We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: Closed
Save
  
Ways to Experience Livraria Lello
from US$ 42.65
More Info
from US$ 22.51
More Info
from US$ 30.44
More Info
from US$ 35.54
More Info
Reviews (16,800)
Filter reviews
16,800 results
Traveller rating
6,778
4,801
2,999
1,225
997
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
6,778
4,801
2,999
1,225
997
Show reviews that mention
All reviews harry potter book store jk rowling beautiful bookstore buy books english books book lovers entrance fee love books buy something buy a ticket stained glass ticket price taking pictures worth a visit bookshop library
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 16,800 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2021

Definitely not worth staying in line for more than 10 minutes, and I stayed for about an hour. While I can understand the fascination about the Hogwarts like interior (not really Hogwarts like more French ministry of magic like, from my POV) it is all too commercial to be worth it. Way too many people inside to enjoy the space, not to mention that it is not about the books, but about making pictures of yourself with the red winding staircase.
The books are overpriced, those special editions with golden rimmed pages can be bought with normal non-golden pages from a normal library at a much lower price. But I can understand their role as souvenirs and not reading material. Or maybe the fact that they are pretty might encourage younger generations to read them. The place has the potential to steer children towards reading. This is the only reason that I gave 3 stars and not less. That's it. Not worth the 5 Euro entrance fee, not worth the wait. But that's just my opinion.

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank Travelling_dac13
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 August 2021 via mobile

This was our second time in Lello and it is definitely worth it. There is a huge line outside, but it moves pretty fast (it took us about 40 minutes to get in). It truly is one of the most beautiful bookshops in the world. Now with covid, they are letting less people enter the bookshop together, which is great, because its easier to take pictures and just appreciate the architecture. The books are expensive, but shopping is usually not the main reason why people go there.

Ps: The tickets are now only available online.

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank Dvsis2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 August 2021 via mobile

The line for entrance is long, but it moves fast, and we were entertained by an organist/singer who was quite good -- I would assume this is a prime spot for street musicians! Standing in line also affords you the chance to buy your tickets if you have not already done so, and remember that the price of the ticket is redeemable toward the books inside.

If this isn't (as advertised) the world's most beautiful bookstore, then I haven't yet seen the one that beats it. I'm an art nouveau fan, so I was in heaven -- you really must see it. I also enjoyed the current exhibition about literary Nobel Prize winners.

Finally, if you want to know virtually anything about books, the sales people are virtual encyclopedias of knowledge. Their scope is breathtaking.

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank Aegin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 August 2021 via mobile

This was a great place to visit, however, it is not worth more than an hour wait. Things I learned. If you were planning on buying a book, get the 15.90€ ticket and you can skip the long wait line. The 5€ just gets you in.

I arrived 30 mins before the store opened and there was already a wait, but we only waited 45 mins. Once you get Inside you have 20 mins.

The other issue is all the IG wanna-bes taking a long time taking photos on the stairs and throughout. It is rather cramped and lots of people. The poor male staffer had to keep reminding people to put there mask up as photos with out masks are not allowed!!!

Lastly, the space is gorgeous and worth a stop. I was told going towards the end of the day is better. Totally worth going if you are obsessed and have several days in Porto. If you are here only 1 day, might be better spent else where.

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank stefani0121
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 August 2021

It is a real treasure, architectural , decor anda has the best books!!! This amazing bookstore was filmed several scenes from the Harry Potter movie is awesome...

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank rosacC3321AE
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews