We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (165)
Filter reviews
165 results
Traveller rating
55
80
24
6
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
55
80
24
6
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews location is beautiful bom jesus hotel bar stayed two nights star hotel bulbs church pillows elevador taxis city simple
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 165 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2018 via mobile

After a long drive we were relieved to have found this lovely hotel in a great location at the top of Bom Jesus. The rooms were clean & contemporary. One of the bulbs had gone in a bedside lamp but this was quickly replaced by a member of the attentive staff. Initially we could not park in the Hotel car park as all the spaces were taken by attendees of some sort of conference in the meeting room. Parking is important to us as we have a car-load of gear and it is one of the major factors which determine our choice of hotel - so maybe they should have reserved spaces for guests. However we were able to park later in the day. The thing that confused me was a bus load of people arrived later, so the hotel was fairly full, but despite having a perfectly good bar, they didn’t open it. We were instead directed to another hotel across the road- which we couldn’t access because there was a large dinner party in the bar/ restaurant. After a long drive we just wanted to sit down & have a quiet drink in the hotel bar, but this wasn’t possible. Went instead to the cafe at the top of the funicular. Service & drinks were good but it is outdoor so no good when it gets chilly. Don’t bother going down on the funicular- all you see is a car park.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Titanium_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2018 via mobile

I stayed two nights at this hotel. Great service and beautiful, big rooms.
Two major drawbacks were that the sink was almost plugged, it hardly drained the water, which is always a turn off. Secondly the air-conditioning was extremely noisy, and made it hard to sleep.

The breakfast was very simple and could have had more options, a bit weak for a 4 star hotel.

This being said, the hotel was clean and the staff was nice, and the location is beautiful and calm, just by the Bom Jesus church and the famous stairs. I prefer this location than centrally in Braga for sure.

All in all I’m happy with the stay.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank mathilde_m_costa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017

This hotel is very nice, especially the building itself and the common areas, that are very nicely decorated, simple, but elegant and trendy.
I got a room that was a bit dated in the decoration but was clean and practical. Very few toiletries but good amount of towels. It was clean.
Good pillows, nice bed.
Wifi worked well.
The breakfast was usually totally occupied by elder people that come to the hotel in tour buses and stay 1-2 nights. The options were limited but ok. Coffee exceptional.
The staff is really nice and helpful.
And concerning the location: it is amazing! Beautiful, calm, wonderful when the sun goes down. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ec_grs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017 via mobile

Absolutely Beautiful Setting And Surrounding Property...Staff Are Friendly And Kind...The Hotel Itself Is Unique And Has Alot Of History...Are Room Was Comfortable...Clean...One Of The Best Hotel Beds Ever! On A Positive Constructive Note...The Hotel Could Use Some Updating... However I Would Not Hesitate To Stay Here Again In A Heartbeat!

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Oh1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017

Fantastic setting and location , and gardens , superb surroundings , unfortunately only passing through , next time will stay longer & explore , great room , excellent value would stay longer if I could .

Room tip: Our room was great , no issues
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank jimt1964spalding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews