We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room on great location”
Review of Hotel Teatro Porto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Teatro Porto
Ranked #21 of 108 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Very good bed and great shower, fantastic breakfast.
Nice, dark arty design hotel.
A pity wifi- login is just for 1 device.

Room Tip: We booked a family room, it was great, 2 rooms with 1 main entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vcantwerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,645)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

600 - 604 of 1,645 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2012

This hotel is near the main railway station and on walking distance from several metro stations. I tried to think of anything negative to report about it, and I came up with the corridors. Coming from a sunlit city into the hotel it appears dark. The hallways and corridors are in fact darkish. So far for the negative points. The rooms are definitely big enough for two persons, the view of my room was on a small courtyard. I prefer that actually as it's certain to be quiet at night. The bathroom is very complete, with a huge, comfortable shower (bonus points for that!). Yes, the door to the toilet is a huge smoked glass slide door. Yes, the door to the shower is a huge glass door. I like the design. It's definitely the best bathroom I've seen in a hotel until now.
The hotel has free wireless internet, a quiet hotel bar (dark), and a breakfast hall that just could have a bit more capacity. Be sure to go for breakfast well before 9am, queues may form between 8.45 and 9.15 am. Be sure not to miss breakfast. The coffee is horrible but all the rest is excellent.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HaPi_42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelTeatro, Director General at Hotel Teatro Porto, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for you kind comments on Tripadvisor!
It was a pleasure for us to know you really enjoyed your experience during your stay at Hotel Teatro!
Your opinion really does mean a lot to us in order to improve our service.

We look forward to see you again in a near future!

Susana Tavares

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

This hotel is perfect. In the center of the city, at a walking distance of all the attractions. The staff is very nice and polite. The rooms are well decorated and calm. The restaurant is very good and the breakfadt is great (even champagne for those who want !). An excellent price for the quality.
I will be back everytime I will be in porto.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rendish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelTeatro, General Manager at Hotel Teatro Porto, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments about the Hotel Teatro and Restaurante Palco!
We're very happy to know you've enjoyed our suggestions at the restaurant..

We are all here expecting to see you again at Oporto!

Susana Tavares

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Short 3 day visit to Porto so decided to stay here given its central location. Walkable (although slightly uphill) to the main shopping street. Also close walk to Sao Bento rail, Balbao metro and main square for hop on-hop off bus tours. It's about a 10-minute downhill walk to the river/bridge and about a 1/2 hour walk across the river to the port cellars. We also walked from the beach back to the hotel which took about 4 hours (including lots of breaks/stops).

Hotel and room was clean, except no real view from our room. But we didn't mind as we spent most of the day out and about doing port tours and eating. As with other reviews, the hotel was dark as it kept to the 'Theatre' theme design.

Breakfast was included and tasty. Hot and cold selections, including champagne and Portugese tarts. Our stay also included a complimentary glass of local port.

Service was helpful as they suggested a nice restaurant for lunch upon our arrival near the beach (10 min taxi ride from hotel). Also provided a plaster for a cut and a power adapter/converter for phone charger when requested, free of charge.

All in all, for the price paid and its location, it's a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dezza1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelTeatro, General Manager at Hotel Teatro Porto, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing Hotel Teatro and for you kind comments on Tripadvisor! It was a pleasure for us to know you really enjoyed your experience in Oporto and took time to walk around the city.
We all are expecting to see you again at the Hotel!

Susana Tavares

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Right in downtown of Porto was born this design hotel with a great notion of confort and service. Good taste pervails in all aspects.
Decoration like a theater is something that begins enchanting us since the arrival until the moment we leave the hotel. At first sight the reacyion is more of curiosity, but the coherence of the concept conquers us and makes us forget we are in the center of a busy sity.
The breakfast is a great qualitative buffet. That is the moment we can see that guests are a grouo of sophisticated and young people.
The service is nice and helpful.
Prices are correct and affordable, for the great quality of this hotel.
This will become my hotel, for next trips to Porto.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank omoura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelTeatro, General Manager at Hotel Teatro Porto, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2012

Dear Guest,

In name of the all staff, I would like to thank you for choosing Hotel Teatro and for sharing with us your experience!

We are all here expecting to see you again at Oporto and we remain at your entire disposal!

Susana Tavares

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
0.3 km away
NH Collection Porto Batalha
0.2 km away
InterContinental Porto - Palacio das Cardosas
0.8 km away
Pestana Vintage Porto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Mercure Porto Centro Hotel
0.4 km away
Flores Village Hotel & Spa
0.2 km away
Grande Hotel Do Porto
Grande Hotel Do Porto
#34 of 108 in Porto
1,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Teatro Porto? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Teatro Porto

Address: Rua Sa da Bandeira, Porto 4000-427, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 108 Hotels in Porto
Price Range: ₹ 8,274 - ₹ 16,744 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Teatro Porto 4*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Teatro arose from the spot where the Baquet Theatre was inaugurated in 1859. A hundred and fifty-one years later, the unique, refined and bohemian environment of the Theatre has been revived here in a hotel. The Reception represents a box office, where each guest receives a ticket to access their room. The Restaurant and Bar have become the new Palco and Plateia, offering creations for a discerning palate. The inner courtyard is a versatile garden or a quiet and secluded haven from the tumult of the city. The 74 comfortable rooms and suites are colored in gold and bronze, and the gym on the top floor transforms the Hotel into a true arena for action and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Teatro Porto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing