We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful friendly value for money hotel.”
Review of Windsor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Windsor Hotel
Ranked #85 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Reviewed 19 March 2017

When I visited Madeira recently I really enjoyed my stay in the Windsor Hotel in Funchal (visited March 2017). I had a large, very clean, twin-bedded room with lashings of hot water in the en suite bathroom.

I came alone (an older lady) and was allotted room 501, which was very quiet and peaceful. It had a very good TV and perfect wifi.

I found all the hotel staff very helpful and welcoming and the other guests very friendly and keen to spend time talking. I never felt lonely and liked the roof garden with views all over Funchal; the town lit up at night when the mountain views from the roof garden were particularly spectacular.

The hotel was central and only a short walk to Funchal’s many attractions – Old Town, the City Centre, the Flower Market, the cable cars and the Atlantic Ocean etc.

I hope to return to Madeira and stay in the Windsor Hotel again, as I feel it was very good value for money and had a very happy atmosphere.

Room Tip: Mine was 501, very good and quiet and the lift worked smoothly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank SUE H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (322)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

19 - 23 of 322 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2017

This hotel is situated in a great position for all the attractions in Funchal. It is however in my opinion definitely not a 4 star hotel. It is quite noisy as there are busy roads on either side of it and a car park in the centre of it. The corridors are tiled so are also quite noisey. The rooms are ok but there is a charge for the safe and the fridge. And there are no tea or coffee making facilities. The breakfast buffet is just ok. The staff are very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for top floor rooms,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ken b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2017

This is a City centre hotel - you don't need to get a taxi or a bus , you can walk to most places . cable car station , supermarket , markets , wine tasting , restaurants , shops , snack bars - you name it , it's all a walk away .

Yep others have said it's not a new - 5 star hotel - OK but you can't compare this to new builds , It's nice , clean , friendly , with a roof top pool & bar area , has aircon ( if needed ) and if you consider that the other City centre hotels are 2 * , have no pools and are rather noisy / compared to the Windsor - then it is a 4 star in comparison.
If you want more - then go stay in the concrete jungle of new builds , there are plenty . But then you have to get taxis , busses and miss the simple pleasure of being able to walk round the old town - any time of day or night .

Be aware cobbled streets need good shoes - not flip flops.

We stayed ( a couple ) for 7 nights . Not being breakfast people we found what was on offer adequate ( some hot & lots of cold stuff ) Coffee is Ok , Tea as per usual is awfull ( like 90% hotels ). Being that there is no cows milk on the Island , it's UHT or now't but with a supermarket within 5 mins walk - Plenty of UHT on offer . We always take a travel kettle - purchased mugs 2 for E2 , so had tea when we wanted it .
We did not actually eat in the hotel but the set menu ( 3 courses ) was about E13.50 - so it's not expensive . We found 100's of restaurants within 5 /10mins walk - Indian , eastern , traditional , modern , snacky , etc and spent on average E30 ( lunch in the indian ) to E70 for 2 including wine and tip we eat out every day and snacked - we did not go into MAC's or next doors Pizza . We found the food was fresh , the menu's quite similar in the majority apart from the indian etc - the beef on skewers was good as was the sardines and calamari .

The People in the hotel do actually try hard to please ( you do just have to talk to them ) they are only people - some are of course more attentive than others - but they try. For us it was an ideal location , yes we missed a beach , but we spent time on the busses , in the cable cars , watching time slip by in the marina - met lots of very Nice people .Found the simple snacks like toasted sandwiches avail with the cocktails in the café along the promenade .We found a family run bakers in the old town alley - behind the fish market - down the street with the shoe shops - turn left - it's 75% of the way up the alley. Pastry to die for - egg custards that melt in the mouth.
We took the west of island tour - it was good fun & our guide was a real nice guy who knew so much , we even stopped to look at the different types of banana and he borrowed some from a shop to bring on board the mini bus to show us.

We had a great time & enjoyed the company of other travellers from around the world.

Room Tip: Floor five is the one below the pool - it makes it easy to get there - twin or doubles .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank c0lina1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2017

This hotel sets itself up to disappoint as it markets itself as a 4 star hotel, but is only up to a 3 star standard. The room was cramped and dated and the hotels breakfast was uninspiring. Dinner was repetitive-with tinned sardines, breaded fish (frozen?) and jelly (!!) appearing on the weeks menu 3 times. However , the front desk staff were very friendly, polite and helpful and the location was excellent

Room Tip: rooms at the back are quieter as cars make a lot of noise on the cobbled street at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 685tony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2017

Stayed at the Hotel Windsor, based in the centre of Funchal. 5 minutes walk to the centre and transport. Supermarket and shops within 2 minutes. Hotel is very clean with good facilities but not a 4 STAR in my opinion. We asked for a change of room after 2 nights of excessive noise from other selfish hotel clients. Change was easily arranged. restaurant served great food at lunchtime and in the evening. Breakfast was also substantial.
Hotel staff were 5 star. The receptionists (Elsa and Monique) were magnificent/the cleaners were very considerate and very efficient, and the waiting staff in the restaurant were very professional.
A nice setting close to all facilities.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms at the back of the hotel-away from road noise and noise from the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank chrisblanchard2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0 km away
Do Centro Hotel
Do Centro Hotel
#77 of 88 in Funchal
71 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Orquidea
Hotel Orquidea
#62 of 88 in Funchal
215 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Madeira
Hotel Madeira
#30 of 88 in Funchal
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hotel do Carmo
Hotel do Carmo
#33 of 88 in Funchal
490 reviews
0.3 km away
Se Boutique Hotel
Se Boutique Hotel
#58 of 88 in Funchal
30 reviews
1.6 km away
Madeira Regency Club
Madeira Regency Club
#45 of 88 in Funchal
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Hotel

Address: Rua das Hortas 4C, Funchal, Madeira 9050-024, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: ₹ 2,257 - ₹ 6,834 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Windsor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modernly Furnished The Hotel Offers You Comfort In A Friendly Atmosphere, Highlighted By The Quality Of Service Provided, And An Excellent Location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Windsor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel Funchal, Madeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing