We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
A good tour to see the quieter parts of the island

Hugo was our guide and with nobody else booking that day it was effectively a private tour for... read more

Reviewed 6 October 2018
Andrew H
,
Basingstoke
Lovely day trip and good bird watching

Hugo and Catarina collected us from our hotel and we were soon on our way to the drizzly north of... read more

Reviewed 25 July 2018
SuRoffey
,
Englefield Green, United Kingdom
Read all 83 reviews
  
Reviews (83)
Filter reviews
73 results
Traveller rating
63
7
1
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
63
7
1
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bird watching natural history laurel forest swimming with dolphins partridge full day tour endemic species private tour day trip birders catalina hugo knowledge habitat warblers cetaceans endemics
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 73 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2018

Hugo was our guide and with nobody else booking that day it was effectively a private tour for myself, a birder, and my wife who had a more general interest in seeing the island. The two endemics were the first targets and seen as expected, the little firecrest proving quite bold and coming close enough to photograph. Birds generally are a little sparse on Madeira, but we found about 25 species in total, my favourite was Berthelot's Pipit which showed no fear of us and provided me the best pictures. Other items of interest were the fungi and lichens in the laurel forest, spiders and grasshoppers on the coastal headland. Hugo was happy to discuss many aspects of the island, its wildlife and also the software industry that we both work in. A really relaxed and enjoyable day around the winding island roads.

Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2018

Hugo and Catarina collected us from our hotel and we were soon on our way to the drizzly north of the island, but endemic pigeons spotted, and soon on our way to the sunnier side of the island. We then ticked off all the birds we had hoped to see, with some nice stops and short walks along the way. I would recommend the day trip to anyone interested in birding and Hugo and Catarina are very knowledgeable birders , it is also a very enjoyable way to see the island

Thank SuRoffey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018

We went on both a full day birding and morning sea trip. The birding was excellent despite some inclement weather. Hugo and Caterina know where the birds are and how to find them. The sea trip was not quite as good and please remember they have a small boat and therefore do not go out very far. Definitely to be recommended however and I would go back later in the season for more sea birds

Thank David_Cambridge_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2018

Hugo and Catarina collected us from our hotel and we were soon on our way to the north of the island. Unfortunately the weather was very windy and wet here. However Catarina found us the endemic pigeon before a complete change of route, back south then circling back in the hope of improving weather. This flexibility meant that with several stops, and short walks we were able to see all the target species. Another half day trip meant that we saw more birds and had further sightings of the endemics. For any one interested in birds these trips are highly recommended.

Thank mousebirdEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Great day being shown endemic birds and parts of the island we wouldn't have been able to get to without a car. Catarina and Hugo are knowledgeable birders and naturalists and got us great views of the endemic birds and specialities that Madeira has to offer. Well worth doing if you want a good introduction to the island and what it has to offer, we did the full day tour.

Thank kerrys334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2018 via mobile

Managed to see both endemic species, Laurel pigeon and Madeira Firecrest. The Spectacled Warbler showed well and I have not seen one for a few years.
Catering is very knowledgable and an excellent guide.

Thank siralex1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2018

A half day trip searching for the endemic Bird species of Madeira, picked up on time in a spacious minibusonly 4 of us on board.

Hugo and Catriana were friendly and knowledgeable and we found the target birds as hoped for but never guaranteed, ( as someone who leads natural history events I know you never promise)

Well worth the 30€ each

Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2018

This was the one trip my Dad fancied so quick email conversation with Catarina and I had him booked on a half day's birdwatch. He thoroughly enjoyed the time out and it was great that he was picked up from the hotel and returned within the charge which took in several locations for a selection of birds.

Thank Lorna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2018

Ok it was a windy day in January, however they do advertise that you will see lots of Madeira resident birds and various others. In a half day trip we saw a few that we could have seen at home - including red-legged partridges that we see every day in our garden in England, blackbirds and chaffinches (ok slighty different to our English variety but not by much and this was in a local park,) some local firecrests (very fast movers and difficult to discern amongst shadowy branches) spectacled warblers and atlantic canaries. On a sluggish watercourse we did see some Muscovy ducks, a pintail and, really exciting, coots and a moorhen! Sorry but we were quite disappointed with this trip and cannot recommend it

Thank Allan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2017

We had a great day on the Madeira Wind bird watching tour. We are novice birders and Catarina did a great job finding birds, explaining habitat, flora, climate and everything else as we toured.

The lunch and scenery were wonderful too and their van is modern, clean and comfortable.

We will be back next year for one of their tours.

1  Thank Jay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews