We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,126)
Filter reviews
1,126 results
Traveller rating
377
470
164
72
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
377
470
164
72
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river great location junior suite taxi stand old building modern hotel port houses storage space luis bridge shower gel lobby area lower floor hotel restaurant bars and restaurants bathroom floor facing the street busy street
Filter
Updating list...
186 - 191 of 1,126 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2016

I booked a 3 night stay at this hotel in a junior suite, for my Husband's birthday.
The hotel on first impressions was beautiful, a lovely mix of old and new. the room itself was unusual in that it ran the full width of our part of the building. The only issue being was the smell of sewer drains, which was,at times, over powering. The front of house staff tried to blame it on the rain but the smell was there the day before it rained. They were unable to move us straight away as the hotel was full. But they did offer to send house keeper to spray air freshener, which was not whole appropriate as it was after we had been out to dinner and were retiring for the night. However we said we would wait for housekeeping to assess our complaint. At 1:30 in the morning we put the do not disturb sign on the door and went to bed, We had book an excursion on the following morning so were unable to take up the complaint. On our return, again all we were offered was housekeeping.I was very disappointed in that I had booked an upgraded room as it was a special occasion.I found the staff quite complacent about it, it was almost as though this was completely acceptable .
We did take breakfast in the hotel, which was comprehensive, and continuously well stocked.The bar staff were very helpful, and did go the extra mile to ensure we were well looked after,just a shame about the smell.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoseyJo25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRSS_GC, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Carris Porto Ribeira, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2016

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Carrís Porto Ribeira. We want to apologize again for the inconvenience about the smell. Due to our location on a historical neighborhood near to the river, on rainy days this particular matter is completely out of our control. We regret we were not able to do more in your particular case. Thank you for your kind words about our breakfast buffet and the bar staff attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

Beautiful room and view from the room of the water. Amazing location. Wasn't in the room much because there's so much to see in Porto. A little expensive but the view and location are worth it. Was mad our next hotel was further from the water.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Matthew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRSS_GC, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Carris Porto Ribeira, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2016

Thank you very much for your comment regarding your stay at Carrís Porto Ribeira. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your one night with us and it would be our pleasure to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2016 via mobile

Nice hotel with friendly, helpful staff. Rooms are very clean, comfortable beds, and bathrooms have modern fittings.

Some basic rooms are a bit small but we had a nice sized double room with a king sized bed. Rooms at the front of the hotel can suffer from the noise from the street below but it didn't really bother us much.

Breakfast was good, a mix of continental and cooked options with some very nice pastries too. Breakfast is buffet style and it was sometimes a little cramped as there's not a lot of space between the tables - a minor problem really. They need bigger coffee pots though - you get fed up of asking for more after one small cup.

We ate in the restaurant one evening and although the food was ok, it was a bit over priced.

The location of the hotel is excellent. It's within walking distance of the station, even closer to the river, and a short stroll across the bridge to the numerous port lodges.

All in all, a good choice for a long weekend break

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
Thank St_Chris_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRSS_GC, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Carris Porto Ribeira, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2016

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review regarding your stay. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your room, as well as the hotel location and our staff attention. Regarding our coffee pots, we will take into consideration your suggestion. Relating to the restaurant we inform you that we will change our menu in a few weeks and we hope you can visit us again and appreciate these new options.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2016

Boy did we get lucky with our room. We had a two story suite with views of the city from one floor and the water from the bedroom. The room was modern and very well appointed. The bathroom, though updated was a little small, but typical for a European hotel. The staff was friendly and efficient at check in (and spoke perfect English) and the free wifi and gym were a nice bonus. The breakfast is generous with a selection of hot and cold items. The elevators are slow so save some time. This hotel is located right in the heart of the historic area and is a perfect spot for exploring all that Porto has to offer.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views. Two level suites have views of city and water
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank healthspacritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRSS_GC, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Carris Porto Ribeira, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2016

Thank you for your feedback regarding your experience at Carrís Porto Ribeira. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your room so much, as well as the views, the hotel location and the breakfast buffet. Your kind words will be shared with our team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2016

A unique hotel centrally located in the Ribera old quarter of Porto. The interior design and decor is special and interesting in every corner of the hotel. The rooms (313) is spacious, beds comfortable and clean. Bathroom well equipped with good amenities. Lightning is pleasant and controlled from bed chest. Breakfast in the hotel -3 floor is pleasant and welcoming. Good fresh espresso or capuchins, eggs a la cartel, fresh cut fruits. Platters of cheese and meat cuts. A rich variety of pastries. The staff is helpful.
In total a pleasant experience

Room Tip: Select a room on third floor
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lubinco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RRSS_GC, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Carris Porto Ribeira, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2016

We really appreciate that you took the time to share your experience at Carrís Porto Ribeira. We are glad to read that you enjoyed the hotel design and that your room and the breakfast buffet met your needs and wishes. We are looking forward to seeing you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews