We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (116)
Filter reviews
116 results
Traveller rating
49
49
10
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
49
49
10
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews perfect location old town cable car small hotel bars restaurants noise reception euros key
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 116 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2018

We got a (so called) "quiet room" in the secondary building which is, in fact, about 500m away and a b&b by itself. So for breakfast (which was ok) there is quite a walk. Our room was supposed to be a quiet room, and it ended up to be a very uninsipiring, dark room, very basic features (see pix) overlooking the open kitchen of a restaurant (with the smell which comes with it) and in the night it was hell on earth: supernoisy until 1am (they run tables in the backyard). NEVER GO THERE if you want to be able to relax or to sleep more than half of the night. When we wanted to leave it was clear that they absolutely did not discuss a refund - once the trap closes, you are caught.

Room Tip: My best tip: better look elsewhere...
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bwicki188113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2017 via mobile

Visited for the second time and did not feel the need to look at any other alternatives in Funchal. We selected the same room over looking a busy street and we’re warned as on the previous visit that it may be noisy - but it was not an issue for us , we enjoyed watching the busy street life unobserved.
Room was spacious, clean and well equipped all for a budget price. The breakfast was perfectly adequate and the coffee limitless from a top of the range machine.
Veronica on reception was very helpful on island information and went out of her way to get answers.
Hard to find any fault

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank wittlar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017 via mobile

The room was great but there was nobody for the check in, we couldn't close the windows properly which isn't great if you hear yelling drunk men at night, quite noisy, first the aircon didn't work, then they fixed that on our last day and water and ice started coming out of it, i called and emailed the reception but didn't get an answer. So we got no service at all but the accusation 'we kept trying to contact you to get to copy your passport'..while the reception was throughout these 4 days always unattended (we tried to bring our passports various times)
But it's clean, nice, we had a balcony and
a good bathroom

Stayed: September 2017
Thank HannaMynona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017

It felt like a second home, the room was very beautiful, clean and comfortable, the staff super nice and helpful, we really enjoyed our stay and definitely would come back! The location was perfect, close to the waterfront and the market and in the street where all the restaurants are with people nagging you to come in:))

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Cikadele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017

The good points: lovely room, air conditioned. Wonderful manager, Veronica, very pleasant and helpful. Hotel smack in the centre of the old part of town, handy for everything.
Bad points: hotel is situated on a very narrow road which is closed to traffic from mid morning and then becomes wall-to-wall restaurants and bars which remain open until midnight. On Friday and Saturday nights, music and noise continue well into the early hours. Underneath the first floor is a bakery, which starts operating at 3.30am with all its associated noise.

Room Tip: I would not recommend bedroom no.3 or indeed any other rooms on the 1st floor. Possibly rooms on the 2nd floor might be better re noise.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bjaj56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews