the premises. In spite of our many good experiences with the Plaka, at this time, we're not sure that we could recommend it to our elderly traveler friends.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jean150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorina S, General Manager at Plaka Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. I am pleased you enjoyed many elements from what the hotel is offering.
Concerning the pick pocket's attempt close to the hotel, it's a unique incidence we have heard of. All our staff took great care of your husband. Plaka area is a top location from security point of view and strategical for visiting museums, the Acropolis and most sites.
We are really sorry for the unfortunate moment.
Hope to see you again.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Psirri / Gazi
O&B Athens Boutique Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#15 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,899 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#16 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,649 reviews
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#2 of 325 in Athens
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,629 reviews
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaka Hotel

Property: Plaka Hotel
Address: 7, Kapnikareas street and corner of Mitropoleos | Plaka / Acropolis / Syntagma / Monastiraki, Athens 105 56, Greece
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Plaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Athens
#10 Family Hotel in Athens
#16 Business Hotel in Athens
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,359 - ₹ 33,167
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaka Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Most central hotel situated in Plaka district. Strategically located for visiting all main archaeological interests especially the Acropolis and new Acropolis museum, as well as Ancient Agora, Parliament, first Olympic stadium, Benaki museum, Cycladic museum, National garden. Two streets only away from metro station Monastiraki, with direct line from the airport and the port of Piraeus. 50m from the main shopping street Ermou and Plaka touristic shopping area with taverns and bars. Splendid view of the Acropolis from roof terrace not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Plaka Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Athens Hotel Plaka
Plaka Hotel Athens

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing