We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (115)
Filter reviews
115 results
Traveller rating
30
48
27
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
30
48
27
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscentral locationcoffee machinetop floorfirst floorsitting arearestaurants and shopsbalcony overlookingclean hotelcomfortable bedold towngood sizeyogurtloungehairdryerportuguesesea
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 115 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2018 via mobile

We found this place on line and it was 1 of 3 places we were choosing from.

This place won on price, location and looks. When we arrived we were a little bemused as the hotel was a doorway between 2 shops but once inside we were transported to a very stylish 70s architectural wonder, don’t let this put you off as it was very stylish and comfortable, some rooms have a balcony and for those who don’t there’s a large rooftop sun terrace for all and with great views. Breakfast was very good if you left feeling hungry you have no one but yourself to blame!
All staff were brilliant in helping with just about everything they could.
Location wise couldn’t have been better for your right there were all the fun and action was, surrounded by cafes restaurants shops etc etc but you never felt like you where rushed! We can’t wait to come back again!
Hotel 10/10
Staff 10/10
Location 10/10

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank René Andre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2017

We stayed in a standard room, maybe we should have gone for upgrade but we didn't, There is noise from either side of the hotel as it is in the centre of town the trade off for being very central and near the cathedral. The breakfasts were well stocked and the they let me use the fridge to store my own yogurt drinks as we didn't have a fridge in the room. The towels are a bit thin but they replace these daily so it is not a big deal. On the whole you get what you pay for and we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: get a room at the front of the hotel : a lot of noise from the road @ back during the night & very early am
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gillian w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017

Hotel is in good location - shops, restaurants, old town, walk distance to the marina and promenade. Very clean and comfortable bed.

Poor Wi fi from the room and the far away parking are the only negative points.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sollymolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location to explore Funchal. It is a small very friendly family run business. Be warned the staff speak very limited English. The rooms are very basic but adequate for somewhere to sleep. The breakfast room is small but the breakfast whilst basic was lovely. If the staff weren't as friendly and helpful as they were I would not recommend this place but at €50 a night it's great value so long as you don't expect too much and it is in a great location.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank YorkshireRoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2017

Small, unpretencious, friendly place with adequate breakfast. Very well located with a reading room and panoramic balcony, the port is within easy walking distance, near bus stop as well as all of the attractions Funchal has to offer.

Stayed: April 2017
Thank Ambience I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews