We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Acropolis Hill Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Acropolis Hill Hotel
Ranked #29 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Acropolis Hill Hotel”
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We very much enjoyed our stay here. The decor is modern, clean and comfortable. The location is great, not far from the Acropolis, the new Acropolis Museum and the popular markets in Plaka. I asked for a room with a view of the Acropolis and that is what we got - see photo taken from my balcony late one night. Downside of being at the front of the hotel and sleeping with the window open is the noise of the traffic but that did not actually mar my stay at the hotel - it was my choice not to put the (very quiet and efficient) air con on and close the window! The pool, attractively set in decking, is small but it was never crowded, perfect for the occasional dip. We were out and about in Athens most of the day. The breakfast is plentiful and staff very relaxed and helpful. I particularly appreciated the clean room and bathroom with powerful shower. The terrace has fantastic views over Athens and the Acropolis. I hope that the management will put umbrellas at the tables as the heat can be intense and add some foliage of some kind to do justice to such an important feature of the hotel. I would definitely stay at the Acropolis Hill again.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Thespina-KC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

723 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    320
    85
    25
    24
See reviews for
159
306
54
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

This is a nice small hotel in a good location, only a short distance from the Acropolis. The rooms though are tiny as was the shower in the bathroom (I kept banging my elbows!). There were no drinks in the mini bar and we arrived mid day, parched with a bit of a walk back to a shop. I was unsure about whether anyone was working in the bar as it seemed empty any time we passed. The pool also is tiny with only about 8 seats to sit around it. We were on the fifth floor right beside the terrace where people could sit out so that really wasn't ideal at night time when people were sitting chatting right outside our window. But having said all of the above, I did like the hotel - the reception staff were very friendly and helpful, the breakfast was pretty good and as I said, the location was great.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eimdot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TourHotel, General Manager at Acropolis Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
Dear eimdot,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property and for your kind comments. For your information, the bar operates 24hours a day and we will be happy to assist you with anything you might need during your stay. In the rooms we do provide mini fridges, and the terrace is open to all our guests, as long as there are no complaints from other guests of the hotel due to noise. Thank you very much for choosing our hotel Acropolis Hill and we really look forward to welcome you back in one of our hotels.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

I read many reviews on TripAdvisor before deciding to book the Acropolis Hill hotel and on the whole I wasn't disappointed. This is a good clean 3 star hotel which is affordable but decorated in a modern way with fairly new fixtures and fittings.

I would disagree with the previous review about the hotel not having adequate swimming pool and garden facilities - if you want facilities like that surely you would book a Hilton or Marriott or go to a resort. If you stay on the Acropolis Hill you're there for the historical sites! So rather than write a verbose review, I'll summarise my experience as follows:

Pros:
- Excellent location half way up the Acropolis Hill. You can easily walk to the new museum and entrance to the climb up to the Parthenon.
- Clean and well maintained with good housekeeping.
- Decent included buffet breakfast
- Decent sized room with small balcony.
- Quiet hotel and surrounding area

Cons:
- Most people, including Taxi drivers hadn't heard of the hotel when we asked for directions which made it quite difficult getting back when we were still unfamiliar with routes. Apparently the hotel was recently renamed so I would advise people to look up and keep a note of the old name!
- We booked a double room via Expedia but ended up with a room with two single beds put together.
- The reception didn't always have answers to typical "touristy" questions.

One point that is probably both a pro and a con - you have to be very careful when you get off at Sygrou Fix station otherwise you could end up doing a huge climb up the hill! From the station, come out the exit sign posted "Drakou". You will come out in a small narrow street with cafes on both sides and this street will be sloping upwards. You want to walk up this street and after crossing one or two small roads you'll see steps leading up. You need to go up these steps and you'll then end up on Mousson Street. Turn left as you come up from the steps and the hotel is a few metres away. I got it slightly wrong and ended up walking along the main road from the station and going a long roundabout route which involved climbing a steep hill to get the hotel! Definitely something to avoid! It's easy to get to from Fix as long as you follow the steps up.

Finally, on the pizza front, we tried getting vegetarian pizza delivered to the hotel from the local pizza place (which was recommended by reception) but it was really poor. Not the hotel's fault but I suggest anyone feeling like a pizza night in should get it delivered from pizza hut instead.

Overall, pleased with the hotel and it gave us the best place from which to do all our Athens sightseeing whilst having a comfortable nights sleep at the end of the day.

Room Tip: Ask for acropolis view and ensure you get a proper double bed not two singles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CTheWorld84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TourHotel, General Manager at Acropolis Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Dear CTheWorld84,

Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review of your experience at Acropolis Hill Hotel. We are also very glad to read that your experience at our hotel was postitive and look forward to welcome you again. As you have noticed yourself, Acropolis Hill Hotel is a modern, new, 3 star hotel, in the centre of Athens, ideally located to become your starting point to visit Athens on foot - Plaka, Monastiraki, Acropolis and museums being just a few minutes walk away. With reference to your comment about the taxi drivers, as it is reasonable not all taxi drivers know all the hotels listed in Athens, but if you have the address of the hotel (Mousson 7 street in Filopappou) it is certain that you will not get lost. Also concerning the bed, in the hotel we have both twin and double rooms, so if you have a particular preference don't hesitate to ask at the reception desk, so as to be able to offer you with your choice! We hope to see you again.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thessaloniki
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

My husband and I stayed for just one night in this hotel in July 2012. I have read all positive tripadvisor's reviews and had high expectations. Although many of them were met, i have some complaints. First, I will share my good experiences. The hotel is located next to Acropolis, in a quite, safe and easy reachable area. Our room (601) view was spectacular, having Parthenon in our sight. The room was clean and big enough for 2 persons, with modern furniture (one double bed, a sofa and a desk). However, the minibar was empty and therefore any guest should be prepared to bring beverages and water. We weren't. As for facilities, the pool is small, crowded when we tried to go. It was the hottest day of all year and may every guest wanted to swim. There are no flowers, no garden or something like that but only high walls around the pool that made the atmosphere like being in a sauna. Also, there is no pool bar, so if you like to have a coffee or tea, you have to walk outside the hotel to get one! Similar, there is no roof garden. You can have a view from the 5th floor but there is nothing else there. Also, you can not have lunch, dinner or snack but the receptionist will give you a pizza's menu to order in your room. For my taste,the menu of "pizza la diva" is not good and shouldn't be suggested. The breakfast offered and included in price is good. Our overall impression is positive but it seems as if this hotel tries to cut the cost and therefore they don't want to have better facilities and services. It's a pity because I strongly believe that they can do better.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing Parthenon like ours (601).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dremland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TourHotel, General Manager at Acropolis Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 20 July 2012
Dear dremland,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are glad to read that your overall experience at Acropolis Hill Hotel was positive and we are always eager to hear what you liked and how we might improve. As classified, we are a three star hotel and we provide the very best to our clients including very clean - modern rooms, rich buffet breakfast, top location, a swimming pool and as you mentioned an excellent view. In the rooms we do not have mini-bars, only mini-fridges, but there is a bar in the lobby area for the guests and you can order something anytime of the day.
Indeed last week we have experienced one of the hottest days in Athens and many of the guests wanted to use the pool for a refreshing dive. On a usual summer day in Athens though, it wouldn’t be so hot.
As for the dining options the hotel offers buffet breakfast to its guests. For lunch or dinner, there are plenty of tavernas and restaurants in the area, where you can taste a variety of greek specialties. Otherwise we can arrange for you a meal if you wish but we will need to be informed at least one day in advance to be able to offer you a menu in the hotel.
Finally, since Acropolis Hill Hotel is a newly built hotel we haven’t had the time yet to finalize all our plans. It surely is in our intentions to put more flowers and have a little garden in our premises in the future.

We hope to see you again on your next visit to Athens and we are always at your service.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

The hotel is located in a very quiet area, and is still close to plaka and monastiraki. The room was really tidy, cosy and quiet. I recommend without any reservation.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foblire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#16 of 326 in Athens
2,277 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Philippos Hotel
Philippos Hotel
#22 of 326 in Athens
1,030 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#17 of 326 in Athens
3,796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Omonia
Fresh Hotel
Fresh Hotel
#33 of 326 in Athens
2,046 reviews
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 326 in Athens
1,733 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Divani Palace Acropolis
Divani Palace Acropolis
#70 of 326 in Athens
1,592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acropolis Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acropolis Hill Hotel

Property: Acropolis Hill Hotel
Address: 7 Mousson (Filopappou), Athens 117 42, Greece (Formerly Austria Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 326 Hotels in Athens
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,222 - ₹ 24,426
Hotel Class:3 star — Acropolis Hill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand new Acropolis Hill Hotel opened in fall 2010 to welcome its guests in one of the most privileged locations in the center of Athens. Close to Plaka, Syntagma square and Monastiraki and right under the sacred rock of Acropolis, this hotel offers contemporary facilities and hotel rooms, most of which feature Acropolis view from their private balconies. Acropolis Hill Hotel in Athens is the ideal choice for a relaxing stay in Filopappou, an evergreen area, a breath away from the most important attractions and museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Acropolis Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing