We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,321)
Filter reviews
1,321 results
Traveller rating
940
320
50
6
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
940
320
50
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small hotel premium room sea view waiter service lovely hotel forum shopping centre local buses christmas and new year small pool half board taxi rank bed and breakfast basis close to the hotel wide choice the hotel offers tea and coffee making facilities hot and cold food
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 1,321 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2018

A most enjoyable stay in an excellent hotel. Everything about the visit was superb, from the first welcome upon arrival until the departure date. Excellent room and facilities, variety, quality and quantity of food outstanding. An excellent location - the ‘hop on, hop off’ bus tours stop just minutes away from the door of the hotel. Would love and hope to return again soon.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Jet2holidays
3  Thank alantreloar74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing you experience at Madeira Regency Cliff. We are delighted to learn that you had a perfect break.

We hope to see you back in a very near future,

With Kind Regards

Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2018 via mobile

Stayed for 11 nights. Standard room and bathroom were on the small side. Brace yourself for heights in Madeira. The hotel is perched high up too! However, the views of the Atlantic from the hotel are priceless such a breathtaking experience. Hotel spotless throughout. Small plunge size pools inside and out again kept clean. Gym equipment poor but used anyway. Small sun terraces but never an issue getting loungers. Have to pay for use of safe which is rather astonishing! Welcome reception helpful. Manager very gracious. Happy Hour half price cocktails were much fun !! Tea and coffee facilities replenished each day. Room cleaned every day. Fresh towels and bedding on request. Patricia who cleaned the room could not do enough she was magnificent! Breakfast was pretty much samey, but nonetheless great choices of hot food cooked nicely and cold choices were fresh plus fruit and cereals, tiny cakes, fresh beverages served at the tables. Choice of dining inside or outside with panoramic ocean views. No access to the sea unless you pay €5 each for the day via the lido with extra cost for sunbeds and parasol which was pricey if used daily but very enjoyable. Point to note; if you need to leave the lido for any reason re-entry is not allowed. Very attentive life guards in situ. Lots of trips to go on safari, cable car, basket rides, catamaran, further boat and sightseeing trips available but cannot comment as not used personally but chatted to loads of people who enjoyed them. Madeira is very hilly! Shopping mall with supermarket shops and hairdressers just across the road! Did not walk into Funchal as hotel has courtesy bus which has a very nice driver who gave useful information. Spent the day in old Madeira town. Dined out every day for lunch and dinner and can honestly say that not one meal was disappointing. In fact the food quality and quantity was excellent. Fillet steak tuna or salmon cooked by yourself on the hot stone was heavenly. Scabbard and espada are beautiful local white fish. Limpets are delicious seafood. Prawns were divine. Choices of jacket potatoes chips or boiled potatoes plus veg or salad all cooked perfectly in all local establishments visited. Madeira is littered with cafe bistro type eateries which do not disappoint! In all a great place with great food great hospitality and fabulous people. So good that next year is already booked.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Allypal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Madeira Regency Cliff. We are pleased to learn that you had a nice holiday and that you have already booked for next year.

We all look forward to welcoming you,

With Kind Regards

Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2018

Had a fabulous four days staying in the junior suite as part of a birthday surprise trip for my other half. The location is ideal with a shopping centre no more than a five minute walk up the road. It offers fashion shops like h&m and Zara, a good selection of restaurants offering pizza, burgers and sit down options, a supermarket and a few other random shops, one selling aromatic organic items. We bought a few pieces there.
Upon check in reception provide a selection of things to do. The communal areas are fashioned in bright, colourful boutique styles. The room was impressive. Not overly modern but spacious, clean and comfortable. The views from the two balconies were amazing. Both providing fantastic sea views, one showing the sun coming up with reflections on the sea.
Breakfast was nice. They catered for healthy cereals with seeds etc., fresh fruit or bacon, eggs and trimmings with a selection of breads, hot croissants, and a selection of mini pastries. As non dairy consumers, they provided us with a selection of milk (both Oat and Almond)!
The shower head has seen better days, and the bathroom window surround was the same. Those two things will not deter us from returning to the Regency Cliff again and again.
I can't wait.

Room tip: Rooms on the first floor with balconies might not be very private as some sit flat outside of the pool/bar area.
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Madeira Regency Cliff. We are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your holiday and that you will definitely return.

We all look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you,

With Kind Regards

Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2018

Room tip: request 2 room keys to keep fridge active while your out.
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Jet2holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 30 July 2018 via mobile

What a lovely place to stay. Adult only, peaceful hotel. Stunning views from all rooms and from balcony where you may have your breakfast. Highly recommend staying here. Only downsize is you only get one room key which means fridge annoy be left on when you are out of the room.

Date of stay: July 2018
3  Thank pauladU4471CY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review. We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed your holiday and that you highly recommend Madeira Regency Cliff.

Regarding the room key card on a future stay, please ask at reception for a second key.

We all hope to see you back,

With Kind Regards

Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews