We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Acropolis Hill Hotel
Ranked #27 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Cockeysville, Maryland
Level Contributor
171 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“The best!”
Reviewed 26 June 2012

First of all, everything about this hotel is new and exactly as pictured on the website. Truth in advertising is important to me as I have arrived at hotels and realized their photos are OLD (and so is everything in the hotel), The A/C works fine, the bathroom is perfect (new, clean and everything works great), the bed is comfortable, the view from my balcony to the acropolis is WONDERFUL, the buffet breakfast is more than adequate (although it doesn't change), the eggs are fresh and the coffee is perfect, and the pool (although small) is a nice, refreshing treat in the afternoon between walking. Because it is situated at the foot of Filopappos Hill, it is very quiet and I was never bothered by noise. The location is SUPERB...I have spent the last five days on foot walking to every major site in Athens (the furthest was the Benaki Museum/Kolonaki and Lycabittos) within 35 minutes. The Acropolis and New Acropolis Museum (5 minutes), Plaka, Agora (10 minutes) and a bunch of great restaurants/views on the pedestrian walkway of Apostolou Pavlou (15 minutes). Hotel staff friendly and efficient, and they make a great frappe for only 3 euro. No restaurant, but there are so many within 5-15 minutes that it doesn't matter. Having read a prior review, I was prepared for the hike up the hill to get there from Synggrou Fix train station, but if you are not ready for the uphill walk or have a lot of luggage, I recommend a taxi. I extended my stay one day, and will defintely stay here on my next trip. I wholeheartedly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: If an Acropolis view is important, ask for rooms 601-605.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cdemet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Acropolis Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2012
Dear cdemet,

We are delighted to read your comments and thank you very much for sharing your exceptional experience on TripAdvisor. As we are constantly trying to provide the best in accommodation and service, we are very glad to hear such nice words about the service you received from our staff, the hotel and the location.
It will be a real pleasure for us to host you in our hotel again.

With Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

692 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    307
    81
    23
    23
See reviews for
150
297
48
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We were referred to this hotel by friends who had experienced it a year ago. We found the Acropolils Hill to be a fine place to stay. The room was modern, clean and well-appointed. From our balcony, we had a great view of the acropolis itself, which was beautiful at night especially. The hotel is well located, fairly close to the Metro and within an easy distance of most attractions in old Athens. The hot breakfast was good and served in a pleasant area adjacent to the pool. Overall, we enjoyed our brief stay and would recommend the hotel to others readily.

Room Tip: Street side rooms give a view of the Acropolis.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Acropolis Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2012
Dear Bill C,

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay at Acropolis Hill Hotel as well as for you recommendation! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back the next time you're in Athens.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Couple, visiting Athens over the week-end.The hotel has met all our expectations: newly renovated, very clean, good rooms and confortable bed, view of the Acropolis and/or city and see as promissed. The view at night from the garden terrace is spectacular. The hotel is 5 minutes away from the Acropolis (when exiting the hotel just turn right and follow the street). It is perfect for visiting Athens' historical centre. I recommend it without hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muscat
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

The hotel is in a nice neighbourhood near the acropolis. The hotel is modern, bright and airy and has very helpful staff. The swimming pool is very average and the rooms are quite small but overall the hotel is great value for money and in a nice area.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chewieoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TourHotel, General Manager at Acropolis Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Dear Chewieoo,

Thank you for your review. We are glad to read that you had a positive experience at our hotel and hope to provide you with our services in the future again.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

I have just returned from my holiday to Greece. For the first leg of our honeymoon, my Husband and I stayed at the Acropolis Hill Hotel. Here are my thoughts from start to end;

We arrived into Athens airport, and followed the signs to the Metro, the ticket costs 8euros each, you do have to change trains, its very easy and you use the same ticket when you change trains. We got off at Sygrou Fix Station for the hotel, I believe there was an exit called Drakou, take this. We actually walked from the station to the hotel...not realising the hotel is on a hill...yes yes funny its called Acropolis Hill – you’d think that would be a clue! If you’re not so fit, a taxi would be better.

Checking in was easy enough, we had room 505, lovely room, modern and very clean, we were impressed and soon I was in love with the room and the best thing is we had a view of the Acropolis.

Breakfast was nice, egg, toast, sausages, fruit, croissants etc. There is no restaurant at the hotel, so you do have to eat out for other meals. They have a bar, half bottle of wine and beer cost around 7euros, unless you go for spirits, whiskeys etc then one drink is around 7/8 Euros.

The hotel is very close to where you need to be! Close to sights, close to shops & restaurants – fab location. Rooms are cleaned everyday and towels change daily. Comfortable beds, lovely helpful staff. Unfortunately the pool is on the lower floor next to the breakfast room....as the view from the roof is breathtaking, it would have been amazing if the pool was on the roof as well.

Cons;
The water pipes are inside the building, so at night if someone flushes the loo, it sounds rather loud.
The wi-fi truly sucked, it does not work in the room, but it does work on the roof. Weirdly the same happened in Santorini, the wifi did not work inside the room but it did outside in the lobby areas so maybe it has something to with how they install.

Regardless of the cons, we were very happy with the hotel and the service. I would most definitely recommend this hotel, and would stay here again! I had a brilliant stay, and felt at home, totally comfortable.

As we were moving on to Santorini from Athens, we had a ferry booked from Piraeus, the taxi from this hotel to the port costs 18euros, and in no traffic takes 15 mins.

Other Tips;
3 - 4 days is perfect in Athens as a minimum stay.
Plaka is beautiful, evenings meals here are a must
Go to the New Acropolis Museum before visiting the Acropolis...you appreciate it more.

Room Tip: 505 is a good room with acropolis view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank bambi23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TourHotel, General Manager at Acropolis Hill Hotel, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Dear bambi23,

We are delighted to read your comments and thank you very much for sharing your exceptional experience on TripAdvisor! It is very nice to read such nice words about our hotel and our city! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the service at Acropolis Hill hotel, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Athens hotels
Thissio / Makriyanni
Philippos Hotel
Philippos Hotel
#25 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 977 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Acropolis View Hotel
Acropolis View Hotel
#49 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
Herodion Hotel
Herodion Hotel
#16 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Central Athens Hotel
Central Athens Hotel
#30 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,656 reviews
Omonia
Fresh Hotel
Fresh Hotel
#32 of 325 in Athens
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,946 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acropolis Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acropolis Hill Hotel

Property: Acropolis Hill Hotel
Address: 7 Mousson (Filopappou), Athens 117 42, Greece (Formerly Austria Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Greece > Attica > Athens > Thissio / Makriyanni
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 325 Hotels in Athens
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,508 - ₹ 13,377
Hotel Class:3 star — Acropolis Hill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand new Acropolis Hill Hotel opened in fall 2010 to welcome its guests in one of the most privileged locations in the center of Athens. Close to Plaka, Syntagma square and Monastiraki and right under the sacred rock of Acropolis, this hotel offers contemporary facilities and hotel rooms, most of which feature Acropolis view from their private balconies. Acropolis Hill Hotel in Athens is the ideal choice for a relaxing stay in Filopappou, an evergreen area, a breath away from the most important attractions and museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Acropolis Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing