We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly pleasant”

Restaurante Ca Te Espero
Reserve with
Restaurante Ca Te Espero is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #130 of 716 Restaurants in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 12 - US$ 29
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Ca te Espero is a typical restaurant with a long tradition. It has been known for its quality and for its cosy and homy atmosphere, since 1976.Our food quality is the result of the use of fresh ingredients in the preparation and cooking of our traditional recipes. We point out Bife de Atum com Milho Frito (Tuna fish Steak with fried Maize), Filete de Espada com Banana (Fried Scabbard fish with Banana), Pepper Steak and Pork Fillet Ca te Espero Style.We will be very pleased to welcome you!
Reviewed 8 September 2017

We dined here once during our stay and we had a lovely meal and the staff where very pleasant. The outside area where we ate was very nice and had a lovely feeling when all the tables where full

1  Thank Bellevue5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick_De_Smedt, Guest Relations Manager at Restaurante Ca Te Espero, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

Thank you very much for your comment. We love to see you back on your next hollidays

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (479)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

46 - 50 of 479 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2017

Despite this being our 5th visit to Madeira it was a first visit to this lovely restaurant. How have we missed it? It is up from the main avenue that has most of the hotels but is a little jewel. We sat out on the terrace that overlooks the usually fairly quiet road under a large mango tree. We were warned that as all the food was freshly prepared when ordered " We don't have frozen things sir"!! the wait might be a little longer than we would be used to. There was no problem and when the food arrived, pork chops for my wife and pepper steak for me, it was delicious.
There was a fairly large group of locals eating here which we feel is always a good sign and I'm sure they enjoyed their meal just as much as we did.
This is certainly is on our "go to" list next time we are on the island.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Riviman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick_De_Smedt, Guest Relations Manager at Restaurante Ca Te Espero, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2017

Thank you for your hartwarming comment. Indeed we do not like freezers, freezers are for the ice cream.
It is very correct to say that it takes a little while before you get your meal. It is because we do not pre-prepare the food. Everything is prepared and cooked at the moment because we use only fresh ingredients.
Hope to see you again next time when you are in Madeira.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017

First the food: Simple, tasty well cooked food. Pick the right dishes and you'll be well rewarded. I'm not a massive fan of fish but really enjoyed the grilled salmon and Dourada, while my wife liked the cod. We also enjoyed the Espetada, (steak on a skewer), with lovely large chunks off well seasoned beef served theatrically at you table. As for dessert, I liked the orange cake whist my wife raved over the pears in red wine.

The location: Convenient locality to our nearby hotel, with a calm and relaxed atmosphere compared to the busy nearby main drag where they packed you in. Lovely upstairs outdoor terraced seating area, (although it did get noisy from the road from time to time). Sat under a beautiful mango tree. In fact on one occasion one fell off which we were given to eat and very sweet it was too!

The service: We got to know Diogo, (who speaks perfect English), and his less able Madeiran colleague, Rui well. Both were eager to please. Service could be a big patchy at times, but we enjoyed their conversation and engaging personalities which kept us entertained. Rui was a little inexperienced but tried his best, while Diogo was all flamboyance. The manager was the serious one keeping everything professional.

Conclusion: You could easily miss this place but you'd be missing out if you do. We went there most nights as we enjoyed the food, atmosphere and service. It was good value too. Give it a go - you won't regret It!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank bigphilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick_De_Smedt, Guest Relations Manager at Restaurante Ca Te Espero, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Thank you very much for your wonderful comment.
As from now on we also have live music on friday nights.
Hope to see you again in Madeira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017 via mobile

We came to Ca Te Espero due to all the positive reviews and we weren't disappointed. A lovely friendly waiter suggested we eat on the terrace which although next to a main-ish road was great for people watching. The menu contained many of the dishes you'd expect in Madeira and we opted for pork on the spit. It came with sides of our choosing; fried maize and salad. It was so juicy and tender and enhanced with a garlic butter drizzled over it. We then had the pears poached in red wine - OMG they were to die for! Beautifully soft with the creamiest vanilla ice cream. The complimentary sweet Madeira wine accompanied it perfectly. Don't be put off by the restaurant being quiet, the basic menu or the busy street, this restaurant is absolutely worth a visit or two. We'll certainly be back!

1  Thank Jackie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick_De_Smedt, Guest Relations Manager at Restaurante Ca Te Espero, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

Thank you very much for your lovely comment.
About the busy street: the main road, wich is parallel to our street, was closed for roadworks so all that traffic had to come along the restaurant.
These roadworks are ended and now it's much quieter.
we will love to have you back in our restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

Another excellent evening at this restaurant, food and service both good. Can recommend the fish and the Pepper Steak .

We booked a table via The Fork, many weeks in advance, as there were 6 in our group. When we arrived could tell that there wasn’t a table ready for us. Nonetheless the staff quickly arranged some tables and we had had excellent evening.

A few days later we decided to return, this time we just walked in, and had another very good meal.

We mentioned our previous visit a few nights previous. Our server remembered us and informed us that the restaurant had only received our reservation minutes before we arrived. In isolation this could be forgiven, however we also had a problem with our booking the next night again booked via The Fork weeks in advance. When speaking to a server at another restaurant, he told us that booking via The Fork were generally unreliable and they always refused to take bookings of 6 or more, again due groups not turning up.

On reflection we would never again use The Fork.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank RobertWorcesterUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick_De_Smedt, Guest Relations Manager at Restaurante Ca Te Espero, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2017

Thank you very much for your plesant comment.
We will advise tripadvisor hoping that we can rsolve the general problem with the fork.
We hope to see you again next time you are in Madeira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurante Ca Te Espero also viewed

Funchal, Madeira
 

Been to Restaurante Ca Te Espero? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing