We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Short stay in Madeira”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Ranked #8 of 87 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Short stay in Madeira”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Picked the Eden Mar based on other reviews and have to say that the Eden Mar lived up to expectations. We had a suite on the top floor, very spacious, very clean, Very comfortable (huge bed). The hotel itself was really nice and all staff very helpful and friendly. Excellent facilities and very nice menus (we went room only however, but did eat in the hotel a couple of times). The atmosphere of the hotel was also really nice and friendly. We did have an issue with a noisy air con fan in the roof but this was dealt with immediately by the staff - i think this shows that they really do want you to enjoy your stay at the hotel. Overall, i would recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in Madeira.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms seem less private as people wandering around can look in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Just a short note to thank you for your opinion about your first holiday experience at Eden Mar.

I am happy to learn that you had a positive first visit and also to know that we were able to find a solution for the problem occurred.

Hope to meet you in a futures visit to Madeira.

Warm regards,

Muito Obrigado

Antonio Pais

. ..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,017
    270
    30
    7
    3
See reviews for
231
910
20
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (437)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

We have just returned from a fantasic week at the Eden Mar. My husband and I had our honeymoon in Madiera 21 years ago. We stayed then at the Calton Hotel, which popped into to have a little look. So pleased we tried a different hotel this time.
We cannot fault the staff, food or facilities at the Eden Mar. When we first arrived we were greeted by a very friendly and helpful receptionist (Cecilia). Nothing was too much trouble and she explained everything about the hotel in detail.
We had a Junior Suite on the 3rd floor which was spacious and clean. We had the sun on our balcony from 2.30 onwards, which was lovely following our return from our daily walk. (We always had too much food at breakfast)
We stayed half board and ate in the buffet restaurant every night. The food was different each night and prepared to a different theme.
Madeira is a wonderful island and we would recommend staying at the Eden Mar.
Thank you to all the staff for adding more memories and we will return, but this time much sooner!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PhilpK71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Thank you for sharing your opinion with so many other holiday makers.

Also thank you for let us know that you had a good time in Madeira and did get advantages of the different services & facilities of our resort.

Please do not wait another 21 years to come back and if you decide to visit us soon do not hesitate to contact us for anything your might need.

With Warm regards,

Muito Obrigado

Antonio Pais

. ..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham Wales
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

This is the third time we've stayed here and fourth at a porto bay hotel. It was immaculate, the staff very friendly yet efficient and the food and entertainment were excellent. I really enjoyed my wide variety of cocktails and really can't recommend madeira or this hotel enough.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lizzieWrexhamWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your support by staying in the Port Bay hotels and thank you in particular for your post about your holidays at Eden Mar.

After your post Eden Mar hotel managed to get the 3rd position on the tripadvisor ranking, among so many beautiful hotels in Madeira.

I wrote a message to my team saying that even if this position is valid only for one day, that they should be very proud of their achievement as this is one of the best public recognition they could ever receive.

Thank you to all of you who contributed with so many comments shared with such a vast audience.

MUITO OBRIGADO

See you soon,
Antonio Pais

. ..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

We have stayed in this hotel complex 8 times now and the quality of service, the rooms and facilities and the food has always been first rate. We are welcomed back like old friends by the staff who are very helpful - nothing is too much trouble, even answering a lot of questions we have about life and work in Madeira.

The Atlantida restaurant offers one of the most sumptuous buffets for breakfast and dinner that I have experienced. The variety is huge and the range is different every night of the week. The waiters and the restaurant manager, Alexandre, provide an excellent and very friendly and personal service.

The Eden Mar is part of a complex which all share very nicely landscaped grounds with lush planting around a series of outdoor and indoor pools. The grounds are meticulously maintained and most of the plants are well labelled for those that like horticulture. The grounds and all the rooms look out over the sea although the hotel does not sit right on the shore but above a public Lido which cannot be seen from the hotel. Sea swimming is not a major part of a holiday in Madeira so this is of little consequence.

The Eden Mar is about 1.5 miles from the centre of Funchal but operates a courtesy bus to take you there if you do not want to make the pleasant walk. Taxis are plentiful and reasonable. There are shops nearby and a good sized supermarket lie below the hotel.

We always rent a car and the hotel has a parking garage as well as an open parking area. Use the garage in preference since the parking bays outside are very tight and it is easy to suffer a dent or scratch.

Finally it is easy to get onto the motorway system from the hotel and with the new roads and tunnels that have been built with EU money over the last 10 years every part of the island is withing easy reach. The walking is superb but you do need a head for heights if you walk the many levadas!

Room Tip: Some of the rooms can be a bit shady so ask for one with a westerly aspect
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Dear Guest,

First off all THANK YO so much for your continuing support by staying with us so many times.

Also thank you for the public praise of Alexander “The Great” and his team. He will be very proud of your words.

Hope to see you soon for the 9th visit to Madeira.
With warm regards,

Muito Obrigado

Antonio Pais

. ..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

We have come back from our 4th stay in the Eden Mar. It's fabulously spacious with a large undulating outdoor pool surrounded by subtropical gardens. There's also two indoor pools, one for pottering about in, that has a small outdoor bit that you can swim into, and another lane pool for doing lengths in. What I like about the hotel is good service with a complete lack of snootiness. The staff are friendly and helpful, receptionists, pool staff, waiting staff. I have asthma and one time I was there the receptionist unlocked the laundry cupboard in the evening to let me find a non-feather pillow. There seemed to be a new person in charge of entertainments. This was always the one thing I liked least about the hotel before, but this time the evening entertainment was great - local singers, a Blues band, a traditional music and dance troop made up of locals of all ages singers who ended up getting the audience up to join them at the end of their performance. The whole place had a feel of energy about it in the evening which had been missing before. I like to go to local independent places to eat and drink as well, but it's also great to see a larger organisation doing something so well.
And it's quiet at night - any entertainment that has any carrying sound is done by 11.00. Rooms are spacious, too. And it's some way from the centre of Funchal (though we walked it several times) but there's a good daytime courtesy bus and taxis are not expensive (and much in need of the trade).

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoniopais, General Manager at Suite Hotel Eden Mar, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review about Eden and your 4th visit to Madeira.
It is rewarding to know that overall you have had such a positive holiday and also thank you for your nice words about the entertainment as it is one of the points so difficult to get it right…I will be pleased to share your thought with my entertainment team.

Really hope to see you soon,

With warm regards,

Muito Obrigado

Antonio Pais

. ..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.5 km away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,712 reviews
0.1 km away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,952 reviews
0.1 km away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 87 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
1.3 km away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#16 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,805 reviews
0.8 km away
Madeira Regency Cliff
Madeira Regency Cliff
#12 of 87 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suite Hotel Eden Mar? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suite Hotel Eden Mar

Property: Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Address: Rua Gorgulho 2 | Porto Bay, Funchal, Madeira 9004-537, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#8 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#8 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#10 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,811 - ₹ 69,086
Hotel Class:4 star — Suite Hotel Eden Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Divided into studios, superior studios, junior suites and suites, this four star hotel's 146 spacious rooms have been redecorated with textiles in warm pastel colours, completely new furniture and LCD televisions. The kitchenettes have been completely renovated and are equipped with a stove, fridge and microwave oven. The Suite Hotel Eden Mar belongs to the Vila Porto Mare resort, and shares facilities which are also common to other outlets – Hotel Porto Mare and The Residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Suite Hotel Eden Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suite Hotel Funchal
Eden Mar Madeira
Suite Hotel Eden Mar Funchal, Madeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing