We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pestana Palacio do Freixo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pestana Palacio do Freixo
Ranked #5 of 103 Hotels in Porto
Certificate of Excellence
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2012

We (with my wife and another couple) slept recently in 5 pousadas through their "Golden Age" deal (Obidos, Condeixa a Nova, Ria Aveiro, Porto Palacio do Freixo and Convento Desagravo). Obidos was the worst while Porto was the best by far. There is at times a "herd effect" in the tripadvisor reviews - which led me to several disappointments in the past. I must say that regarding the Porto Pousada all the excellent reviews are fully warranted. It's facilities are the best from all pousadas I visited in Portugal. The palace itself is beautiful and sumptuous in every aspect while the sleeping quarters are at par with any 5 star hotel I have seen anywhere. Don't be fooled by the fact that the bedrooms are located in an old flour mill - the place has been totally and thoroughly refurbished - the only thing that reminds the old factory are the red bricks facades and the inscription on one of them. What particularly attracted my attention was that the interior decoration of the rooms did not follow the usual pousadas kitschy azulejos and old timber and stone but it had the interior of a high class hotel. I could note the efforts they made in order to stand out from the other pousadas (this can be appreciated only by someone who has been in several and has noticed that there are some common features in all of them) like the breakfast or room amenities.
The service staff is one level at least above what I have seen in other pousadas and were courteous, efficient and helpful in every way (we used quite a lot of their time with requests for directions regarding to our trip and Porto itself).
Definitely a place to return.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nuernest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Freixo, Manager at Pestana Palacio do Freixo, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your excellent comments in Tripadvisor. Your opinion is very important to the Pousada do Porto Freixo Palace Hotel and to other guests that consider a trip to Porto. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in a near future. Sunny regards from Porto

Carlos Santos
Unit Manager
Freixo Palace Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,588 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,138
    324
    78
    34
    14
See reviews for
328
904
16
90
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zwevegem, Belgium
Level Contributor
93 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Marvelous hotel!! Great location and accomodation! very quiet and close to a beautiful city! Woth to go !! (Visited august 2010)

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vierkeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Freixo, Manager at Pestana Palacio do Freixo, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your excellent comments in Tripadvisor. Your opinion is very important to the Pousada do Porto Freixo Palace Hotel and to other guests that consider a trip to Porto. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in a near future. Sunny regards from Porto.

Carlos Santos
Unit Manager
Freixo Palace Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

The public rooms are in the palace, bedrooms are in a stylishly converted factory next door.The river views are very pleasant, those of the (unconverted) factory to the east less so. Food and drink were pretty good and reasonably priced and all aspects of the service were first class. It is a 5 minute 5 Euro taxi ride into town. If it weren't for the industrial neighbours, I'd have rated this hotel excellent.

Room Tip: South (river) or West (palace) facing rooms have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IwishIknew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Freixo, Manager at Pestana Palacio do Freixo, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for submitting your review about your stay where you share your experience at thePousada do Porto Freixo Palace Hotel. Our biggest aim is to ensure memorable holidays to all our dear guests, and your rewarding words are the best incentive for all the team. Thank you very much for your contribution and recommendation.
We look forward to welcome you again.
With kind regards,

Carlos Santos
Unit Manager
Freixo Palace Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
320 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

The problem with many historic hotels is that the rooms can be as dated as the structure and provide an uncomfortable stay. Not so for this fine hotel that delivers the charm of a historic palace with all of the comforts of a modern hotel. The only downside is that the location is a little out of the center of town and I needed to take a few minute, 5 Euro taxi ride to get to the sights in town. Not a major problem. I selected this hotel partially because I was driving a rental car, and didn't want to drive in downtown Porto. If the location was walking distance to the center, then my rating would have been a 5. Nice two night stay.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ono O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Freixo, Manager at Pestana Palacio do Freixo, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,
Thank you very much for your feedback. Your constructive comments have already been shared with our management team and we promise to focus on improving them.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back very soon, where no efforts will be spared to make your stay a most enjoyable and memorable one.
Kind regards
Carlos Santos
Unit Manager
Freixo Palace Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

We had a wonderful stay at the Palace for four nights. We were given a suite of rooms with an enormous bedroom attached to an equally large living area and a well equipped bathroom with a shower and bath . Everything used was replaced daily, unlike a report in another review. There were two large T Vs , one in each room. The view was not great , but we could see the river. The breakfast certainly was the best we have had in Portugal, with a large variety to choose from and the dining room is a delight to sit in. The only complaint was the toaster was very inefficient. All this, plus the use of the pools and lovely sitting rooms for 153 euros per night. This is pricey, but coming as we have from England where b and bs cost a fortune, I felt we easily got what we paid for and more. Just to note, Wi Fi was free at the time of our stay, however we had to log in again after every half hour, which was irritating.
I would highly recommend staying here if you don't mind not being right in town.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sgytha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Freixo, Manager at Pestana Palacio do Freixo, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your opinion about our hotel with us and with all our potential clients.
I’m glad you enjoyed our facilities. Regarding our F&B and Wi-Fi facilities, I apologize for any inconvenience and promise to solve the problems you highlighted. If the others can do, I’m sure we will also be able to meet our guests expectations.
Looking forward to welcoming you back!
Kindest regards

Carlos Santos
Unit Manager
Freixo Palace Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porto hotels
3.1 km away
InterContinental Porto Palacio das Cardosas
3.2 km away
Pestana Vintage Porto
2.7 km away
Hotel NH Collection Porto Batalha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Flores Village Hotel & Spa
3.2 km away
Porto River Apartments
Porto River Apartments
#3 of 103 in Porto
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
5.9 km away
Sheraton Porto Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Palacio do Freixo? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Palacio do Freixo

Property: Pestana Palacio do Freixo
Address: Estrada Nacional 108, 206 | Campanha, Porto 4300-316, Portugal (Formerly Pousada do Porto - Freixo Palace Hotel)
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Porto District > Porto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Porto
#2 Romantic Hotel in Porto
#4 Spa Hotel in Porto
#4 Business Hotel in Porto
#5 Luxury Hotel in Porto
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,065 - ₹ 27,039
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Palacio do Freixo 5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is situated by Porto's Douro River in a restored 18th-century Baroque building. It offers grand public areas with original architecture. Rooms at Pestana Palacio do Freixo are spacious, air-conditioned and have a separate seating area. Bathrooms include luxury amenities and a hairdryer. Some rooms offer Douro River views. Guests can relax on a sun lounger next to the Palacio Do Freixo's outdoor infinity pool which overlooks the river. The restaurant Palatium serves a daily buffet breakfast cooked with fresh ingredients. Guests can order light snacks at the pool or evening cocktails at the hotel's bar. The hotel is situated 2.5 km from the Dolce Vita Shopping Area and 1 km from Campanha Train Station. Porto Airport is a 20-minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Prestigia, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Pestana Palacio do Freixo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palacio Do Freixo Hotel Porto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing