We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One (tiny) step above a Hostel.”
Review of Pensao Cristal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pensao Cristal
Ranked #78 of 163 Porto B&B and Inns
Henderson, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
284 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“One (tiny) step above a Hostel.”
Reviewed 9 September 2010

We only were in Porto for 2 nights, so we decided saving a couple bucks at this place would help out the rest of our 2 1/2 week trip. Major Mistake. We were on the 4th floor (421, I believe) and had our own restroom....But just Barely. Apparently the other rooms on our floor did not and the public toilet was across the way from our door. So after 2am, when the 250 kids left the bar and street below our window, you could hear every bodily function of a whole floor full of people. We must've been in a dormer, because our tiny 'window' couldn't be seen from the street, nor could we open ours like the other 3 floors below us could. The staff was very nice and friendly especially the breakfast attendants....although "Full Breakfast Buffet" is a bit of a stretch. It was coffee, oj, and three different types of bread. I did like the weird little packet of soft cheese that came with it, though! To sum it up: Miserable sleeping, the a/c didn't even tease us once in awhile with a burst of cold air, noisey and hard to find from the metro station. Please go to Porto...it was fabulous, just don't stay here unless you're looking for an upscale hostel.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    70
    56
    19
    13
See reviews for
12
95
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2010

We stayed at this hotels for two night in July and I came really close to meltingaway for the heat that was in the room: when we arrived they had no sign of our booking but the extremely nice and helpful lady at the front desk checked through and we were able to get one room eventually; on the other side, the room was on the top floor which is basically the roof. When we got inside there were 45ªC, it had the tiniest window on the roof and even the walls were boiling. To sleep we had to wet one of the towels with cold water and sleep in it but it was terrible. There was a ridiculous fan in the room but the air it produced was even hotter than the air in the room. The first night was a real nightmare because of the heat.
Breakfast was average, with one croissant (not great) and two bread rolls with butter and jam, juice and coffee or tea, served at the table in a tiny room - really hot as well!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mirasuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Porto hotels

Shropshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 July 2010

Lots of good things to say here. The staff were very helpful and friendly and spoke good english which certainly helped us. The room was fairly small but not a problem. I was definitely glad that they had air conditioning! Free internet access was available. Breakfast was a nice start to the day - couple of bread rolls, a pastry, orange juice and tea/coffee - but the breakfast room was a bit of a squeeze when full. Location was perfect for us, everything was in easy reach with just a 5/10 minute walk to shops, places of interest. My only major gripe about this hotel was the noise from both outside and other guests. On a Friday and Saturday night the music from neighbouring bars carried on until 4am. We were at the back of the hotel and had the window shut but the bloke singing might as well have been standing in our room! I love music but this was a joke. We might have been unlucky but we could also here our neighbour using the shower, toilet and having a row at 6am (If you're reading this then cheers for that!). If you like a good nights sleep then I would advise bringing earplugs... or alternatively, staying elsewhere!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sparklywoogie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2010

Other than the eating room was a little tight you could not ask for better service personal and position to all Porto for value comfort and easy to find quite and mostly staff very friendly and supportive.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rjainsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim, Norway
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 March 2010

Stayed at this place for two sunny days in March.

I really liked the location of the hotel. It was very close to everything. A lot of nice restaurants, bars and shops near by. My room was in the top floor and was very small. I had my own bathroom which was nice and seemed quite new.

There are a few bars in the same street as the hotel, so there was a lot of people making "noise" during the night. This was not a problem for me at all.

This is a place where you sleep and keep your stuff. There is nothing else to do in this hotel. I would recommend this place to young guys who want to stay in the city centre and don't want to pay a lot.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zaute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.3 km away
Malaposta
Malaposta
#67 of 109 in Porto
293 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Universal
Hotel Universal
#63 of 109 in Porto
317 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Aliados
Hotel Aliados
#66 of 109 in Porto
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Vivacity Porto
Vivacity Porto
#29 of 163 in Porto
227 reviews
0.1 km away
Grande Oceano Guest House
0.7 km away
Casa dos Guindais
Casa dos Guindais
#13 of 163 in Porto
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensao Cristal? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensao Cristal

Property: Pensao Cristal
Address: Galeria de Paris 48, Porto 4050-284, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 163 B&Bs / Inns in Porto
Price range (per night): ₹ 2,951 - ₹ 7,766
Hotel Class:3 star — Pensao Cristal 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your Pensao Cristal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensao Cristal Hotel Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing