We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (113)
Filter reviews
113 results
Traveller rating
100
7
2
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
100
7
2
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews stayed longer natural beauty double sinks rooms are huge the open air bar views are spectacular his team the trade winds grounds are beautiful rented a car atlantic side turned down lovely towels laid back st vincent rodney donovan
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 113 reviews
Reviewed 20 December 2017 via mobile

We have just spent the last week on Bequia and had the good fortune to be staying at Firefly. We had had the hotel recommended by a friend who had stayed there previously. There is a sense of hospitality in everything that they do and a genuine desire to ensure that you are happy. There are only 4 rooms plus one 2 bed cottage and therefore there is always more than enough space to enjoy and relax. The bar, restaurant, room and grounds are all maintained impeccably. Rodney and his team are on hand to ensure that your stay is carefree. We did not take them up on the offer to unpack our luggage or to set up a picnic up for us by the pool or on the beach however it is lovely to know that these things are possible. The plantation itself is interesting and we recommend taking the tour with the very knowledgeable Ezra.

I had recently had an operation which meant that I had to be very careful about my diet. Rodney ensured that Donovan the Maitre D' and the Chef Angie knew what I could and couldn't eat. They could not have been more accommodating ensuring that my meals were personalised appropriately. The food was all very enjoyable.

Our experience was that of staying at a private villa and being taken care of by people who had known us a long time. Thank you all very much for making our holiday such a memorable one. We look forward to returning to Bequia and Firefly.

Matthew

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank RYE701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FireflyHotelsMB, Manager at Firefly Bequia Plantation Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2018

Thank you for your kind comments and taking the time to write a review for us, we really appreciate it. It was a pleasure to have you staying with us at the Firefly Bequia, you were great guests and we hope you come back and see us again really soon.

From Rodney and all the Firefly Bequia team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2017

We stayed here for 2 nights (We immediately thought we should have stayed longer!) Rodney and the staff are nothing but charming. Everyone is friendly and they have created a laid back but professional hotel. You feel like you are in a villa rather than hotel. lush gardens and views to the sea. We ate all meals at the hotel and the hand written board each day provided lots of fresh choices. The plantation provides many of the ingredients.
The room was beautiful, modern contemporary, double sinks and double showers opening out onto the plantation. large walk in wardrobe space, seats for couples to lounge and read books etc.
The island of Bequia is slow paced, gentle and artistic with the most friendly residents you could find anywhere. You will not find tourist shops, hawkers selling tatt on the beach, large hotels or inclusive "faux Caribbean" resorts.
We rented a car and recommend this as it gives you the freedom to visit all of the beaches on the island as its about a 20 minute walk to town.
We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cwharfcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FireflyHotelsMB, Manager at Firefly Bequia Plantation Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2017

Thank you for your lovely review and for staying with us at Firefly Bequia.
We hope to welcome you back really soon.
Best regards from Rodney and all the Firefly team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017

The staff here are wonderful, very helpful and friendly. We were welcomed with big smiles and big fruit punches served in fresh coconut shells! What a delight. Beautiful setting with tropical grounds and a huge sparkling and inviting swimming pool. The rooms are stunning, king sized beds, luxurious linens and huge double showers that open up to private balconies with stunning sea views. Just heaven!

Room Tip: All the rooms have stunning sea views but the top ones are the best!
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gugugirl23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FireflyHotelsMB, Manager at Firefly Bequia Plantation Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Thank you for staying with us, we loved having you.
We look forward to seeing you back at Firefly Plantation really soon.

Best regards from Rodney and all the Firefly Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2017 via mobile

Bequia has this gem on the Atlantic side of the island called FireFly Plantation Hotel. We had a wonderful stay here that we will never forget. The grounds were magnificent filled with beautiful Plumeria trees that filled the air with it's wonderful perfume. I enjoyed seeing the Sugarcane, Papaya trees, Coconut trees, tropical plants and flowers. Our room was spectacular, we stayed in one of the upper suites with a wonderful view of the pool and Atlantic Ocean. The bed was perfect and turned down every night, the shower was a huge walk in with his and her shower heads, the patio had very nice chairs and recliner and a good amount of shade if you needed it. Don't worry about drinking the water straight out of tap, the water comes from a well on the property. My favorite part of Firefly was the open air bar and restaurant along with delicious drinks and the food was out of this world. Ron and Eddie took such good care of us their hospitality is top notch.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Mari6364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2017

We only came to this hotel to eat. We booked it for our 30th wedding anniversary dinner. What a waste. We were told we could not book for later than 8pm. So we arrived at 8pm to find we were the only diners. If we had been warned we would not have come. We asked to have drinks first expecting to enjoy a glass of champagne, but were told no the kitchen staff wanted to go home & we should go and examine the blackboard andmake a choice there & then. We were then 'allowed' to order our wine and start that on the sofa, moving to the table when our food arrived.
Our first course was horrible, gougons of tuna, so overcooked they were grey, tough & unidentifiable and the spicy sauce of the menu was put down in front of us as ketchup! A second unmemorable main course of white fish & vegetables was acceptable but not anything you couldn't have done at home.
So for a bottle of red wine (not an expensive one), a glass of white wine, a bottle of still water , 2 horrible starters & 2 boring mains we paid the equivalent of 135€!!
For that price even in Europe we would have had a high class dinner in good surroundings.
The waiter was kind & polite is the only good thing I can say about this establishment. It is a rip off and ruined our anniversary evening.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Christine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FireflyHotelsMB, Manager at Firefly Bequia Plantation Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2017

Oh dear, I am so sorry to read about your experience. I am not sure what happened but I will certainly try to find out. What ever happened, if you were disappointed then we failed.
If you are back in Bequia please let us know and we will do our best to prove to you that we are much better than this.
I am sorry we didn't live up to our usually excellent reputation.
No excuses, we failed you and I am sorry.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews