We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location small hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Porto Santa Maria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Porto Santa Maria Hotel
Ranked #10 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Margate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
324 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Great location small hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012 via mobile

Just returned from a 10 day stay at this hotel and was extremely happy with it. Great location on edge of old town next to fort, much better than in the hotel district up the hill. Quiet location . We stayed for bed and breakfast and had no complaints at all on breakfast. There was a selection for any tastes. Rooms were comfy and very clean, as they were serviced every day. Sun beds a plenty even after the sad muppets have secured there positions by 7am by putting out there towels . Adult only hotel which means it is very quiet and relaxing . I would definetly go back again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank bernie680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreCaldeira, Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time reviewing our Hotel. We are glad you consider us for a next visit to Madeira. Since you only stayed on BB may I suggest that next time you try our Arsenal Restaurant also for dinner.

Best Regards,

André Caldeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,700 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,275
    349
    50
    15
    11
See reviews for
109
1,328
31
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (738)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alcester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

Our 4th visit to this fantastic hotel +island cannot recommend the hotel enough! The staff are all very friendly and nothing is too much trouble. We will be back again !

Room Tip: sea view is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 103Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreCaldeira, Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing us for the fourth time and we truly hope that your fifth visit to Porto Santa Maria will be soon!

Best Regards,

André Caldeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berwick on Tweed, Northumberland United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel, and we loved as much as the first time, if not more. Its the only holiday we have been been on where you instantly relax, the comfortable and clean rooms, the choice in the dining room, the very friendly staff, and the fact that they remembered us from the first time made us feel special. Well worth the money, and we will definately be back next year.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Margaret161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreCaldeira, Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Dear Guest,

We are very happy that you enjoyed your second as much or more than the first and we will be working that your third visit is even better! We hope to see soon.

Best Regards,

André Caldeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asse, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

Second hotel of portobay that we visited. First in Algarve now in Funchal. Breakfast is amazingly complete.
Room with seaview was each day spotless, special thanks for the woman who made each day our room so nice!. We had halfboard and althoug it is buffet formula, the food is excellent. There is also a possibility to eat à la carte and table d'hotes. A lot of choice and even local special fish was used in the buffet. We could also enjoy a special gourmetmenue on thursdayevening. Staff is very, very, very friendly en helpful. We had also Fado in the bar, local dansgroup (they invite you dance with them). Cocktals and wines are super.
Location can't be better. Just in the old town. Never had noice from this old town. We used public transport (just near the hotel) to visit the island. Local people are very friendly.
We will come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Luc V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreCaldeira, Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review! We are always happy to know that our guests had a pleasant experience while staying with us! We are also glad you enjoyed our special Thursday evening gourmet menu as well as the other dinner options. We hope that you visit us again as we will be here welcoming you back.

Best Regards,

André Caldeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

Just back from a week in this lovely hotel, wished we had booked longer, but will be back. Really good location away from the hills and concrete jungle, and a short walk to the lovely harbour and restaurants. Look at the restaurants by the water side rather than on the 'prom'. Lovely and clean room with a sea view, and excellent breakfast. Our highlight was to eat out, and the Fort is the place to go. A fabulous meal inclusive of two extra courses, not ordered, and continuous flow of wine, all for 38 euros, unbeatable!!! Will definitely be back to this hotel very soon

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NorthYorkshireElsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndreCaldeira, Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review! We hope that you visit us again and for your next visit I would suggest or Gourmet Menu on Thursday evenings. See you soon

Best Regards,

André Caldeira
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
2.6 km away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,667 reviews
3.3 km away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,922 reviews
2.0 km away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
2.6 km away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
1.9 km away
Quintinha Sao Joao
Quintinha Sao Joao
#9 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Santa Maria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Santa Maria Hotel

Property: Porto Santa Maria Hotel
Address: Avenida Mar e Comunidades Madeirenses 50 | Porto Bay, Funchal, Madeira 9004-506, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#9 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#10 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#21 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,952 - ₹ 14,273
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto Santa Maria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Porto Santa Maria lies at the water's edge in the very heart of Funchal's old centre. Its close relationship to the sea, the outstanding and exclusive views over the harbour where the cruise ships dock, its picturesque surroundings and the unique flavours of its cuisine result in genuine urban tranquility. A congenial hotel offering 146 rooms, restaurant, bars, direct access to the promenade, outdoor pool, indoor pool, SPA, gym, parking...all in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Porto Santa Maria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Santa Maria Funchal
Porto Santa Maria Hotel Funchal, Madeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing