We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (76)
Filter reviews
76 results
Traveller rating
5
30
30
8
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5
30
30
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbasic hotelexcellent locationrooms are cleanold townwithin walking distancesupermarketlido
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 76 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2018

Very central location about a 10 min. walk from the old town where you catch the cable car and the Mercado dos Lavradores. In the opposite direction you come to the Sé (main church).
Next to a supermarket and plenty of places to eat.
Rooms are clean and staff friendly, although a bit outdated.
Breakfast was OK, but not much variety.
If you're looking for a no frill hotel with a great location then this will do.
Our room faced the street, so it was a bit noisy Our friend'sn room faced the back and had a balcony which was nice and quiet,

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room not facing the main street
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank c0rita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018 via mobile

Based on our seven night stay in March:
Good points are; location, cleanliness, good shower and hairdryer in bathroom.
Bad points are; noise, bed pillows filled with cut up bits of foam and ONE spare electrical socket only. Was only allowed one key card for room which made awkward if needed to go out separately and was made to give this to reception whenever you left the hotel.
The supplied breakfast wasn’t to my taste, but then I am not a fan of continental breakfast.
Our room was at the front of hotel and so we were subject to excessive noise due to the street outside which made it difficult to sleep. We were woken during the small hours on a few nights by rowdy teens part of a school party in the room next door. I was hopeful the hotel would throw them out, but sadly not.
The supermarket next door was convenient.
I wouldn’t stay here again due to the noise issue but the location is very good.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Clair D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2018 via mobile

If you dream of a wonderful hotel with view on the sea in Madeira, don’t go there. If you need a very well centred hotel in this small city, it may be a good choice.
In fact, nothing special, just a downtown hotel, with a good sized room, comfortable, modern bathroom and free WiFi, and a correct breakfast.
So nothing of another world, but useful if it is what you need.
Don’t expect the moon, and you will be satisfied and your wallet too

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank jcbolay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2017

Nice, clean hotel with friendly staff. Right in the centre of town, so within walking distance of everything including the lido, cable cars and old town. Basic rooms and breakfast but had everything you'd need. The sister hotel across the street has a rooftop pool and bar which you are free to use.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Tricia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017

The hotel is located in the centre of Funchal city. Walking distance to everything (e.g. the beaches, restaurants, shops, etc.) There is a supermarket next door to the hotel. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. They also helped us set up guided tours of Maderia, which was fantastic. The room was basic and so was the breakfast but as we were out the majority of the day site seeing, that didn't matter much. Beds were comfortable to sleep in and the food they offered was good enough to start your day. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adelia_Maria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews