We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“November in the Sun” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Madeira Regency Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Madeira Regency Club
Ranked #42 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
NORTHOLT ENGLAND
Level Contributor
110 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“November in the Sun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2011

This was our annual November week and once again we returned to U.K. rested and refreshed.The "Club" was as usual the perfect retreat from the woes of the world.We tend to spend the day around the pool and yes the pebble covering is uncomfortable on ones feet and the umbrellas do cost 2.5 euros but surely this is a cheap price to pay to avoid sunburn!Our apartments are in the pool side complex, they are looking a little jaded but once we have our storage items in place its just like home!!!Joel and his staff, infact all the staff, go out of their way to be helpful giving advice re trips restaurants and the best shopping.

This time we found a real mix of prices in Funchal, we tend to base costs on the staple items required for a holiday i.e. coffee,beer and steak sandwiches,the variety in pricing was astounding,infact beer was cheaper on site.

Madeira and its people are quite wonderful,roll-on June

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank STEVE CLARK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

408 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    180
    69
    23
    12
See reviews for
79
232
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2011

Good location and attractive building, albeit a little dated; surrounded by much more expensive developments. We had room 103 on raised ground floor with own terrace overlooking gardens, pool and sea.We ate out with good choice of restaurants and varied priced menus. Pleasant downhill walk to Funchall along main road but somewhat tiring return uphill. Staff were pleasant but we were disappointed at the additional cost for electricity!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spligit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oban, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

On arrival we were offered a room over the road near the pool, this we declined
and we were given a room in the main hotel on the second floor which suited us with its quietness.
We stayed b & b for one week,for breakfast there was a large selection cereals, hams and cheeses also hot food was on offer

If you take the back door ( as it is called ) going up the lane you come across about ten restuarants serving a variety of exceptional good meals well priced. One to name is the |Red Lion where you can go for the tourist or the a la carte menu.

Room Tip: Rooms in hotel are better than the rooms over the road at the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jimgrout1_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2011

Another wonderful stay. Joel and all his staff as friendly & helpfull as always. Reading a previous review, they can't of been for a while, we've been going since 2008 and never saw AstroTurf at pool. I'm sure this new surface is safer. My only negative is the Gym.... Or lack of it. Paying maintainance each year but seeing that nothing has been spent in that area is annoying to say the least. We did notice that people who tipped the pool attendants got a far better service!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trisha19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

Found this hotel to be in need of upgrading. The Pool area was 1st class and you can swim in the ocean safely by going down a few steps. In a good area surrounded by 5 star hotels with good restaurants in the area. A brisk 15 minute walk to the old town but uphill all the way back!
Our suite was adequate but showing signs of tiredness. The air con was worse than useless resulting in some broken sleep on warm nights. The hotel has no laundry facilities other than a service which charges e.g. 9 euros to wash and iron one shirt!. The advertised gym consisted of a pedal machine and a walking machine which was broken. The staff were friendly and helpful with the exception of 1 barman in the yacht club bar who seemed to delight in upsetting my wife! Overall a great location but the resort needs some money spent to bring it up to the alleged 4 star rating.

Room Tip: Do not opt for an upper floor if you have children under teenage years. The balcony wall is only abo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrgrumpyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.4 km away
Apartamentos Turisticos Avenue Park
0.2 km away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#29 of 86 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,092 reviews
0.2 km away
Madeira Bright Star
Madeira Bright Star
#66 of 86 in Funchal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
0.5 km away
Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel
0.5 km away
Enotel Quinta do Sol
Enotel Quinta do Sol
#33 of 86 in Funchal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madeira Regency Club? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madeira Regency Club

Property: Madeira Regency Club
Address: Rua Carvalho Araujo 9, Funchal, Madeira 9000-022, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#39 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,821 - ₹ 9,720
Hotel Class:4 star — Madeira Regency Club 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering panoramic views of the Madeiran coastline from its salt-water pool, the 4-star Regency Club features a restaurants and a health club. All air-conditioned apartments have a balcony and kitchenette. Spaciously laid out, all sunny apartments at Regency Club Madeira come with an LCD TV, seating area and modern bathroom. The majority of the apartments have ocean views. A breakfast buffet is served in the restaurant by the pool. The Yacht Bar Club overlooks the water and offers light meals for lunch and dinner. Guests have private sea access from the pool deck with its sun loungers. Apart from a sauna visit, guests can play squash or enjoy free transport to 2 of Madeira's golf courses. The centre of Funchal with its many bars and restaurants is 1 km away from Regency Club Madeira. This is our guests' favourite part of Funchal, according to independent reviews. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Agoda, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Madeira Regency Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madeira Regency Club Hotel Funchal
Regency Hotel Madeira
Regency Hotel Funchal
Madeira Regency Club Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing