We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Marmite Hotel”
Review of The Vine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Vine Hotel
Ranked #15 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 April 2012

Designer hotels are like marmite - you either love them or hate them. Despite the fact that the staff were delightful and the hotel ideally situated for seeing the town, the Vine unfortunately fell in the latter category for us.
We upgraded to a deluxe sea view room on the top floor and although the room gave an initial impression of modern, minimalist cool it was not for us. Furthermore two unsightly office blocks impaired our view.
There was very little drawer space to put our things in and no hooks to hang anything on. No shelf space and one drawer in the bathroom for toiliteries. So all our belongings were crammed into the small storage areas or left in our case. Furthermore the washing area, including the bath were only seperated from the bedroom by clear glass panelling. The loo and the shower had a smoked door but no sound proofing and they were pretty transparent. Hence there is no privacy. Some people may like this but we are too old for the intimacy of seeing and hearing each other's bodily functions!
The lighting was far too dim and if one wanted to get up in the middle of the night, lights automatically turned on following you around the room, waking up your partner. Also it was very easy to press the control buttons by the bed in the dark by mistake opening curtains and blinds.
Having said this, the hotel is probably ideal for a businessmen with little luggage who want a deluxe hotel giving easy access to the town, but for us on holiday we found it slightly claustophobic. It is situated on top of a shopping centre and is thus not ideal if one spends an extended time in Madeira for a relaxing break by the sea, but good for a long weekend exploring Funchal. There is a roof terrace but very little shade.
The Public rooms were well done and the complimentary breakfast was excellent. The staff were charming and helpful, and the overall service was excellent.
Whilst we were there it was the period of the flower festival and the hotel gave a themed dinner. The food was excellent and the show charming.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DJFLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelTheVine, General Manager at The Vine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us and with other travellers. Design is really something that can generate strong feelings and as you well say people can either love it or hate it. We sincerely hope that the service we have provided and the beauty of our lovely island of Madeira have at least diminshed the things you disliked.
We hope you may return to Madeira soon and thank you once again for your comments. With our best regards,
Teresa Goncalves
Genral Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (2,279)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,396 - 1,400 of 2,279 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2012

Stayed here in Mid March and what a fabulous place! I could not fault a thing,the service was impeccable the bedrooms where the ultimate in up to the minute luxury. Fabulous showers,huge beds and slippers left at the side of the bed. Breakfast was excellent with a wide range of choice and the Uva restaurant food was superb.Would highly recommend and definetly return.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PNEONHOLIDAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelTheVine, General Manager at The Vine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments and for sharing your opinion with us. We are very happy to know that you have been totally satisfied with our hotel in all aspects and your comments will surely help us to continue the work and improve where we can.
We hope you may come back soon to Madeira and to The Vine.
Please accept our warmest regards,
Teresa Goncalves
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The Divine is a beautifull designhotel located at the top od Dolce Vita shoppingcentre in centre of Funchal. The reception area, breakfast room and all premises are very nice design so are the rooms. We had a fantastic room overlooking the harbour and with a large bathtub at the end of the room. The service is very good and personal and i would not hesitate to recomend this hotel. This is top of the line. My girlfriend had a birthday and a bottle of champagne in a cooler with a nice handwritten card was placed at our room with compliments from the staff. This is the kind of things that make this 5 star hotel exceed your expectations.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravellerfromtheNort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelTheVine, General Manager at The Vine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your opinion with us and with other holiday makers.
The comments are for us an encouragement to keep up the good work and exceed our guests expectations if possible.
We hope you may come back soon to our lovely island of Madeira and to The Vine.
Please accept our best regards,
Teresa Goncalves
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We stayed (me, my wife, our 3 mths old baby) over Easter for 5 nights, holidays.
LOCATION: Just a stone throw away from Funchal's city centre with historic buildings, nice cafes and restaurants. It is NOT in the so-called 'hotel quarter' with it's tourist trap restaurants. Hence perfect. We had from our room (south corner on the highest floor) view to the ocean and the cruise ship harbour.
HOUSE: Newly build, as part of a mall complex. No disturbance by the shopping area at all. Modern, contemporary, chic design. Perfect selection of materials, lights, colors. Small but nice spa area with steam bath (no finnish sauna, though). Roof terrasse with bar, small but chic pool and view over the city and to the ocean.
ROOM: Very spacious, same modern design. Central control panels, also next to the bed, for lights, curtains. Dimmed lights under the bed with moving sensor for those who need to the bathroom at night. Very clean.
SERVICE/STAFF: Very professional, genuinely friendly and eager to help. Perfect.
RESTAURANT/FOOD/ROOM SERVICE: Very good food, beautifully presented. Good breakfast (egg dishes to order, individually and freshly made). Room service quite fast.

Only negative we experienced: In contrast to the restaurant, the room service has to learn a bit, still. We always had dinner in the room (because of our baby's sleeping time). Two out of five dinners had a small quirk. The one time, the main course was cold, because the warming box's door under the table was open, the plates had no lids. The other time, the Cesar's Salad was terrible, obviously prepared hours before served, a mashed mess in the dressing.

But these were the only cons we experienced!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank BjoernBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelTheVine, General Manager at The Vine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your opinion with us and with other travellers. We are very happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay in our property and in our beatifull island of Madeira.
Your comments are highly appreciatted as they will help us to adjust the service provided and we will make sure that we will correct whathever necessary to fullfill your expectations.
We sincerely hope you may come back soon to repeat your holiday experience.
With our best regards,
Teresa Gonçalves
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

Just returned from a week holiday at The Vine and it was everything we thought it would be! This is an 'uber chic' cool hotel. The room was very 'designer' with a great big comfy bed, massive walk in shower/wet room and loads of storage. Everything was so clean and pristine. Staff were really helpful and the breakfast buffet was superb and constantly being refreshed.
The roof top pool was a real treat and was always quiet.
The hotel has a great position in the centre of Funchal which is great for shops and restaurants. We would definitely go back!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ShootingStar100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelTheVine, General Manager at The Vine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your comments about your stay at The Vine. All the team is feeling encouraged and very motivated to keep the scores high and higher.
We hope you come back soon to the lovely island of Madeira and to The Vine.
With our best regards,
Teresa Goncalves
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
1.6 km away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#4 of 88 in Funchal
3,008 reviews
1.4 km away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#3 of 88 in Funchal
932 reviews
1.0 km away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
3.3 km away
Pestana Grand Premium Ocean Resort
1.8 km away
VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Vine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Vine Hotel

Address: Rua Aranhas 27 A, Funchal, Madeira 9000-044, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Funchal
#8 Family Hotel in Funchal
#12 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#15 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#15 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range: ₹ 10,363 - ₹ 21,033 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Vine Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hotel with soul, just like a good wine. The Vine is sophisticated and luxurious. With a touch of simplicity and discretion, just the way you like it. A dip in the panoramic pool, a vino-therapy session in the spa or a gourmet dinner with a view over the city: these are just a few of the pleasures awaiting you at The Vine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Vine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Vine, a Divine Hotel Hotel Funchal
Vine a Divine Funchal
The Vine Hotel Funchal, Madeira

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing