We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food at the right price”

O Chefe Steakhouse and Sea Basket
Reserve with
O Chefe Steakhouse and Sea Basket is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #18 of 606 Restaurants in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 3 - US$ 17
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, View, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Daventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Good food at the right price”
Reviewed 25 May 2012

This restuarant is relatively cheap but the food is always excellent. Whist not the most glamorous of venues you are sure of a warm welcome and the owner speaks excellent English.Good varied menu.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank dennis6611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

612 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    415
    140
    41
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Fab...u....lous & steak on a stone a must!”
Reviewed 24 May 2012

I read about this restaurant on trip advisor and also read that we must try the steak on the stone. We did and it was amazing. We had no idea what to expect and advised the waiter he did not ask us how we wanted the steak cooked? He promptly advised that it was because it came on the stone raw, and we cooked it to our own requirements. Result! The steak was amazing and it came with 3 different sauces, and choice of french fries or jacket potatoe x 2 and a gorgeous salad. The service was great too. It was so good that we went back again but tried different things which were equally as good. Between this and Casa Italia I dont think we have ever found such good restaurants in resort. Do go along and please try the steak on the stone. I wish somebody did it here.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank carolesea56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful steak”
Reviewed 21 May 2012

First time and will not be the last, we had fillet steak on a stone, very novel and what fun, the staff were so friendly, very busy so you must book price good as well

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank surreyBrenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“An absolute pleasure”
Reviewed 12 May 2012

Mrs linnite and I thoroughly enjoyed dining either at O Chefe Steak House or the original O Chefe restaurant on a daily basis during our recent two week holiday to Funchal.

Delicious meals are all freshly prepared and cooked to order (if you enjoy food with a kick, steak with piri-piri is heavenly). Desserts are home made and tasty.

Staff are all very welcoming and friendly.

I highly recommend both of these restaurants and it will be the first place we head for on our next visit.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank linnite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent as usual”
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Visited both O Chefe & O Chefe Steak Restaurant on numerous occasions during our most recent holiday to Funchal.

Food is still first rate as is service.

Yet again, i have no hesitations in recommending both of these restaurants.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank makadeejay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed O Chefe Steakhouse and Sea Basket also viewed

Funchal, Madeira
 

Been to O Chefe Steakhouse and Sea Basket? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing