We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (441)
Filter reviews
441 results
Traveller rating
269
136
29
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
269
136
29
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sun deck sea view lovely hotel desertas islands hotel is newly renovated super clean hotel hotel balcony big pillows per towel a big shopping centre lovely glass british tastes massage at the spa parking garage courtesy bus best hotel i have ever stayed large shower
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 441 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2018

We felt compelled to write this review as we really enjoyed our holiday. There are so many staff members that need praising and thanking that here goes - Josef (particularly), Carlos, Cristina, Marisa and Thato on reception where nothing was too much trouble and they were always so helpful and respectful. Riu on the pool bar for his assistance, Numo who fixes things when unsure holidaymakers needed him, Fatima who made great omelettes. We hope that Mr Jordao will see this review as we did not have the opportunity to tell him of his wonderful staff. They should be congratulated for their great attitude to their jobs which obviously does much to enhance the reputation of this lovely hotel. Thank you to the room maids for keeping the room spotless. We found the hotel courtesy bus helpful on some days and also need to mention the close proximity of the yellow buses which frequently went into Funchal and back right outside the hotel. Also the red/white stripe buses near to the hotel for longer trips, eg to Camara de Lobos and more. There are also many local restaurants where all the fish is so wonderful. Can highly recommend the trip to the north of the island where you can take a scenic walk through the caves that were cut through solid rock, forming at least 700 metres of varying volcanic tunnels and caves and the guide was very informative about the history and the birth of the island of Madeira. The cable car trip is also great and the toboggan ride down to the café for 2 km would have been much easier than the walk, if only we had been brave enough. This was our second trip to Madeira and we saw lots of changes since we last visited 10 years ago. Almost forgot to mention the great shopping mall within 10 mins walk on 3 floors with lots of great shops including a supermarket, McDonalds, various cafes, clothing shops and more. Useful and so handy. Heated outside pool was great although sunbeds were uncomfortable. This was only gripe, but not too problematic as we did not spend too much time on them. Our room was 293 and had lovely views and very quiet. Would highly recommend.

Stayed: July 2018
2  Thank PabloFiascoWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel G, Front Office Manager at Baia Azul, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for choosing us between so many other Hotels in Madeira.
First of all, thank you so much for the compliments and being so supportive to us in general, we really thank you for your kindness.
Reception Team will be very happy to receive such positive feedback about their service, this is the reason why we came everyday to work.
We sincerely hope you return to our Hotel in the future and send our kindest regards to you and your family.

Miguel Grosse
Reception Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2018

First time to Madeira,must say I didn’t really fancy it however it was booked for us,so off we went. Good flight out with Thomas cook,not too long waiting for our luggage on landing.we were picked up by a mini bus ( bonus ) travelling from the airport to the Baia azul we were gobsmacked has to how beautiful Madeira was,then arriving 20 minutes later,it was gobsmacked 2, what a beautiful hotel in a very nice area the hotel has recently had a terrific refit and it was sparkling the rooms were a delight with if you pre booked a fabulous vista ,however the rooms at the back don’t have THE VIEW,this however would not put me off as all the rooms are really nice ( wall to wall marble) a really nice bathroom with all you need provided comfy beds a tv if required small fridge with payable drinks in it.could not fault the breakfast at all,both English & continental.the hotel caters for several different nationalities who mixed quite well,I suppose the main cause of consternation is the sun bed situation we got a bed every morning and we wasn’t up at stupid o’clock the hotel is very proactive and will remove towels from beds so no going for lunch,And leaving your towels on beds,making it fair for everyone.one very very small gripe there is tea & coffee making facilities in the room with several different teas available,we like breakfast tea however they do not provide milk,I’m sure you can go to the restaurant and get some,but by the time you have gone for milk you may as well have breakfast,I’m a bit embarrassed mentioning that ,because the hotel & staff are that good ,did not eat dinner at the hotel as their are plenty of good restaurants in close proximity I wish we where still there A big thank you to all the staff at the baia azul

Room Tip: Sea views are fab
Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Goldenvisions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miguel G, Front Office Manager at Baia Azul, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for staying at Baía Azul for your holidays in Madeira.
After reading carefully your review, I could imagine how happy you were on your time in Madeira, thank you for letting us be a part of it.
All we do, is to try to create memories that will last and make people remember the time they spent and trust on us.
We are busy most of the year however, be sure we do try to reach and share the feedback from our guests with the majority of our Team at Grupo Cardoso.
I wish you revisit us in the future and send our kindest regards to you and your family.

Miguel Grosse
Reception Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2018

The hotel is very nice with good facilities, most of the desk staff helpful.Negatives the pool area is small all sun beds towelled by 9.00am even though sign to not allow this ? Food definitely 3 star which was disappointing probably why breakfast room was full but evening restaurant was quite empty, bored by third day so had lunch in Italian restaurant (13 euro p/p allowance) and ate out at night in Funchal.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RogerW989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2018

What an Amazing Hotel, Fab Location! When we arrived we were presented with a glass of madeira Wine(which i thought was a nice touch)We had a room with a sea view which I would highly recommend. We were B& B & found the Breakfast to be great with lots of choice. The staff were really helpful. Would definitely recommend this Hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms with a sea view have amazing views
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank T6350QLvicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2018 via mobile

Very nice hotel, excellent location and only a 40 min walk to the centre of Funchal. The hotel breakfasts are nice with lots to choose from. The room was cleaned everyday to a high standard. The only downside is the lifts are to small and very busy around breakfast time. The swimming pool is also great for small children.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank Aaron000g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews