We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Madeira(Funchal)
US$ 110
US$ 104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 159
US$ 117
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 174
US$ 159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$ 256
US$ 242
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 523
US$ 505
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pestana Palms(Funchal)
US$ 192
US$ 129
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 123
US$ 115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 349
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 91
US$ 79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Suite Hotel Eden Mar(Funchal)
US$ 164
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (2,525)
Filter reviews
2,525 results
Traveller rating
1,194
914
300
89
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,194
914
300
89
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsatlantic poolgarden poolsea viewbuilding sitelovely hoteltime sharetea and coffeesalt waterold townjunior suitebuilding workbed and breakfastsea watergreat facilitieshalf boardbig hotelpool towels
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 2,525 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

stayed at the Pestana Carlton for one week from 23rd march. This was a free week for us as we are Pestana Options members. We stayed in a suite which far outshone our expectations. We had two bathrooms,one en-suite, all kitchen facilities including dishwasher. Dining area, lounge area lovely big balcony and beautiful bedroom. Facilities excellent swimming pools both indoor and outdoor were spotless. jacuzzi very good, didnt try the turkish bath. Very central came to funchal last year for the first time and fell in love with the place. we did a few trips last year. This year we just did the caves which was a very nice day out and a lovely meal included. Only one fault a week was not long enough. Well done Pestana.

Room Tip: Most rooms have a sea view. we were in room 2320 the view was amazing
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank joanofarcLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear joanofarcLiverpool,
The Pestana Carlton Madeira Hotel would like to thank you for your review.
Achieving quality and our guest’s satisfaction is our daily goal.
We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed a lovely holiday with us.
We are also very glad to hear that you have enjoyed the facilities we offer and our priviliged location.
We look forward to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.
With kind regards,
Lisbeth Albuquerque - Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great location, all runs smoothly, room was a good size and bed was comfortable. We were sea facing and high up, as requested so the views were great. The breakfast and pool bar food were good ( didn’t try the others). A few things make the 5 star questionable... the towels were like sand paper, bath and shower pressure were poor, WiFi signal not great in our room and practice of charging for top up of room tea & coffee during stay isn’t good PR when it costs the hotel so little. In UK this is standard in 2* establishments.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Pestana Hotel Group
1  Thank jnsnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear jnsnow,
Thank you very much for spending your precious time on submitting your review about your stay at the Pestana Carlton Madeira Hotel.
Good notice of all your comments has been taken in consideration for future improvements.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.
With kind regards,
Lisbeth Albuquerque - Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were stopped in the street and invited to a ownership presentation at the Hotel featuring principally Club membership...promised a 40 Euro restaurant voucher and 2 Bottles of wine if we sat in there for 1 and a half hours

So we did, and in fairness the offer was £5990 for 400,00 points which broke down to effectively 13 weeks in low/mid season....

We declined the offer as the time scale to decide was simply a bit pressurized...ie sign now or forget it.

Got the voucher on a scrappy piece of paper, no wine and at one point no taxi back either...and that was also promised.

Went to our chosen restaurant that night and guess what..VOUCHER not valid...Bis surprise.

Moral of the story....well make up your own mind as we have done that already...Oddly enough we actually were going to contact them to see if the deal was still available as i have already said it was not a bad deal..BUT now...NO WAY...their loss.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank vegasfan99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear vegasfan99,
Thank you for your comment. We are pleasedto hear that you found the Pestana Vacation Club holiday offer interesting. However, please contact us to clarify, as I find that the voucher and taxi issues do not conform to our procedures. Normally, we always provide transport back to our guest’s hotel. However, in your case, if you were staying at the Carlton that would be unnecessary as you were on the site already. As for the restaurant vouchers, they are always valid and redeemable at Pestana food and beverage outlets. There appears to have been some misunderstanding which we would like to have the opportunity to clarify and rectify.
With kind regards,
Lisbeth Albuquerque - Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We spent five night vacation with my wife in Pestana Carlton. We used the hotel as a base for Levada walks and other activities. It served its purpose very well, restaurants were good, staff was friendly and helpful. Facilities were clean and in good order.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Pestana Hotel Group
Thank Matti R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Matti R,
Thank you very much for your positive feedback about your stay at the Pestana Carlton Madeira Hotel. We are delighted to read that the hotel served your purposes and we hope that your review help other travelers's opinion as well.
We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you again.
With kind regards,
Lisbeth Albuquerque - Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stay here only if you want good service and food all served with a smile! Really worth every penny. Swimming pools great and if you have time check out the dive centre. A tip for trips- do a deal with a taxi. You go to places that coaches can't go. 4 of us had a taxi for the day for 7 hours and it cost 140 euros not much less than an organised trip. Difference is no time restrictions when visiting places. Will definitely do that again when we go back. Try it I promise you will not be disappointed.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Jocelyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Mrs. Jocelyn C,
We are delighted to read your comments on Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay at our hotel and they were passed to the whole team.
We appreciate the time spent to share your feedback, through which we can evaluate and improve the quality of our services.
We were naturally pleased and willing to do even better because we see that our hard work and dedication are recognized.
We hope to see you again soon.
With best regards,
Lisbeth Albuquerque - Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews