We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A simple place situated uphill :-)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
TRYP Porto Centro Hotel
Ranked #47 of 104 Hotels in Porto
Waltham Cross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A simple place situated uphill :-)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

We arrived in Porto later in the evening, early October 2011. We booked a transfer from the airport to the hotel beforehand. The drive took approximately 20 minutes. The hotel is situated on a hill. Once in Porto, if you decide to walk a lot, you'll find out very soon that the city is actually full of hills :-) you keep on walking up and down, up and down, it's quite a good workout :-) The surrounding of the hotel is not very fancy. If you want to spend a lot of time in your room or if you're looking for a hotel with great views, Tryp Porto Centro won't do. If you came to explore Porto, if you're looking for a bed to sleep in and nice breakfast to start your day with and want to spend as much time as you can outside then you've found a great hotel. The stuff is very friendly and hard working. Our room was a decent size, clean, with a nice bathroom - again clean and well looked after. Not brilliant wi-fi though, available but very very very sluggish.
The city centre is not far away. One of the main shopping streets Rua de Santa Catarina is about 10 - 15 minutes walk. Subway stations also close.
We had a great time and would definitely recommend this place :-)

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doughnutanddonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

556 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    283
    136
    29
    18
See reviews for
87
266
30
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brasov, Romania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2011

When we arrived in Porto by train, we got on the metro and went only till the Balhao station and we had to walk with our luggage to the hotel on a very abrupt street. After we got hold on a map, we saw that the trip would have been a lot easier if we would have stopped at the Marques station on the yellow line. So, the hotel is located at a 5 minute walk from the Marques metro station and close to bus stations.

There are some cafeterias and a small market-shop close to the hotel.

The staff at the reception was very nice and friendly, they helped us with everything we needed (for example they called us a cab at 5 AM when we left, we received a package and they delivered it to our room, etc).

The room was decent and tidy, they changed the bead sheets and towels every day. We had a terrace but we did not use it because we were busy visiting.The bathroom was also clean.

Tryp Porto Centro represents a good price over quality report so I would recommend it when visiting the very beautiful city of Porto.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank morsanu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTPC, General Manager at TRYP Porto Centro Hotel, responded to this review, 13 September 2011
Thanks for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, UK
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2011

The hotel is very nice. Our room was a decent size with a comfy bed and a nice bathroom. The breakfast was great. Lots to choose from. The wi-fi only worked in the reception but was free (access codes provided on request). The staff were friendly and the hotel was a great base for exploring. The only downside is the uphill walk home. But a gentle stroll out and a taxi home (not expensive) was a great compromise.
Can I reccomend a few things to do whilst in porto...
The taylors port house was excellent. A free tasting and tour was well worth the steep climb to get to it. The house sits in a beautiful garden. We sipped our free port with a friendly peacock!! Then after the half hr tour, you can sit on their balcony admiring great views of the city.
The vino logia bar on rua de sao Joao. A fab little bar that does various port tastings. We sat for an hr and paid 20 euros to taste 6 kinds. The barman was very knowledgeable and the bar is very quaint. Well worth a visit.
The majestic cafe on the rua de Santa Catarina. Beautiful place. We had strawberries and port one afternoon. You can sit in the gorgeous indoors or outside on the terrace to the rear or the street at the front.
The red open top tour bus. A ticket for 2 days was 18 euros. This included a 50 min boat trip to see the 6 Porto bridges. The tour has 2 routes. One around the old city and one that goes to the beach. We did one each day, hopping on and off. The boat tour was lovely, especially as there was a bar so we could enjoy a port whilst sitting on the deck!! Please be mindful that the 2 day ticket wasn't time stamped (as most other tickets in other cities are). Get your ticket early on the 1st day to ensure you get 2 full days. But well worth it. A bargain for a full 2 days sightseeing and a boat trip to boot. The ticket also includes 2 free tastings at port houses. We didn't go to these because we wanted to go to taylors but this is also free.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Angelcat18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTPC, General Manager at TRYP Porto Centro Hotel, responded to this review, 13 September 2011
Thanks for your comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2011

We had a great time staying at the Tryp Porto Centro hotel at the beginning of June for three weekend days. The hotel is located just outside the main touristy downtown area, but close enough to walk pretty much everywhere you'd want to go. The hotel itself was clean and comfortable, not at all noisy, and the staff was very helpful and courteous.

Vasco, who works at the front desk, helped us find places to go and things to see, as it was our first time in Porto. He also suggested a nearby restaurant (actually just across the street) which was AMAZING. We ate there twice!

Overall, we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ecoast5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTPC, General Manager at TRYP Porto Centro Hotel, responded to this review, 7 October 2011
thank you very much for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2011

The Tryp Porto Centro was a decent place to stay and not too far from the centre of the city.

The staff were well-presented, amiable and helpful when providing directions and information about the city.

My room was clean, well-decorated and offered reasonable value for money, and allowed me to have a good night's sleep.

The buffet breakfast offered plenty to choose from but used plates were not cleared very often. That could be improved but otherwise, no complaints at all. I'd recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stuart F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
2.8 km away
Quality Inn Portus Cale
Quality Inn Portus Cale
#44 of 104 in Porto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
2.6 km away
Ibis Porto Sao Joao
Ibis Porto Sao Joao
#39 of 104 in Porto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
1.1 km away
Ibis Porto Centro
Ibis Porto Centro
#31 of 104 in Porto
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Eurostars Das Artes Hotel
3.1 km away
Eurostars Oporto
Eurostars Oporto
#16 of 104 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
3.1 km away
Star Inn Porto Smart Choice Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TRYP Porto Centro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TRYP Porto Centro Hotel

Property: TRYP Porto Centro Hotel
Address: Rua da Alegria 685-689, Porto 4000-046, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 104 Hotels in Porto
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,253 - ₹ 6,766
Hotel Class:3 star — TRYP Porto Centro Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the city centre of Porto, which is considered part of the World Heritage of UNESCO. It is near the Santa Catarina Street and the heart of Oporto, which is a traditional place for shopping, as well as for visiting the principal monuments of the city. The hotel has 62 rooms, all equipped with satellite TV, telephone, high-speed internet, minibar, air-conditioning, safety box and hairdryer. The hotel also offers 3 meeting rooms. Nearest metro station Marques. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Melia Hotels APAC, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your TRYP Porto Centro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Porto Centro Hotel Porto
Sol Melia Porto Centro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing