We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Not what we expected - and staff were even better!”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Villa Michaela

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Choeng Mon, Bophut, Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Steel-Oh
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not what we expected - and staff were even better!”
Reviewed 19 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Stayed at Villa Michaela late February 2015 for 7 nights. Far surpassed my expectations. Villa itself was in a quiet location up on the side of a hill with views to the coast and was what we expected (but better) and lived up to all the photos seen on the Net. BUT the service was sensational. (please excuse my spelling) Lead by the manager Tho who was always attentive and solved all our requests for transport, drinks, food, money exchange, tours, restaurants, etc, etc, etc. Lovely young man who is the key asset to this property. He was ably assisted by a team of staff who were always polite, smiling and made us all feel welcome without being intrusive. He purchased all our food and drinks for us and kept receipts for us to verify costs. Chef Swang(?) made many excellent meals for us. All we had to do was let Tho know what we wanted for a meal and he would purchase all the necessary items for Swang to knock up our culinary delights. Had a few themed dinners like seafood, bbq and traditional Thai - all excellent and served on the decking with the beautiful views over the infinity pool to the coast and islands beyond. The villa was always clean & tidy with the ever attentive & smiling Nok(?) always keeping things spotless. Included in the stay was 4 hours of blissful massages per day by the calm and relaxing Ying(?). To top it off was the beautiful gardens ably attended to by the ever smiling Swit(?). The only negative comment is we did not stay longer.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the staff, the views
Liked least: going home
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronte001
Cairns, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
Reviewed 9 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I travelled to Thailand with a group of friends. Our group consisted of three couples and a single male. We are probably considered middle class Aussies, we are not rich, but wanted a little taste of luxury on this trip. Villa Michaela delivered.

We were greeted by house manager Tho and a second driver to accommodate the 7 of us and our luggage when we arrived in Koh Samui.

On arrival at the villa, we were in awe! It is a breathtaking property! With plenty of room to spread out we weren't on top of each other which is important on a trip when you travel with friends. We each had a bedroom & plunge bath. The views were to die for, the pool amazing and the staff attentive and competent in their roles.

Tho was a standout for us. He was used to VERY wealthy clientele and pinned us as 5 star lovers at first. He quickly realised that while we wanted to enjoy what Villa Michaela had to offer, we also wanted to "live like a local", a difficult read but he managed it nevertheless and is to be commended. He organised local food, scooters, assisted with activities and is a very competent cocktail barman.

We all enjoyed a massage, the housekeeping was of a high standard and the theatre was a nice touch when we felt like light entertainment during our 9 day stay. The chef cooked meals which we thoroughly enjoyed, but we also enjoyed great local food that Tho the duty manager arranged for us.

The beds were firm but comfy, the bathrooms excellent, and the infinity pool devine.

We had a bit of an issue with the hot water on one side of the property, but it was evident that Tho & staff were making every effort to rectify this as smoothly & quickly as possible.

This property is a short distance to the action, but if you don't abuse the driver service provided, you will be able to get where you need to go locally a couple of times a day up until 9pm at night. The driver service won't take you around the island, but ask Tho about the large tuk tuks which only cost 100thb per person. Good fun and you get to see the sights from a good vantage point. Wifi available for use at the house. tho will give you the details.

Recommended for a group of friends or family group looking for room to spread out with outstanding views, and a pool.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miserable...
Hong Kong, China
1 review
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 1 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Highly recommend this property. Starting with booking process to the finer details, the villa staff were great. Nothing was too much trouble, from multiple airport transfers to restaurant reservations to helping my wife fix her broken iPhone. Booked this as a getaway for my wife and her friends, everyone had a fantastic time, again, highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
falaks26
Mumbai, India
1 review
“Even the pictures don't justify how good this place is”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

it may be pricey but it was definitely money's worth. The service was great, the rooms and bathrooms were better than what you get in a 5 start hotel, and the view was breathtaking. It was definitely value for money as we get additional benefits provided such as a car during the day to take us around Koh Samui and a butler who pretty much made sure we were happy. it actually felt like a home. The only regret is that we only stayed for 3 nights. The owner is very flexible and the manager at the place is accommodating. One thing is that you want to go with a group of at least 6 people as its a big place and there are many rooms you would need to fill. A great time and if you are willing to spend a little, go to this location over any 5 star hotel.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandra...
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The ultimate getaway”
Reviewed 30 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Villa Michaela has gorgeous decor, a stunning view, spacious property, and attentive staff. Staying here was an absolute pleasure and we were sad to have to leave. This is the perfect spot for family or friends who want a quiet space to themselves with a touch of luxury. We loved the massage room and if we had the time we would have surely used the cinema room as well. Thanks Villa Michaela for making my first trip to Koh Samui a memorable experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The outdoor verandah and pool area
Liked least: Honestly can't say
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing