We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Spacious well equipped apartment in central...”
other travellers have booked this property
Pool area view from the terrace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool area view from the terrace
Terrace view out to sea Sealy posturepedic 3 feet wide beds
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
16 reviews
Pool area view from the terrace
Terrace view out to sea
Sealy posturepedic 3 feet wide beds
We have a new flatscreen TV now, that is much bigger then the one in the picture
This is the kitchen and has a separate and good size utility
View from kitchen window when the blinds are open
The pool area gets the sun most of the day
The old town - only a few minutes walk from the apartment
Terrace view across the city
This is the marina at sundown. 8.30pm on a July evening and within a downhill walk of the apartment
The old town has been given an artistic facelift and works of art are everywhere
You've got to try the street toboggans - Funchal is the only place in the world for this
Dining out is a total pleasure in terms of scenary, gastronomy & friendly service
The sea is calm most of the year so whale watching and fishing is great
Island of flowers
Make to visit Blandy's, the famous Madeira wine maker
Everywhere in Madeira is beautifully tended
The shopping is good in Funchal with several malls and great street shopping
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Funchal, Madeira, Madeira Islands

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
stephen70
Peterhead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Spacious well equipped apartment in central Funchal”
Reviewed 21 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This was our first visit to Madeira which we found very relaxing with friendly helpful people and beautiful scenery. The weather was quite good with some sunshine and only a few showers. It had snowed the week previous to our arrival and could be seen on the mountain tops from Funchal promenade.

The apartment itself is very spacious for two people. The lounge/dining room is much bigger than it appears to be in the photographs. Large patio windows give the room a very airy feeling and provide views over the town to the harbour. The kitchen is well equipped with a utility room off it providing washing machine and tumble drier. The bedroom is also spacious with built in wardrobes providing plenty of storage space. A large balcony runs along the front of the apartment accessed from either lounge or bedroom. A table and two chairs are provided and we took advantage of these on many occasions for outdoor dining and drinks. It overlooks the swimming pool, nobody used it whilst we were there as the water too cold. The gardens are attractive and well maintained.

As in multi occupancy buildings there is some noise of closing doors and comings and goings. However we usually retired for the night around eleven o'clock and were never disturbed by any noise. At some time during the day the local dogs will decide to have a barking competition.

There is a large supermarket about five minutes walk away. The local bus station and cable car to go up to Monte are about ten minutes walk. If you visit Madeira sooner or later you will have to walk up a hill, even the promenade past the Lido has a hill. The approach to the apartment from the main road is a quite vertical 150 yards. We found it easier to use the 65 shallow steps to the right of the road at the bottom of the hill, this also kept out of the way of the traffic speeding down the hill. We did not hire a car and used buses which go to most places of interest.

We had a brilliant holiday in Madeira, thank you Karen your apartment deserves five stars.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jun 2016
Hi Stephen,
Thank-you you so much for your positive feedback and we're really glad you had such an enjoyable time :-)
Kind regards
Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanroc7
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“An amazing place and wonderful people”
Reviewed 10 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

I had a great time. The accommodation was everything I hoped it would be - clean, close to the centre, quiet, spacious, safe. I will come back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Everything.
Liked least: A few days of rain
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
85graham
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent, everything we hoped it would be”
Reviewed 18 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Excellent location just 5-10 minutes away from the old town and its restaurants , supermarkets are close by.
The apartment itself was great ,spacious and everything we needed was there. We spent lots of time on the balcony which overlooked the swimming pool and gardens, there's also a lovely view of the harbour and the city which we enjoyed along with a glass of wine on several occasions.
We got lost when making our way to the apartment in our hire car but made a phone call to Joao and he came and found us and escorted us to the apartment and its underground car park. He then showed us around the apartment and informed us of everything we needed to know.
All in all a great experience and wouldn't hesitate to book again

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Triona C
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous flat in a wonderful location”
Reviewed 31 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013
3
people found this review helpful

The pickup by Joao made for a simple start to our holiday.
The accommodation was ideal – so roomy for the two of us and with wonderful views.
The location was absolutely perfect – right in the middle of things. We felt so lucky when we met people who were all at hotels on the other side of Funchal and had to catch buses and taxis everywhere.
The owner was extremely helpful and flexible about our leaving time. It was so helpful to be able to keep our bags at the flat on our final Friday and it made a big difference to how we were able to enjoy our last day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Walking up the steep hill back to the property at the end of the day
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Oct 2014
Thank-you so much for your lovely feedback. We are delighted you had a great holiday and were so comfortable in the apartment. Please do stay with us again and we would be happy to give you a discount as return guests :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ingleby Barwick
Reviewed 16 October 2012 for a stay in October 2012
3
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Size of apartment
Liked least: Location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
27 Dec 2012
Very few apartments in Madeira have airconditioning due to the mild temperatures. These guests did not request airconditioning nor do we advertise that we have it. I understand they had a problem with mosquitos bites & wanted to keep all windows & doors closed, hence calling us in Hong Kong to request we buy them them a fan. We have never encountered mosquito problems there & nor have our neighbours, so this was an unfortunate one off. Without exception all our guests have been gracious & generous with their positive comments, so it is a disappointment that our good feedback has been tarnished due to someone's mosquito bites. This is a semi-tropical island & mosquitos & insects are a normal part of the flora & fauna . Anyone wanting to sit indoors all day, to avoid this, may be better off choosing a hotel or staying in England to holiday. Our apartment is lovely & airy and is on the first floor, so mosquitos have never been an issue for the 6 years we have owned the property.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing