We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value..in a super location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Four Views Monumental Lido
Ranked #30 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Excellent value..in a super location”
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Stayed at this hotel on a full board basis from 9th to 23rd january 2012. On arrival it is true to say you think you are entering a shopping centre but thats only because it does have a large centre alongside which it turns out is very handy..ON ARRIVAL WE WERE GIVEN ROOMS 1108 AND 1110. These turned out to be on the top floor and sea facing although the balcony wll was very high and you had to lean over to see out. Nonetheless they were fantastic rooms and well located. The rooms are spacious and bright and spotlessly clean with everything you would need for 2 weeks or more. The furnishings were of a good standard and well maintained. Maid service was outstanding possibly amongst the best ever in 42 years of going abroad. The hotel itself is attractively furnished and although the pool area doesnt look too great in pictures in real terms it is much more spacious than we imagined. Service throughout the hotel is faultless with all staff pulling together to make for great team work. The food at the hotel was really really good and very well cooked. A previous reviewer states that the eggs are all on top of each other at breakfast but they were so good they didnt last long to be lying around. The overall buffet was first class and we met some really great folk from all over the UK who all agreed on this. As we had full board which was part of a complimentary upgrade we dined in at lunchtime. This was from an a la carte menu and was just fantastic. WE COULDNT EAT IT ALL THOUGH AS THERE WAS SUCH A RANGE TO CHOOSE FROM AT BREAKFAST AND DINNER. But it was there if we wanted it. I have to say it was a marvellous holiday for what we paid and the added bonus of the bus stop right outside was brilliant too. Buy the multi journey tickets from the tobacconist in the shopping centre next door and you can top these up if and when you need more making your journey on all city routes jusr 1 euro including the marvellous 45 min journey to MONTE on the number 48 and all from your doorstep. It only takes 5 mins to funchal on the bus and they have a high frequency line on routes 1 and 2. All in all it was just really really great and we will without any doubt go back to this Hotel

Room Tip: high floor sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank George W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    401
    522
    146
    45
    10
See reviews for
168
720
35
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bedale
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

The hotel is well placed and in easy walking of shops and buses.It is well cared for and spotlessly clean .Our chamber maid was a real worker and kept our room and bathroom very clean .She worked long hours and though she was very cheerful looked very tired.The room was comfortable and had a good view of the pool and sea.The dining hall was chaotic .Breakfasts were abysmal.The fried eggs seemed to be coated with a hard plasticy film and the scrambled egg seemed to be made from dried egg powder.The bacon was often rind only.Tomatoes were badly charred and even so empty dishes were left empty as guests waited food to exit the kitchen.Hoplessly understaffed.Guests had often to re lay their own tables and find cutlery.Dinner was repetative and good food over cooked.Why,when there is a fantastic farmers' market just down the road do they serve tinned vegetables and expect guests to eat burned carrots ? They may do well to get rid of the cook and employ a chef.Many guests who have stayed here in previous years spoke of the decline in the quality of the food.The nightly entertainment performed by the visiting local groups and dancers was excellent.It was impossible to talk in the bar against the ear splitting noise of the vocal performers .Complaints were made about the discomfort of this but to no avail.Many of the guests avoided this and went elsewhere.Having read the glowing reports of this hotel in earlier times I have to admit to being very disappointed with the quality of food, and efficiency in the dining room caused by shortage of staff.It is a shame, as overall this could be a first class hotel.Today I would not consider it to be a four star and will not return.

Room Tip: Try to by high up to avoid noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank samcatBedale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

this hotel is superbly placed with excellent facilities and spotlessly clean. the hotel staff from room maid to general manager are cheerful and helpful. Entertainment in the evenings are what it says on the tin with a reasonably priced bar. Downside! good food spoilt by canteen style buffet dinners and poorly cooked breakfasts (rubber eggs,overcooked vegetables). Did it spoil our holiday? not really, but with a little thought about the food it would have been perfect for the money.

Room Tip: sea view floors five to eight, no views at the rear plus busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank derek l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

My wife and I have just returned from our stay at the Monumental Hotel but before I say anything about it I would like to report several conversations we had at the airport just prior to leaving and bear in mind, we did not know any of these people at all.
Most couples seemed to complain openly and with gusto about the way, they were treated by the staff of their Hotel, the lack of interest shown by their Travel Reps when they complained. Their accommodation in most cases got the OK, However, food was repetitive and the word poor in some cases were being polite. Incidentally, our travel Company Reps came out on top.
One Hotel advertised that they were on the flat but that did not tell them that they had to climb a hill to get there in the first place. The Island was considered fantastic but nearly all said they would not return in the near future.
In contrast, when we arrived at our (second home) Hotel we were greeted as if we were long lost family by the receptionist.
When we had settled in our room, we were visited by the Assistant Manageress, who eyed the room to make sure that the large bowl of fruit, the bottle of Madeira wine and the water was in place. The room was immaculate when we arrived. The smile on our friends face said it all, we had been expected.
The pool man ran up to our balcony the next day to greet us and give us a good weather report for the next two weeks and it was fantastic.
I can only say that the cleaning staff should be given new titles, Artists. The room was immaculate every day and we knew who she was by her signature of perfection just as it was the year before. This was confirmed by her big smile when we met her on our way to meet the friendly staff in the restaurant. By the way, the Fish dishes were fantastic every night.
After dinner, we made it to the bar just before the happy hour was to close. We nearly missed out on this because we were shaking hands with the staff for so long and catching up with old stories.
I think you have a picture now of our stay at our genuinely friendly Hotel. They act like a family, they all work together like a family and they are friends to many who return as we do every year.
To all our friends at the Monumental we give you our utmost respect and to the three musketeers. You know who you are.
Lots of love until next year. XXX
MikeM504

Room Tip: Facing the Sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MikeM504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather village in Leicestershire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

This hotel does not have 'Curb Appeal' but just walk inside for a warm welcome and comfortable surroundings. Leave the shining glass atriums for the people who like to be seen in the glitz and glamour, this hotel is just good value and everything you need for a relaxing break. The taxi rank is outside the door and the buses are one euro a journey if you purchase in advance. It is very clean and the food is 'excellent'. There is always enough food, and there are choices of 2 meat dishes and 2 fish dishes, with a full salad bar as well as the hot selection. Breakfast is whatever you can think of, it seems to be there, hot , cold, meat, cheese or fruit.
Very comfortable stay. Would recommend highly. The number of people we spoke to who had returned time and time again cannot be wrong. We will be joining them soon.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter. Road close to self catering rooms at front. Rooms overlooking pool get t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ddea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Funchal
1.6 km away
Four Views Baia
Four Views Baia
#26 of 86 in Funchal
765 reviews
9.9 km away
Four Views Oasis
Four Views Oasis
#2 of 13 in Canico
727 reviews
0.1 km away
Lince Hotel Madeira
Lince Hotel Madeira
#42 of 86 in Funchal
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Alto Lido Hotel
Alto Lido Hotel
#40 of 86 in Funchal
588 reviews
0.5 km away
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
Madeira Panoramico Hotel
#28 of 86 in Funchal
551 reviews
0.9 km away
Enotel Quinta do Sol
Enotel Quinta do Sol
#32 of 86 in Funchal
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Views Monumental Lido? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Views Monumental Lido

Property: Four Views Monumental Lido
Address: Estrada Monumental 284, Funchal, Madeira 9004-541, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Funchal
#29 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#30 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,285 - ₹ 1,82,668
Hotel Class:4 star — Four Views Monumental Lido 4*
Number of rooms: 258
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Four Views Monumental Lido reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Views Monumental Lido
Four Views Monumental Lido Hotel Funchal
Hotel Monumental Lido
Monumental Lido Madeira
Monumental Lido Hotel Funchal
Four Views Monumental Lido Funchal, Madeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing