We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Phantastic!”

Athens Segway Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 64.42*
and up
Athens City Highlights Segway Tour
Ranked #23 of 281 Tours in Athens
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
ladenburg
1 review
“Phantastic!”
Reviewed 25 December 2011

We made the tour august 2010. We had a private guide because we were the only once there at the time. Pluto was very patient and enjoyed the trip himself, so we had a lot of fun! We had enough time to go around the city including the gardens and the acropolis - area. Traffic was no problem since the ways we took were all for pedestrians. Highly recommendable for everyone and certainly not only for well-trained adventure-freaks!

Visited January 2011
Helpful?
Thank jan k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    301
    33
    6
    3
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
STAUNTON
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Must Do”
Reviewed 25 November 2011

I concur with all of the other reviews. This is not to be missed; particulalrly if your visit in Athens is short. We saw aspects of the city that we would no doubt have missed had we not done this trip. Pluto was our guide and did an excellent job. In fact, we enjoyed it so much we booked a shorter trip the next day. Pluto was patient and gave us a great deal of information about all of the sites as we were going along. This was truly the hilight of our visit to Athens. I think we would have been disappointed in Athens if we had not done this - don't miss it!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank lqmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazingly Fantastic”
Reviewed 9 November 2011

Me, my boyfriend & parents went to Athens in october 2011. We were aproached by an American chap who's name i do not know - sorry! We didn't have to think about it long and hard, we all knew it was something we wanted to do instantly. So the next day we went and had our training for roughly 10 - 15 minutes. After that we were well on our way. Pluto took the four of us out, we decided to do both tours, the Acropalise, the gardens and parliment. It was roughly 3 hours long. We stopped and had luch in the heart of Athens in a busy narrow steet. We felt like we were the tourist attractions, people would take our photos and stop us. It's a fantastic way to see Athens. i would deffiantly reccomend it to anybody. Even if you where to feel afraid of the Segway's, that you may fall off, you really shouldnt.... i think it is impossible to fall off. Unless your a hectic driver.
We enjoyed the tour and the Segways's so much we went back 3 days later and did a fun ride. Was so much fun. I felt apprehensive that i wouldnt enjoy it as much as the first time. I was wrong it was even better. If you go to Athens make sure you do this! would recomend it to anyone. Good value for money and sooooooooo much fun! If you can go on a small tour with just the people you are know, that's the way to do it.
Love the Wood's x

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank sophie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The most fun I've had in years!”
Reviewed 23 October 2011

A truly thrilling way to circle the Acropolis is by Segway. My 2 children (aged 9 and 12) and I were trained in about 15 minutes to operate the segways, and then we set off down the pedestrian trail that leads right around the Acropolis. It was very safe, and truly felt like flying. This will make your trip to Athens more memorable for sure.

Helpful?
Thank Smurf57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Try to book with just your family/friends”
Reviewed 15 October 2011

We adore segways and segway tours, but our experience was marred by the very high-maintenance others that were part of our group & our tour guide's blatant and extreme favoritism toward them. I'll call them "the Annoying B's."

They aggressively monopolized the tour guide, physically and conversationally blocking our access to him. Lucky for them, the tour guide spoke their native language. He started out giving equal time to us & them, but soon -- and especially after the incident below -- he all but ignored us, giving (at most) about 20% of his time/attention to providing information to us & answering questions in our language.

The Annoying B's:
-- put a huge time drag/waste on the tour, stopping to ask questions constantly about every single thing we passed (one asked multiple questions about a FRUIT STAND)
-- ignored the tour guide's instructions about safe behavior, such as riding in a single line & not riding too close together (behavior he ignored in them but criticized us for)

Early in the tour, one of them rode faster than her ability level, panicked and fell off. (We'll call her the "Most Annoying B.") After this, she became even more high maintenance and hoggy of the tour guide's time, and the tour guide abandoned any pretense of fair division of his time and attention and spent the rest of the tour kissing up to the Annoying B's.

We were quite irritated for a while, until we realized how stressful the fall must have been to the tour guide, and that fear of a lawsuit etc. was probably driving his almost total attention to them.

We still would have given this tour a 2, at best, due to his inattention to us and poor management over their high-maintenance behavior, -- had he not extended our 2-hour tour by an additional hour and twenty minutes without comment or charge. (This did include a 15-minute stop for the tour guide to hit on a stranger.)

We are under no illusion that he extended the tour for us -- we know the Most Annoying B was the reason. (We felt even sorrier for him when late in the tour, she started feigning an ankle injury -- she started limping, but it curiously came and went, and even more curiously failed to prevent her from taking full advantage of the extended tour which requires extensive and constant use of the stabilizing muscles around the ankles -- and afterward she even went on to make a big production of taking off her shoes and socks; we assume she was fishing for a refund.)

But still, we enjoyed the benefit of it, and because of it we got to see just about every major central Athens attraction.

SOLELY because of the extra time, we gave a small tip. Little did this tour guide know, we are HUGE tippers. The last time we did a Segway tour, we tipped 30%. Anything resembling fair treatment would have gotten him at least the same. His mistake.

We strongly suggest that the tour guide carry business cards. He wasted much of the valuable time that WE had paid for, attending to curious passerby.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank ajkyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Athens Segway Tours also viewed

 

Been to Athens Segway Tours? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing