We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don’t go - Salty and unprofessional”
Review of Costume Bistro

Costume Bistro
Reserve with
Costume Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #104 of 2,090 Restaurants in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 5 October 2018 via mobile

There are variety of restaurant choices in Porto, maybe this is the last one you should go. Here are the reasons: unprofessional waiters: no wine list presented at the beginning. Was given after requested. Unprofessional cook: ordered an appetizer with one important ingredient missing. What a shame. Amateur chief? Not sure what happened but both of our dishes severed with tons of salt added... we didn’t finish them, of course. Really really bad experience in this restaurant. Maybe we are exception but you could be the next. Choose another one and don’t let your vacation ruined by this one.

1  Thank Jacob Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Restaurante B, Proprietário at Costume Bistro, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2018

Dear Mr Jacob,

We would like to extend our sincerest apologies for the negative experience that you had at our restaurant.

We realize that a mistake must have been made with your starter. We also are understanding about the main course being to salty for your taste.

We take great pride in the fact that we try giving 100% of ourselves to ensure that all our costumers' needs and wishes are met, and on this very busy day, you were the ones who were let down. We do our very best to train all our staff on how to create the best experience possible or all who come through our door.

We are making it mandatory for all our dishes to be carefully inspected by a third party before going to the consumer and always have a second opinion on the seasonings.
We thank you that you have brought this to our attention. We are always looking for ways to improve our service and these are the comments that permit us to do so.

Should you ever return to Porto we would be glad to show you the quality in which we insist with all our staff.

Your sincerely,
Costume Bistro

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (629)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 629 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2018 via mobile

We had a three course dinner with drinks.Our host Philips was a delight and so was the restaurant.Each course cooked to perfection and very tasty.We wanted to go back but it was closed on Sunday.This little gem is hidden away but make sure you find it!

Thank andrewhS1865IS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018

It is easy to get tired of the food served by many of the street front bistros.
The tourist traps are a plenty.
But this magnificent little gem is truly outstanding.

If your reading this review, trust me. This one is a winner

I had the Porto sauce steak
My wife had the duck.

For Dessert I had the layers cake
My wife had the chocolate cake with ice cream.

Everything was presented beautifully.
Food cooked perfectly
Service was spot on.

I have no problem recommending this Bistro.

One thing I should mention, its not really a young family bistro, more for adults and couples.
It has a sophisticated atmosphere.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Globalcrtique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2018

We enjoyed a lovely evening at this restaurant, wonderful food, good service, well priced wines, all in all great value and very high quality food. A very concise menu, both for food and wine.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank michaelandjane1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2018

We were loitering outside this bistro last Thursday, trying to work out how to make a booking. A young chef opened the door and after a lovely chat, offered to make a booking for us. So glad he did! After the aperitif, we had the most amazing duck dish. It is one of our favourites, but this was the best one ever. The combination of flavours showed a very talented chef . The desserts paired with the Port( very helpfully chosen by the waitress) perfectly finished an already perfect meal. It was a truly heavenly experience.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank jsnewman58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Costume Bistro also viewed

Porto, Porto District
Porto, Porto District
 
Porto, Porto District
Porto, Porto District
 
Porto, Porto District
Porto, Porto District
 

Been to Costume Bistro? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing