We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (310)
Filter reviews
310 results
Traveller rating
96
107
65
25
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
96
107
65
25
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cable car botanical gardens charming hotel toboggan run electric gates a la carte menu balconies overlooking country house tropical garden other hotels tea house no wifi in the rooms evening restaurant snack menu snooker table free shuttle service hotel courtesy bus
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 310 reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2018

We had been looking forward to our stay at Quinta do Monte since we visited the premises a year ago and were impressed by the location and the reception area which are very attractive. Old style, classic and charming at first sight. Very friendly staff at reception who do their utmost to make you feel comfortable. The problem is however on the level of the management behind the scene. The hotel pretends to be a 5* establishment. To our experience and consideration we believe this was long time ago and we would give it a 3* maximum. We were wondering all the time how the * classification is done in Funchal!? Is it by standard rating or can you never lose a star if you are not up to it anymore?
For the price we paid, (107€ p.n.through direct booking at hotel) we expect more in Madeira. The rooms are spacious, but the carpet was so dirty that we never dared moving around barefoot. During our 7 day stay, we only had 1 small piece of soap, no slippers, no bathrobe, cheap shampoos, only one armchair... we asked to have a second one put in our room, but this was not possible during the 7 days. No WIFI in the rooms, only in public area ( for a 5* hotel!!!)
The covered swimming pool which is located outside the main building is not really appealing and the interior is not clean at all. This way we did not dare using it.
The buffet served at the restaurant on weekend is a joke! 45€ pp for some food which is simply put on plates without any phantasy!! Each housewife can do better than this! After our first evening experience, we never had food there again. There is a lovely nice place on the right hand side when you get out of the cable car, where we met many of the guests from Quinta do monte and who agreed about our food experience.
The shuttle bus which they offer takes you to another hotel of the chain in the outer part of the old city which might not be too convenient for elderly people. We had a taxi on several occasions which was cheaper than the cable car for 2 people.
Our recommendation: invest into the rooms if you want to keep the charm of this old hotel!

Date of stay: April 2018
1  Thank Christiane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

We stayed there the week before Easter. And even though it is a beautiful old house with modern attachment which has all the bedrooms in it, the lack of any visible management let's it down. It is a little bit like the blind leading the blind. I stay in hotels an awful lot due to work and I have never been checked in in such a way. The welcome was a little wishy-washy, we had to sign so many things and the co-sign it. The WiFi doesn't reach to the rooms, only as far as the communal area (i.e. around reception). Any questions asked I felt like we were imposing and just getting in the way of proceedings. Don't get me wrong, after a couple of days we found a receptionist who was fabulous and wasn't afraid to share her knowledge of the area. Her name was Claudia and the hotel should count itself lucky to have someone representing their house - in absent of a Duty Manger or anything Management like - who has local knowledge, knows how to explain it, give all the information necessary for holidaymakers to find the right bus or the right Levada. Some of her colleagues had no interest in helping at all. The restaurant staff were really sweet and helpful (Marta and Flavio M were especially fantastic). The ambience in the restaurant is a little cold and stiff. A little low level background music wouldn't go amiss to help create an atmosphere. The food is fine though and it's very reasonably priced.
The pool however is a health hazard. Come on, if you have that may stars, you can afford to keep the pool area hygienic and looked after. It's not a big area. The toilet ceiling was end to end covered in mould. Cobwebs in the hall area and even the emergency exit note was covered in mould. I wouldn't cost much and make such a difference. The shower wasn't even worth going in as the door didn't shut.
As for the Bedrooms, they are nice, but dated. There is some thin brown hairy blanket and a sheet. Just not good enough. We stayed a couple of nights in one of the sister hotels - the difference like night and day. Take note Monte. Don't get me wrong, if the place shaped up and made a bit more effort on how much staff there is present and that management should put in an appearance and look after guests and let their staff be more helpful then this place will be truly amazing. It has the location, just not the care that it deserves. There's history in the place... show it off and make sure hotel staff know about it and if asked can mentioned a few bits of interesting info.
We found it a good base to explore the other side of the island and the East of the island though and it's away from the hub-bub of Funchal town.

Room tip: 2nd floor HA! - it's classed as 3rd floor but it's not and there's no lift going to it so you have to go to 3 and walk down with cases
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2018

This is advertised as a five star luxury hotel with Inspired escapes and Broadway Travel. It has standards of a three star hotel with rooms of a two star hotel standard. The location is 550 mtrs high up the mountain and is very picturesque. The common areas are dated but extremely dated. There are cable cars to take you to town which are 16 euros return. They run daily unless it is windy and are about five minutes walk but there is an extremely steep incline back to the hotel or you can catch buses in the square which are about five minutes walk way so not for the disabled or unfit persons. We had one of our party disabled so we hired a self drive bus.
Due to us having been sold a luxury hotel room, we were so dismayed and shocked when we were shown our room. Cracks on floors, bad stains on Carpet etc. Etc. Not dirty just very very old. The manageress handled the situation with great professionalism and changed our rooms to suites. We had room 418 which had a panoramic view and a queen sized bed and a lounge
We were on half board but the food was not of good standard although the a la carte menu was of high quality. There are no restaurants nearby. The roads accessing the hotel are extremely narrow and steep. This hotel is ideal for people looking for a three star hotel, like flowers and enjoy hill walking.
We would also like to praise all the staff from the cleaners to the bar staff including the tall bar,an. They all work extremely hard and are a credit to the hotel. We had a problem with one girl behind reception with her attitude but the Manageress said that she had received previous complaints about her.
The Manageress saw us to our taxi when we were leaving with an umbrella so once again we would like to thank the staff as they work hard.
Please remember that this is not a five star hotel but the staff are. Travel Agents should not sell this hotel as a five star.

Date of stay: March 2018
3  Thank joycecme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2018

The hotel was cold and unfriendly on arrival and it more or less stayed like that for the whole stay.
Staff unhelpful, unwilling to provide the bath robes, or meals on certain nights?
The staff said they didnt know how to turn the heating on, shrugging their shoulders hands in the air??

This hotel could be amazing, just need the heating turned on and the right reception staff, one complained so much saying how they hated working there and the other just insulted guests.

I am only posting on here as the hotel havent replied to any of our emails about this.

Room tip: go to another hotel
Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank landhop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2018

Spectacular location warm friendly reception staff and 5 star restaurant. We were really pleased to be staying here for a week amongst the gardens and wonderful views down to Funchal city. Every day was a treat at the hotel, the reception staff could not do enough to make our stay comfortable, enjoyable and memorable. Highly recommended for its hotel courtesy bus between other hotels in the charming group. You will not be disappointed

Room tip: All rooms have panoramic views over Funchal
Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank rogandmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews