We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (479)
Filter reviews
479 results
Traveller rating
160
230
68
14
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
160
230
68
14
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews camara de lobos pool beach guaranteed sea view hotel runs a free bus courtesy bus to funchal steep climb bus stop hotel minibus the local bus service speak several languages no air conditioning huge balcony rated hotel the pool snack bar mobility problems quiet hotel coat hangers
Filter
Updating list...
75 - 80 of 479 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2015

Nice hotel on the rock. Seawiev and very big balcony. The simply breakfast with continental cuisinie. There is a bus stop next the hotel. Into the centre Funchal is riding hotel minibus everyday. This is simply hotel with good servise, food, swimming pool and is next the beach.

Stayed: July 2015
2  Thank LacikamKomarom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2015

A lot of reviews seem to focus on the 'steep' climb from the pool up to the hotel but it really is not bad. In fact the lovely gardens around the path make it a pleasurable walk and there's plenty of opportunity for lizard spotting on the way!

We were two of the few British visitors staying at the hotel which has very predominately German clientele.

Most staff were helpful and friendly but some were merely 'efficient' - our check-in was particularly abrupt.

The buffet style breakfast is excellent but the evening meals slightly less consistent with the vegetarian option rather repetitive i.e. nearly always pasta! There were some occasions when the bar was not staffed but these are really minor issues in the overall context of an excellent stay.

We have already booked to return next year and look forward to the pool, beach and free mini-bus shuttle again.

Room Tip: Higher floors which are 4 to 7 have better views.
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Lance B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2015

Arrived at the hotel after a short journey from the airport to be told that our room was on the 11th floor. Having read the reviews before the trip I was worried that this would be the dreaded 'promo' room so we viewed our room and then asked to see the upgrade which would be 35 euros more for the week.
The room on the 8th floor was a lot bigger and the balcony was bigger but the view was nothing like what we had in our original room and didn't really offer anything else so we decided to stick with our rooms. After speaking to the lady at reception, it turns out that only floor 10 is the promotional rate room and 11 was okay. We didnt regret staying in our room as we had no problems with noise what so ever.
The hotel is a bit of a way out of Funchal, about half and hour on the bus and the courtesy bus only runs 4 times a time, twice in the morning and twice at around 5pm so not really any use for going for meals in the evening. There was a bus stop outside the hotel with regular buses and you could get the bus for about 3 euros there and back so not too bad.
There is one nearby restaurant outside the hotel which did really nice food, but with a very limited menu so couldn't eat there every night.
The walk down to the pool is how it has been described in previous reviews and can be quite hard going on your way back up to your room. Big slope followed by a selection of stairs but the pool is worth it. Such a nice area to sit in overlooking the sea with great (and strong) mojitos served for 3 euros in the pool bar. If you are buying regular drinks, you can get a coke for 1 euro at the beach side bar rather than paying nearly 3 euros for one at the pool bar.
The rooms were really nice, and we were very impressed that the maid left us extra pillows after the first night and the room was always clean and tidy on our return. If you need a hairdryer, take one, the one provided is completely unusable. You can pay extra to get a fridge and a kettle in your room but as we couldn't locate a shop nearby we didn't bother getting either. You can pay 7 euros a week to get internet in your room which was worth it for us so that we could book tours and find out bus times etc.

Overall, it was a lovely stay in the Ocra Praia but would have preferred a more central location. Or even just a couple more restaurants in the vicinity.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank klass03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2015

The junior rooms are very spacious and kept very clean by the maids. As people say if unfit hard work down the slope and steps to the pool but once there beautiful area overlooking the Atlantic. One strange anomaly price for drinks double the price of the beach bar just a few metres away. I found the staff very courteous and professional.

The meals are buffet style ie salad bar/soup/deserts self service, fish and meat courses served to the table no choice which might suits some people.

Room Tip: Low number one being the highest ten the lowest which is under the resturant.
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Alan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2015

Booked this hotel on the information and reviews on this site and not disappointed. A very nice hotel with friendly and efficient staff in all departments. Had room 603 ,very comfortable with fantastic balcony .Slept with patio window open for gentle breeze and sound of sea .Good T.V. with channel guide, clean towels and maids in every day, spotless. A good courtesy bus service into Funchal run by the hotel twice in the morning with pick up in late afternoon. Food good, but not brilliant, take your own kettle for the room or you could rent for your stay. Quite a steep ramp and steps down to beach and swimming pool ,not so good for unfit or infirm. Lovely island and people, will be back , still lots to see and explore.

Room Tip: Low room numbers ,higher the room. Restaurant on 9th floor ,give distance for diners noise
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Philip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews