We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Ranked #29 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful views”
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Pestana Carlton is a big clean hotel, with beautiful views over the sea. Book seaside room!
Balconies are quite small, with two chairs and a small table. (Standard room) Beds are comfortable and rooms quite big. Nice pool area. We liked that the hotel has a good location, easy to reach both Lido and old town.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaaju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for sharing with other travelers your comments about your stay at the Pestana Carlton Madeira Hotel. We are sure that your description will help others to choose where to stay in Madeira. Definitely our privileged location and beautiful views place us between the best.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in a near future.
With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,070
    795
    250
    80
    17
See reviews for
484
1,356
56
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (725)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2012

We have stayed at this hotel for a number of years and have found the management and staff
very helpful and friendly. The hotel is perfectly situated with beautiful views and a 10 min walk
from the centre of Funchal.The food and the leisure facilities are very good and we hope to
return next year.
Mr & Mrs Bond.
Yorkshire.

Room Tip: Obiously it depends on your budget but corner suites have L-shaped balconies for a 180 deg view, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank premiumbond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
Dear Mr. & Mrs. Bond,
We thank you immensely for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor about your pleasant stay at the Pestana Carlton Madeira Hotel again. It is also with great happiness that we welcome you and our many regular guests year after year. Many, many thank for your loyalty.
Your return and kindness serves as the best incentive for all the team who is very happy to welcome you again in a near future. Please be so kind to let us know of your return in advance.
With sunny regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ingleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Have just returned from this hotel having stayed for a week to celebrate my 70th birthday. What a lovely hotel, food, staff, rooms and everything else just great. They mad a lovely effort on my birthday morning, champagne at breakfast and a bottle delivered to our room in the evening.

Room Tip: WE had a room that overlooked the harbour as well as the mountain behind Funchal
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JungerSchwung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your excellent review. We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay; we also thank you for having chosen the Pestana Carlton Madeira Hotel for such a special celebration as your birthday. Our aim is to ensure memorable holidays, and by your words we can understand that we have been successful in our mission.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in a near future.
With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
burnley
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

First visit to Madeira and have to say it did not disappoint in any way. The hotel is in a perfect position, within easy walking distance of Funchal one way and the lido area the other. We had a lovely sea view room, would recommend the upgrade, and if you want a fabulous view of Funchal and the harbour request a bay view room. We pre-booked a good value half board option ( more expensive at the hotel ) and the food was always very tasty with a reasonable choice of dishes, desserts were always very tempting and beautifully presented! The pool areas are lovely, lots of flowers and greenery and the heated pool is just that for once and was enjoyed by all. The staff were all so pleasant and friendly and all helped to make our stay really enjoyable. Will definitely go back to Madeira and this hotel.

Room Tip: Upgrade to sea view room as front rooms face onto road. High floor Bay View rooms for view of Func...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank bibsLancs10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
Dear Guest,
The Pestana Carlton Madeira Hotel would like to thank you for your feedback submitted in this website.
Your opinion is very important for us, and we are very happy to hear that we have corresponded to your expectation in all ways and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in a near future.
As you have confirmed the hotel is built on a cliff in one of the best locations of Funchal, with some of the most spectacular views of the sea and city harbor. The rooms facing the harbor are also highly request for the Christmas’s and New Year’s season because of the lights and fireworks. We also suggest you to return for this special season. We look forward to hear of your return,
With kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Just complete third visit to this hotel which is a stunning position overlooking the sea just outside Funchal. Helpful staff and nice spacious room. Only fault was that they seemed not to make enough use of the waterside area. The bar therewas always shut and the whole area shut down at 6pm, 2 and a half hours before sunset. A new pool is underconstruction at the beach level, perhaps better use of this area will me made when this is opened

Room Tip: Can catch buses to the mountains (No 81) just across the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew_C_Exmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
Dear Guest,
The Management would like to thank you very much for your review.
We have very happy to hear that you have enjoyed another holiday at the Pestana Carlton Madeira Hotel and we really look forward to the opportunity to welcome you again.
We also thank you for sharing your comments and ideas and believe that we have taken this in consideration.
We also take this opportunity to inform that the new pool is almost finished and looks beautiful. We are sure that this new investment will improve our offer and increase our choice of services.
With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.5 km away
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
2.4 km away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#15 of 86 in Funchal
1,861 reviews
0.3 km away
Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
0.6 km away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 86 in Funchal
2,818 reviews
1.1 km away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#7 of 86 in Funchal
1,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Carlton Madeira? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Carlton Madeira

Property: Pestana Carlton Madeira
Address: Largo Antonio Nobre, no 1, Funchal, Madeira 9004-531, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#6 Business Hotel in Funchal
#17 Family Hotel in Funchal
#21 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#27 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#28 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,103 - ₹ 17,584
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Carlton Madeira 5*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pestana Carlton Madeira, one of the most lively hotels in Madeira, enjoys a privileged setting in Funchal, at the top of a slope on the island of Madeira, providing fantastic views over the bay of Funchal and the sea. This luxurious and charismatic hotel in Madeira is a reference point for any visitor to Madeira, due to the excellent conjugation of a family atmosphere with the sophistication of its excellent installations. Once you are in the hotel, you will find at your disposal a wide range of services you can enjoy, including 3 leisure areas. In the Garden Pool, you will find a heated saltwater outdoor pool and a swimming pool for children. In the Atlantic Pool, there is a salt water outdoor pool with access to the sea and an indoor pool with Jacuzzi, relaxation rooms and bar. The Magic Spa offers an indoor heated swimming pool with sauna, Turkish bath, Jacuzzi, gym and treatment rooms. To promote the cultural gastronomic diversity of Funchal, this 5 star hotel in Madeira has 3 restaurants and 3 bars, with excellent views of the Atlantic Ocean, with a variety of flavours that will satisfy the most demanding tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Pestana Carlton Madeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Carlton Madeira Funchal
Carlton Hotel Madeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing