We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Most Enjoyable Holiday”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Casa Pico Musica

Enjoy the view from your open air terrace over the palm trees & rooftops to the city & ocean
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Enjoy the view from your open air terrace over the palm trees & rooftops to the city & ocean
Open air covered terrace, your living room for your stay with us
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
59 reviews
Enjoy the view from your open air terrace over the palm trees & rooftops to the city & ocean
Open air covered terrace, your living room for your stay with us
Ideal spot for breakfast what ever the weather
The view from your breakfast seating area
View from your covered terrace over the old city and out over the ocean towards the Desert Islands
A bowl of welcoming fruit to enjoy during your stay
Fully fitted kitchen with window overlooking the city and the ocean
View from Kitchen out onto open air terrace
Bedroom with its own balcony and fitted wardrobe plus remote controlled ceiling fan
Wall mounted multi channel TV with assorted books to read and easy chair to relax in.
View from your bedroom balcony over the rooftops and out over Funchal and towards the mountains.
En suite area with remote controlled Velux roof light complete with mosquito screen & roller blind.
WC, bidet plus large walk in shower area.
Spiral staircase from Terrace to Courtyard garden
The spiral staircase from courtyard garden to your covered terrace
Courtyard garden, complete with Spanish Moss air plants
View towards spiral staircase from corner of courtyard
Courtyard table and chairs next to barbeque.
Traditional pebble paved courtyard with assorted sub tropical trees and climbers
Helaconias flowering in the garden
Just a few of the Orchids in flower in the courtyard garden, along with 'Spanish Moss'
Back courtyard gate which is your private access way to and from the apartment
Access the apartment via garden gate on the left from the public alleyway. The view down over city
Enjoy the view of the sea and city of Funchal from the comfort of your sofa or arm-chair
Easy seating to take in the views from the covered terrace or watch the cruise ships come and go.
Watch the coming and going of cruise ships from your terrace
View from top of spiral staircase connecting covered terrace to the courtyard garden
The Queen Mary 2 visits Funchal, seen from the open air terrace
You will be staying close by the frequently photographed view down Calcada do Pico & out to sea
Your back garden gate accesses the pebbled courtyard garden with traditional Madeiran tiled seating.
Looking back into the apartment & out over the city from your open air covered terrace
Easy seating plus café table & chairs to help you enjoy the outdoor living of Madeira.
Café table and chairs to take breakfast or dine at or simply enjoy a glass of wine and the views
You can also sit at the breakfast bar in kitchen and take in the view out onto the covered terrace
Fitted kitchen with halogen hob, microwave, toaster, coffee machine & remote controlled ceiling fan
Your kitchen window has views over the city & out to sea, easy clean black granite worktops
Your kitchen sink view over the sea, coffee maker, fridge and washing machine all to hand as well.
Looking back from your bedroom towards the kitchen & out onto covered terrace.
Remote control ceiling fan above double bed for those warm nights. Lights works on 2 way switches
Double bedroom with patio doors to small balcony with luggage store cupboard, mosquito screen fitted
Wall mounted cable TV with 120 channels, plus easy chair and mirrored wardrobe in bedroom
Luxury en-suite shower room, WC & Bidet. Auto close Velux window. Solar panel heats all hot water
Quinta das Cruzes museum & gardens are located a few minutes walk down the road from your apartment
The Pico fort (currently closed) is just around the corner from the alleyway
Another view from the local Pico Castle grounds looking towards the mountains, castle walls on right
View from the Pico Castle grounds located just above your apartment
View from local Castle looking over the city and out to sea
Flower festival in full swing
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Funchal, Madeira, Madeira Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 59 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
sallygee3...
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Most Enjoyable Holiday”
Reviewed 18 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Casa Pica Musica for 10 very enjoyable days. Michael picked us up from the airport and provided us with a variety of provisions at the apartment. He was very helpful always ready with useful information and to help if we needed it. A very comfortable apartment with amazing views to Funchal harbour and the surrounding district, which provided endless interest.

There is a private gate and a spiral stair to access the apartment. "Downtown Funchal' is a short but steep downhill walk where there is easy access to everything required. The bus service is excellent and most sightseeing can be accessed with local transport. The steep uphill walk back to the apartment can be challenging but we discovered a No15 bus which transported us a little way higher up the hill and we just had to walk down to the apartment.

At the end of our holiday Michael again transported us back to the airport making for a stress free departure.

We plan to return in the future.
We

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jan 2016
Many thanks for your kind and thoughtful review, we certainly appreciate this and are always happy to hear that our guests holiday was a memorable one. Your tip for the bus is also welcome since several people have asked about this before and of course an independent opinion is always better. Hope we can welcome you back again sometime soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianWes2...
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent apartment, splendid hospitality and great location”
Reviewed 14 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A wonderful and memorable week. The apartment is perfect for a couple or someone travelling alone. The terrace is outstanding with breathtaking views. The location may not suit anyone with mobility issues as the hill is steep and long but the effort and exercise is well rewarded on reaching the apartment.
Our first visit to Madeira was greatly enhanced by Michael's kindness and enthusiasm. We consider the holiday great value for money and would recommend it unreservedly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Wonderful views from the terrace
Liked least: Nothing of significance
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jan 2016
Thank you for your kind review, we equally enjoyed having you stay with us and are so pleased that we helped make your first visit to Madeira an enjoyable one. Hopefully we will have the chance one day to welcome you back again and maybe show you more of the beauty this island has to offer
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michaelth...
2 reviews
“Great Place”
Reviewed 11 December 2015 for a stay in September 2015

A few months have pasted since our lovely holiday in Funchal Madeira (Aug.sep 2015), we have been so busy moving house but can't get the happy memories out of our heads. We had a wonderful time and were welcomed so well by Michael he is a great host.
Nothing is too much trouble for him he leaves you to enjoy your holiday but if you need anything, a taxi driver or a tour guide he is perfect, he also has a great knowledge of the island.
The apartment was perfect, with great location and it has everything you need its home from home. Must say it has a steep walk up hill, but we'll worth it, the views are breath taking.
Close by there is so many delicious restaurants which are not expensive. Great shopping and lots of history. Beautiful walks, great weather,friendly people and the holiday was value for money. It's a must so enjoy. Thanks again michael xx

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jan 2016
Thank you very much for your very thoughtful and kind review. It is always gratifying to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay with us and that we helped to make their experience of Madeira a memorable and happy one. Hopefully we can welcome you back to the island some time in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sander v
Weert, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“So and so”
Reviewed 4 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

After finding this accomodation on Tripadvisor we booked for 11 days in July.

Michael provided a welcome package containing wine, beer, bread, cerials, milk, butter etc which was very nice!
The appartment had all the facilities we needed; good wifi connection, flat tv, nice bathroom and small kitchen.
Parking spaces enough; in front of the appartment, around the corner or at a short walking distance of 2 minutes.

However I must mention some mishaps;

1) doghair on the sheets, in the fridge, washingmachine, on the towels; Michael appologised for this and blamed the maid but try to get it sorted rightaway.
As it is the owners responsibility to check if everything is ok before arrival of guest we think is not fair to blame the maid for this and not very professional.

2) overall cleanliness was in our opion not good; dust, hairs, ant problem in the kitchen

3) builders working dowstairs; the builders made a lot of noise the first 2 days of our stay making a new (to be rented?) appartment. The other days they were on location painting, making closets or something and working on electrics (causing the shutdown of power one afternoon) and so we couldn't use the garden downstairs the full time of our stay as the builders were strolling about.

4) the smell of cat urine in the alley right at our entrance of our appartment was really disgusting, it could have been cleaned or even tried to.

5) We left at 07:30h and the owner is living downstairs but didn't bother to get out of bed to say goodbeye. And again we think that's not really proffesional.

We have visited many appartments in the past and have no high standards; the main thing we find important is cleanliness and to relax in the appartment on arrival and thus found all this very disappointing and therefore would not recommend someone to visit this appartment.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, good wifi connection
Liked least: Doghair on bed linnen, towels, kitchen, washing machine on arrival & ants
Travelling group: Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Nee.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Aug 2015
Thank you for your review, I am sorry you were so disappointed with the apartment and whilst I generally accept your criticisms I would also add that you have identified a couple that not only are surprising but slightly hard to understand.
You never mentioned the "disgusting smell" of cats which despite your assertion "nothing was done" I must dispute. I have on an almost daily basis hosed down what is after all a public alley way in a city centre(which is shared by all our neighbours and their pets) in an effort to remove the cat smell. I have even put down disinfectant, but I cannot repeatedly inspect the outside of our back gateway at night just in case a cat has visited it minutes before your return. I am sorry but if this was a real problem why did you not mention it to me at the time?
Second I am sorry if you feel my not getting up to wish you good bye at 7.30 am was unprofessional but you did infer on the note you left me the previous evening that there was no need for me to do so. When I visited you in the apartment to thank you for your note I suggested you could use the exit via our private house stairs rather than carry luggage down the spiral stairs in the morning. You thanked me for this and were happy with my offer to leave the key in the front door, so you could let your selves out. If you had wanted me to be there in the morning to wish you farewell why did you say the previous evening it was not important?
I apologise for the building works,which incidentally are not for another apartment but alterations to our own home. If you had inquired I would have been happy to discuss these with you. I did apologise upon your arrival for the fact the building works had over run and were not completed before your arrival. I was willing to discuss possible compensation for the inevitable disruption this would have to your holiday, especially with respect to using the garden, you however at the time seemed to shrug this off, so I never pursued the matter further. I am surprised you now refer to it as a reason for you not wishing to stay with us in the future?
Concerning the cleanliness I can only apologies again, we were using the apartment ourselves to stay in for over 3 weeks prior to your arrival due to the on going building works. It was a mistake to allow our dog to share the apartment area with us and if a similar event were to ever happen again the dog most certainly would be kept out. We did however attend quickly to your notification of the dog hairs etc. and purchased that day new bedding and linen to avoid any risk of similar problems with simple replacement of sheets and towels. You may not think it professional of me, but I do not normally go around the apartment after the maid has cleaned it and strip the bed to ensure the sheets are clean nor do I routinely inspect the inside of the washing machine. A fault maybe with hind sight considering the exceptional circumstances but once again something I am confident will never be repeated. We certainly have never had any similar complaints from previous clients.
One final point, I find it curious that you managed to identify all these problems but were unable to locate the light switches by the garden gate, the top of the spiral stairs and just inside the kitchen area? It was only because I realised after a few days that you were accessing the apartment by torch light that I came up and showed you all three areas are lit by separate 2 way switches.
Once again we are very sorry for the failings that you identified but to repeat if you had mentioned many of these at the time I am sure we could have resolved them amicably without the need for the low rating review you have given us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
June H
Uddingston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect apartment with a perfect view.”
Reviewed 3 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Michael picked us up at airport and made us most welcome. He was very knowledgeable on the local area, where to visit and places to eat. Welcome pack was great and saved us from rushing out on arrival to try and buy milk etc. Apartment is well equipped and was very clean and well maintained. We enjoy walking so the walk back to the apartment was always welcomed. If you don't fancy the walk I believe you can get a bus to top of hill and then walk down. We ate in a few places close to the apartment and were the only tourists. We love mixing with the locals so suited us to a tee. We enjoyed visiting Madeira and will definitely return and stay at this apartment. We would recommend this apartment if you are planning to visit Funchal. Thanks Michael see you soon.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 May 2015
Many thanks for your detailed and thoughtful review, you were also perfect guests and we would be more than happy to welcome you both back again one day. Lets hope not in the too distant future ;-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing