We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Annual Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Ranked #6 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Annual Holiday”
Reviewed 22 July 2012

We spent a fortnight at the Eden Mar Hotel in May this year. This was our 18th visit to the complex - mainly staying at the Eden Mar but sometimes at Porto Mare. I think this speaks for itself - the hotel is excellent and the staff in all departments make the experience a pleasure. We hope to return next year to celebrate my husband's 80th birthday.

Kathleen Glaister
Carlisle

Room Tip: Higher floors have superb views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wisteria841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
Dear Guest,

What can be answered to your post and after 18th times in our resort???
A sincere THANK YOU to you and to so many guests like you that after so many times keep visiting us. I am really happy to learn that my team made it happen again and were able to meet your holiday expectations

See you soon,

Muito obrigado

Antonio Pais

. ..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,054
    270
    30
    7
    3
See reviews for
235
938
21
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (455)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancs
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

Had to review again as this hotel just gets better and better. This time we had a lovely 5th floor room and lovely view. Toured the gardens with Cindy staffmember who was so helpful and interesting - this was a tour organised by hotel for about an hour an d a half and was so interesting Icant wait for next year to see it all again. The grounds and plants and flowers were brilliant. Lovely party one night for premier card holders when Antonio the Manager came and spoke to everyone there which was much appreciated as we were on our own and made us feel very special. Took the courtesy bus a couple of times - always on time and nice driver. What can I say but well done once again

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Revitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Dear guest,


First off all thank you so much for your support by staying with us and secondly thank you for your rewarding review posted on tripadvisor
I am glad to know that you had another enjoyable stay and profited from the different services and facilities we do have within the Vila Porto Mare resort.

Hope to meet you again on the 4th visit to Madeira,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado.

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

My wife and I stayed here over the past fortnight and found this complex to be excellent. We stayed in a standard double room in the Eden Mar hotel, which is part of the Porto Bay Group.

The Eden Mar is with-in the same complex as The Residence (Time-share suites) and is adjoined to The Porto Mare hotel, and enjoys full use of all the facilities throughout the complex. The complex is a 30 - 40 min walk from Funchal Old Town, but is right in the hub of the Lido area right amongst a host of excellent bars and restaurants.

The complex has several bars with evening entertainment, and has numerous pools, including kids pools, a Spa with indoor pool that has an outdoor portion, games area and gym. All the outdoor pools are within manicured landscaped gardens and there are ample loungers and parasols. There is a kids play area, crazy golf and boules area too.

Breakfast is served in 2 main restaurants and is buffet style, with a host of fruit, salads, continental breads & croissant, cheeses, and cooked meats/eggs/omelettes. The chefs also occasionally do specials such as crepe suzette. Mmmmm.

We only dined in at the hotel on 3 occasions - 2 being buffet evening meals and one a BBQ at the Veranda poolside bar area. All were of good quality, especially the BBQ.

If I think hard the only criticism I can find about the whole complex is, the morning coffee can be a bit bitter, but they do provide hot water and sachets of Nescafe too. (Only found that out on the last day.)

The room we had was well appointed and spacious. It had a massive double bed, an ensuite bath/shower, bidet, toilet with twin marble topped sink, a kitchenette area with 2 ring electric hob, full size fridge/freezer, and a microwave cooker. There was a dining table with 4 chairs and a 2 seat soft, which I believe was a pullout bed too. There was ample hanging space with plenty of hangers and the other wardrobe housed shelves, drawers and the safe. (Charge for safe 10.00 p/w with 20.00 refundable deposit.) The room was made up early each day with the sheets being changed more often than we asked for.

We found that the sun loungers at the Eden Mar pool booked up much less quickly than those around the pool at Porto Mare, probably because it is the smaller pool and is further from the Veranda bar/restaurant. It is also quieter at the Eden Mar pool, with no piped music.

We booked out late on our leaving day, but having to vacate the room by 12:00 was no problem as we still had full use of the pools, Spa changing/showering area, etc.

The deal we got on room prices meant the Eden Mar was slightly cheaper than the Porto Mare, thus for us it was a simple choice, which more than exceeded our expectations. A truly fantastic holiday location.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor as the landscaping & trees etc can block the view for lower rooms. Eden Ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Barry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Dear guest,


Thank you for the “excellent” review posted on tripadvisor about your holidays at Eden Mar. Also take the opportunity to thank you for such a comprehensive description of our facilities and services I would not do better!
I took good note of your thoughts about the coffee and see what we can do to improve the taste.


Sincerely hope to meet you soon,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado.

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

This was our first visit to Funchal and we chose this hotel based on the Tripadvisor reviews and we were not disappointed. This hotel was stunning and the staff so welcoming and friendly.
Our room was 1534 and classed as a superior/seaview studio. This was on the 5th floor of the hotel in the corner of the building. There was a huge double bed, cooking facilities, a large fridge, plenty of room and a good sized balcony to relax on at the end of the day. The only minor gripe would be the use of shower curtains in the bathroom - why do they always blow in on you when you are trying to shower whether the door is closed or not.
Besides that the place was spotless, though the outdoor staff had to contend with falling ash from a horrendous fire in the hills above the old town. They did an exceptional job.
I don't know what else we can add to the comments that other positive reviewers have said except as someone who likes gardening the landscaping of the grounds of the whole complex was beautiful, it wasn't just concrete with loads of loungers around the pools. Plus they labelled the various plants and trees so that you knew what they were if like me you were interested.

Room Tip: The hotel is not right on the waters edge so to get a view of the sea if that's what you prefer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hxdirect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
Dear Guest,

First of all my apologies for the late feedback to your “wow” post on tripadvisor about Eden Mar hotel its facilities and services.

Secondly I really thank you for your support and sincerely hope to see you around soon,

Warm regards

Muito obrigado

Antonio Pais

. ..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

The Hotel provides a great location for families visiting Madeira, it has super facilities including 5 pools, lots of evening entertainment and a delicious weekly BBQ on a Thursday. You'd be hard pressed to find a hotel that gives you better value for money. Highly reccommended, we'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ski1080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Dear guest,


Just a short note to thank you for the very positive review sent to tripadvisor about your holiday experience at Eden Mar

Muito obrigado and hope to see you around soon,


Warm regards,

Muito obrigado.

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.5 km away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 86 in Funchal
2,855 reviews
0.1 km away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 86 in Funchal
2,037 reviews
0.1 km away
The Residence
The Residence
#8 of 86 in Funchal
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
1.3 km away
Pestana Grand
Pestana Grand
#16 of 86 in Funchal
1,885 reviews
1.1 km away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#29 of 86 in Funchal
2,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suite Hotel Eden Mar? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suite Hotel Eden Mar

Property: Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Address: Rua Gorgulho 2 | Porto Bay, Funchal, Madeira 9004-537, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#6 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#8 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#10 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,905 - ₹ 29,194
Hotel Class:4 star — Suite Hotel Eden Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Divided into studios, superior studios, junior suites and suites, this four star hotel's 146 spacious rooms have been redecorated with textiles in warm pastel colours, completely new furniture and LCD televisions. The kitchenettes have been completely renovated and are equipped with a stove, fridge and microwave oven. The Suite Hotel Eden Mar belongs to the Vila Porto Mare resort, and shares facilities which are also common to other outlets – Hotel Porto Mare and The Residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Suite Hotel Eden Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suite Hotel Funchal
Eden Mar Madeira
Suite Hotel Eden Mar Funchal, Madeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing