We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Madeira Bright Star
Nearby Hotels
US$ 213
US$ 207
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 400
US$ 369
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 164
US$ 139
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 285
US$ 255
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$ 247
US$ 118
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel The Cliff Bay(Funchal)
US$ 282
US$ 246
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 293
US$ 277
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Residencial Parque(Funchal)(Great Value!)
US$ 33
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
US$ 161
US$ 140
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 122
US$ 86
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (91)
Filter reviews
91 results
Traveller rating
21
33
21
11
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
21
33
21
11
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmall hotelcooked breakfastyogurthot waterbalconieswifiseamadeira
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 91 reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2010

Nice clean rooms excellent vakue for money breakfast was a limited choice but plenty to eat
easy walking distance into old town for good restaurants

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PandLOxfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2009

This hotel is situated between the centre of Funchal and the hotel zone. It only takes 10mins to walk into Funchal. You are situated 2-3mins walk from the Marina and some very good resturants that are recommended in all the guide books. The only negative thing is the pool is extremely cold - but they do state it is not heated!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fred1000Cardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2009

I stayed here with my girlfriend and had a wonderful time for not a lot of money. The hotel was just to the side of the big hotels and could have been in a more idylic spot, but perhaps then it wouldnt have been as good value as it was.
The rooms were very much european 4* star standards and it had all the facilities of a 4* hotel so would not agree with the other reviews, it was simply a small hotel which made the difference in peoples expectations.
The hotel itself was small and very friendly, clean and well kept. The breakfast was plesant and plentiful and the pool was a welcome break from the sunshine. The other nice point for us was that it wasnt a large chain hotel so had a quiet atmosphere and it wasnt very busy so felt very relaxing.
This hotel isnt going to win any awards, but at the same time it is not charign the earth and is doing a very good job at being a small hotel. I would reccomend this hotel to anyone that wants a quiet break, but not to people who are wanting all the facilities and service of an international 4* hotel with the budget of a camping holiday.
Well worth the not many euros it cost us, thank you Bright Star!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BongoLDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Bright Star in Funchal in mid Sept. 09. There were a few other older couples in the hotel of various nationalities and the weather was good. So, let me start by being kind...The Bright Star is a modern hotel and the location is just a pleasant ten minute stroll from the centre of Funchal. It was very clean. It was also close to some quite nice restaurants and a couple of so-called nightclubs and exclusive hotels. Their breakfasts were acceptable. There was always hot water in the shower. Now, for the complaints. There is NO WAY standards in this hotel comes close to any 4 star hotel we have ever stayed in. It completely lacked atmosphere, warmth and the sort of facilities one would expect from a luxury hotel. It has a pool area that was so small and uninspiring I only saw two others use it during the whole week. In the bedroom, beds were rock hard and there was only one pillow each. There was evidence of damp on the bedroom wall as if the bath had leaked. There were no great views from our balcony, which overlooked a car park. We enjoyed Madeira but would not return to this hotel. If their rating isn't down graded, then perhaps they should rename it. I suggest 'Faded Star'.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank theladycherie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2008

Nice small Modern Hotel in contemporary style.Convenient but rather dingy location in a side street.
Reception area smart and trendy.
Staff very welcoming and courteous.
Service excellent.
Cleanliness excellent.
Room was plain and uninspiring....Linen counterpane was missing on our arrival and for first 2 days and we were confronted by a brown wooly blanket.
Swimming Pool, sun lounge area and patio were adequate... no parasols for sunbeds.
Breakfast poor...fruit juice made from powder, limited fresh fruit, tinned pears,peaches and pineapple. Rotten coffee....not up to expected 4 star standard.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DocrobScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews