We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views, gorgeous bedroom”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Pestana Vintage Porto
Ranked #8 of 104 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Itapiranga-SC
Level Contributor
183 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great views, gorgeous bedroom”
Reviewed 31 May 2012

It's located in a excellent spot, near Douro river. You can see Vila Nova de Gaia and its 'caves', and Dom Luis I bridge from the room (ask with a view, not expensive). The rooms are huge and clean, but the bed could be queen or king size, not two singles together. We loved the hotel, staff was very nice. Porto is a cheap city, comparing to Lisbon, the food is excellent also. Great choose.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rodrigo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,956 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,161
    609
    125
    41
    20
See reviews for
331
1,120
62
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

This hotel is perfectly located across from the river from the wine cellars so it's easy to stroll back to your room after a night of wine sampling. There are restaurants along the river too, which are right outside the hotel's doorstep. Plenty to choose from if you don't want to go far to eat.

It's not that close to the shopping/walking street Rua de Santa Catarina, but it is within walking distance. I believe it took us about 15 minutes to walk there.

Our room and bathroom were large enough with a very comfortable bed. The continental breakfast that was included was decent. Just about what you'd expect for a continental breakfast, but a bit better. The hotel was clean and the service was friendly and helpful. For what we paid, I think we got a good deal at a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Savannah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Voorburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

Right in the heart of the Unesco World Heritage oldest part of Porto and smack on the riverside. This hotels is a series of landmark buildings converted to a comfortable four star property. The rooms are not modern, but nicely decorated and very much in keeping with the building. We stayed in a large room on the riverside, which is a must when you pay the fairly hefty prices. From your bed, you can see the boats going up and down the Douro and the hustle and bustle of the life on the quay. Terraces, restaurants and shops line the riverfront and the old city is on your doorstep. If you prefer peace and quiet, choose somewhere else for your stay.

There is no restaurant, except for a nice breakfast room, but plenty to choose from right outside or a little further in town. The staff at hotel were very friendly and helpful, fetching espresso at breakfast and serving drinkes outside by the square.

Room Tip: Fork out the exyta euro for a riverview room, it is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annemieke A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midwest USA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for two nights in May. The location is perfect as it is right on the Ribeira, wonderful for strolling and an easy walk to the port wine lodges. It is a comfortable, clean, modern, and attractive hotel. The bathroom was spacious. Wi-Fi, for 30 minutes a day, was free in the lobby area. The breakfast had ample selections and was nicely presented. Our room was spacious but lacked a view, despite our request. Because we had reserved our room on-line on their own website, we were told they could not print out a copy of our bill. This we found very strange and irritating. I have passed that comment on directly to the hotel's administration.

Room Tip: Request a view, otherwise you might be looking an an alley with hanging laundry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank naturelover60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Have just returned from a 3 night break here. Chose this hotel because of the reviews on Trip Advisor and was not disappointed. Room was large and very clean and comfortable. The breakfast, which was included in the room price, was better than expected for continental breakfast, plenty of choice, even had the option of a Bucks Fizz every morning and all well presented. Every member of staff we came across was friendly and very helpful. Excellent location for sightseeing, right on the riverfront, which was vibrant and full of great bars and restauants, plenty of choice on where to have dinner each night. Only a short walk to the tourist bus stops, just across the bridge were the Port wine caves and the Douro boat trips virtually on the doorstep. Porto is an amazing place to visit and if you do decide to go there stay at the Pestana.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimb61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.6 km away
InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas
3.2 km away
Pestana Palacio do Freixo
0.1 km away
Porto River Aparthotel
Porto River Aparthotel
#4 of 104 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Hotel NH Collection Porto Batalha
0.5 km away
Flores Village Hotel & Spa
0.3 km away
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
Porto A.S. 1829 Hotel
#6 of 104 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Vintage Porto? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Vintage Porto

Property: Pestana Vintage Porto
Address: Praca da Ribeira, 1, Porto 4050-513, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Porto
#5 Spa Hotel in Porto
#7 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#8 Luxury Hotel in Porto
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,377 - ₹ 33,937
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Vintage Porto 5*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Prestigia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pestana Vintage Porto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Hotel Porto
Porto Pestana Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing