We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect location for a honeymoon”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Villa Firdaus

Villa Firdaus view of garden and deck
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa Firdaus view of garden and deck
Main double bedroom Second family bathroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
53 reviews
Villa Firdaus view of garden and deck
Main double bedroom
Second family bathroom
Lounge
Open-plan Kitchen
Dinning room
Main ensuite bathroom
Second double bedroom
Third twin bedroom
Driveway with secure parking
Garden
Outside wooden deck and front door
Deck and garden
View from Balcony
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Funchal, Madeira, Madeira Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 53 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Lucy B
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect location for a honeymoon”
Reviewed 24 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

The villa is in a great location, Sao martinho, it was a great base for exploring the island, there is a local supermarket and it is well serviced by buses too (although we hired a car).

The gardens are amazing, ithe villa is beautifully set and has an absolutely stunning garden to the rear, where we spent many afternoons sitting on the terrace drinking ice tea, looking out over Funchal and and admiring the view,. The entrance is equally as stunning with an amazing night blossoming tree which makes returning to the villa in the evening even better.

The villa itself was everything we needed, it was like a home away from home and we settled in very quickly. The rooms are spacious and cool and there was everything we needed to get started.

The kitchen was huge and we used it frequently, it was a saving grace for a fussy vegetarian and being able to prepare our own food was a huge plus.

The living room was nice and cosy with plenty of seating and a TV with cable so you can chill out and relax after a busy day.

There are two bathrooms but we mainly used the ensuite, it is lovely (great tiles) and the shower is pretty good too. There are three spacious bedrooms, although we only used the master, we're already planning a return with family, there's more than enough room for it,

The best thing about the villa though was Joao (and his lovely family who covered his holiday), they were so welcoming and accommodating they really made our trip that bit more special than a hotel.

Joao was super knowledgable and manages the property and communication with the owner was great.

Overall, we had a fab time, and we're already missing the villa. We are glad we picked Madeira and villa firdaus for our honeymoon we couldn't have went anywhere better. A great two weeks!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, the gardens, the homely feel, the management.
Liked least: As with all rental there are a few scuffs on the walls but that's me being super critical.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lolly6020...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely Villa”
Reviewed 14 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

I stayed in the villa with my husband for a month for both Christmas and New Year celebrations, we were joined by two adult sons for part of the holiday. We very much enjoyed the beautiful spacious villa, which is much larger than I imagined from the photos. The garden is lovely, and there are sea views from the covered terrace, where we spent time sunbathing, and having breakfast on the bright sunny mornings. The villa is perfectly placed for trips to other parts of the island, and a 5 min drive into Funchal, or bus ( which we didn't use ) but is a regular service we were told. There is a good bakery, supermarket, chemist etc a short walk up the hill, or a couple of mins drive. All in all a memorable experience we would recommend. Joao, the caretaker is an excellent, kind host, who is available for any questions, and the weekly cleaner does a thorough job, both were very much appreciated. We would love to stay again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The villa and garden were beautiful and very spacious, also well equipped.
Liked least: Would make a very peaceful retreat, but there are a few barking dogs in the area, although this seems to be normal on the island
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aquilla B
1 review
“Pleasant and Peaceful”
Reviewed 7 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

The Villa is located in a good area, only a few minutes walk from a supermarket and bakery which we used a lot. The Villa was in good condition overall however the only issue was that the twin room had a slightly musty smell. The On-site manager Joao was very helpful throughout our stay and definitely made things easier for us in terms of getting around the island. Would definitely recommend to anyone wanting to visit Madeira, especially as it is close to the capital Funchal.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Musty twin room
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosalind...
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Firdaus a real piece of Paradise”
Reviewed 10 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Twelve wonderful days back in Maderia , we found ourselves staying in a beautiful villa surrounded by lovely gardens in a quite residential area but within ten minutes walk to all the facilities you need, it made this stay on the Island very special.

Joao was always ready to answer any questions on any thing from plants in the garden to
buses to get to Funchal , Thank you Joao.

I have no hesitation recommending this villa to any of my family or friends and one day maybe we will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The ambience and views over the garden and out towards the coast and mountains.
Liked least: Nothing, there is nothing to dislike.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thenotsoo...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb house in great location”
Reviewed 6 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a week at Villa Firdaus and were very sad to leave. The villa is finished to an extremely high standard and has everything you could need for a self catering holiday. The kitchen is huge, with all the utensils you could ever want. The bedrooms are large and comfortable, with a very luxurious en-suite in the master bedroom. The living room is pleasant and there is a lovely terrace with table and chairs and views of Funchal.

There is a bus stop very close by, so it's easy to get into town. It is possible to walk in to the main town, but it will take about 45 mins or so. Walking back is a little harder as it is very steep (like much of Madeira). We bought a week bus pass, which made life really easy.

The caretaker for the property, Joao, lives in the flat underneath the villa, so if you do have any problems he's on hand to help. He's a really nice guy and even gave us a lift into town when he saw us waiting at the bus stop.

The location of the property is also really quiet, so if you'd prefer to be away from the bustle of the centre then this could be ideal for you.

I would happily stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely comfortable property
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing