We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous Apartment- Highly Recommended”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Casa Pico Musica

Enjoy the view from your open air terrace over the palm trees & rooftops to the city & ocean
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Enjoy the view from your open air terrace over the palm trees & rooftops to the city & ocean
Open air covered terrace, your living room for your stay with us
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
62 reviews
Enjoy the view from your open air terrace over the palm trees & rooftops to the city & ocean
Open air covered terrace, your living room for your stay with us
Ideal spot for breakfast what ever the weather
The view from your breakfast seating area
View from your covered terrace over the old city and out over the ocean towards the Desert Islands
A bowl of welcoming fruit to enjoy during your stay
Fully fitted kitchen with window overlooking the city and the ocean
View from Kitchen out onto open air terrace
Bedroom with its own balcony and fitted wardrobe plus remote controlled ceiling fan
Wall mounted multi channel TV with assorted books to read and easy chair to relax in.
View from your bedroom balcony over the rooftops and out over Funchal and towards the mountains.
En suite area with remote controlled Velux roof light complete with mosquito screen & roller blind.
WC, bidet plus large walk in shower area.
Spiral staircase from Terrace to Courtyard garden
The spiral staircase from courtyard garden to your covered terrace
Courtyard garden, complete with Spanish Moss air plants
View towards spiral staircase from corner of courtyard
Courtyard table and chairs next to barbeque.
Traditional pebble paved courtyard with assorted sub tropical trees and climbers
Helaconias flowering in the garden
Just a few of the Orchids in flower in the courtyard garden, along with 'Spanish Moss'
Back courtyard gate which is your private access way to and from the apartment
Access the apartment via garden gate on the left from the public alleyway. The view down over city
Enjoy the view of the sea and city of Funchal from the comfort of your sofa or arm-chair
Easy seating to take in the views from the covered terrace or watch the cruise ships come and go.
Watch the coming and going of cruise ships from your terrace
View from top of spiral staircase connecting covered terrace to the courtyard garden
The Queen Mary 2 visits Funchal, seen from the open air terrace
You will be staying close by the frequently photographed view down Calcada do Pico & out to sea
Your back garden gate accesses the pebbled courtyard garden with traditional Madeiran tiled seating.
Looking back into the apartment & out over the city from your open air covered terrace
Easy seating plus café table & chairs to help you enjoy the outdoor living of Madeira.
Café table and chairs to take breakfast or dine at or simply enjoy a glass of wine and the views
You can also sit at the breakfast bar in kitchen and take in the view out onto the covered terrace
Fitted kitchen with halogen hob, microwave, toaster, coffee machine & remote controlled ceiling fan
Your kitchen window has views over the city & out to sea, easy clean black granite worktops
Your kitchen sink view over the sea, coffee maker, fridge and washing machine all to hand as well.
Looking back from your bedroom towards the kitchen & out onto covered terrace.
Remote control ceiling fan above double bed for those warm nights. Lights works on 2 way switches
Double bedroom with patio doors to small balcony with luggage store cupboard, mosquito screen fitted
Wall mounted cable TV with 120 channels, plus easy chair and mirrored wardrobe in bedroom
Luxury en-suite shower room, WC & Bidet. Auto close Velux window. Solar panel heats all hot water
Quinta das Cruzes museum & gardens are located a few minutes walk down the road from your apartment
The Pico fort (currently closed) is just around the corner from the alleyway
Another view from the local Pico Castle grounds looking towards the mountains, castle walls on right
View from the Pico Castle grounds located just above your apartment
View from local Castle looking over the city and out to sea
Flower festival in full swing
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Funchal, Madeira, Madeira Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 62 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
suziejenk...
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fabulous Apartment- Highly Recommended”
Reviewed 18 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Could write pages about this beautiful apartment and its location but sadly not enough time!
This was the first time we had visited Madeira and certainly won't be the last. Our host Michael was amazing - so helpful and interesting - gave us lots of information about the island and even took us (as he was on route) to a few places - very kind and thoughtful.
The apartment was stunning very stylish and was fitted out so well - a lot of thought to detail. The views were breathtaking looking down over Funchal and the harbour and out to sea.
The location is as far as we were concerned probably one of the best on the Island - Your neighbours are locals rather than tourists and it was good to hear the sounds of every day life. There are a few shops and bars at the top of the road (about 5 mins walk) including an amazing bakery(and cafe) and a fruit and vegetables shop (which sold other basic food items). However the apartment is situated at the top of a steep road which is manageable and there are alternate routes which are easier so not to be put off by this - however at the end of our 11 days we were sprinting up the road instead of stopping every few paces!!
As we were staying over a week Michael provided us with basic food items such as bread, milk, juice, coffee, butter a really nice bottle of wine and an amazing bowl of fruit including local fruit which we had never seen before! There were other items left by previous guests such as oil sugar, salt etc which was very
useful.

I would highly recommend this apartment and we would not consider staying anywhere else (unless full !!)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Feb 2017
Many thanks for your thoughtful and comprehensive review, always reasuring when guests say they want to stay again. Hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fionah2
Edinburgh
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great views from comfortable apartment”
Reviewed 23 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

This is a very pleasant apartment for 2 people with a great view over the bay at Funchal. It's been thoughtfully designed and equipped by Michael. As we were staying for a week he provided useful basic supplies and also a huge bowl of delicious local fruits. We loved the view from the terrace even though we had to wrap up in the the cosy fleece provided for the January evenings.
The spiral staircase up to the apartment was manageable if narrow (both over 60, one with slight mobility problems). The number 15 bus which runs roughly once an hour (but with a gap of almost 2 hours between 3pm and 4.45pm most days) is an alternative to a short but fairly steep walk from the centre.
We would certainly stay here again if we go back to Madeira again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jan 2017
Many thanks for your thoughtful review, I am sure your helpful notes and comments will be of interest to future guests. It was a pleasure to have you as guests and we look forward to possibly welcoming you back again some time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mariaK161...
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
“We couldn't have asked for better”
Reviewed 13 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Our stay at Casa Pico Musica was great. The location is amazing and the views are spectacular. We were able to experience everyday life in Madeira just like the locals: you are awoken to church bells ringing and cocks crowing and the sounds of everyday life. Michael was the perfect host. He went out of his way to make us feel at home and very welcome in beautiful Madeira. We are already missing the island life very much. This place is highly recommended.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Dec 2016
Many thanks for your kind review and pleased to know your stay with us was a memorable and pleasant experience. Thank you also for your recommendation and hope maybe we can welcome you back again. Best wishes and seasons greetings to you both.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kochanie7...
1 review
“The best place to stay in Funchal!”
Reviewed 8 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We stayed in Michael's apartment one week and we loved it!
We couldn't imagine better place to stay in Funchal.
This is a fantastic apartment with wonderful views!
Michael is a great host!He spoied us with exotic, delicious madeira's fruits and delicate wine! Moreover, he showed us the beauty of Madeira and explained us a lots of interessting things about this island. We are deeply grateful and appreciate his effort and care!
Resume:
Highly recommended!
Outstanding, stylish place with amazing terrace/patio!
Spacious and well appointed!
Excellent location!
Special garderobe!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Oct 2016
Many thanks for your kind and thoughtful review, it was equally my pleasure to have you as guests and I would love to welcome you both back some time in the future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daria K
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Comfortable, Modern Apartment with Wonderful Views”
Reviewed 30 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed for 5 nights in mid-August. Michael was away on our day of arrival, but we were greeted by his partner, who did a great job showing us around the apartment and even gifted us with a bottle of wine for our first evening.

The apartment is extremely well finished in a very modern way with some beautifully thought-out features such as the lighting in the bedroom and balcony area. The kitchen is very well equipped with all you need on a holiday. There is no oven, but there is a washing machine which is very useful for a longer stay. Ice cubes ready in the freezer on our arrival were particularly appreciated!

The balcony seating area is cool on a hot day and is a perfect place to take in the views during the day and the stunning Funchal lights in the evening or enjoy a meal.

The bathroom is well equipped and the bedroom very comfortable.

The only potential downsides to this apartment are the very steep walk down to and up from the town and the steep spiral staircase up to the apartment from the garden, which might be a problem for someone with difficulty walking.

Overall, we loved our stay and would definitely recommend this property and would visit again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Large open balcony
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Sep 2016
Many thanks for your thoughtful and thorough review, unfortunately we cannot do much about the steep walk up to and down from the apartment but have already taken note about the lack of an oven and currently looking into having a combination microwave and convection oven to replace the simple microwave. I do not think yet another electrical appliance in the kitchen would be a good idea due to loss of work surface space. Once again many thanks for taking the trouble to submit a review and pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and on Madeira
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing