We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Melia Maderia Marevellous!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Ranked #23 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Melia Maderia Marevellous!”
Reviewed 25 July 2012

We have just spent a wonderful 7 days at the Melia Maderia Mare in Funchal and enjoyed every minute of it.The hotel is relatively new and is of modern style throughout.The rooms are very large and well appointed with quality furnishings.The bathroom has a large shower cubicle with a rainfall shower head and non slip decked floor.Bath with hand held shower for rinsing and twin hand basins.The WC & Bidet are separated by a frosted glass wall and door.Speaker in the ceiling relays the audio from the LCD TV.Good quality toiletries are replenished daily and the towels as and when required.Bathrobes, slippers and face cloths are also provided.No facility to hang bath towels and no soap dish.The bathroom door is a triumph of design over functionality.It is split into two halves,open one half and it is not quite wide enough to work as a door opening,open both halves and they protrude out into the hall,wardrobe area.The bedside tables lacked a drawer for your pills and potions,readers etc but the bed was good quality and huge,The tea and coffee making facility had a quality stainless steel kettle and was replenished daily.The room was kept spotlessly clean by the maid.Beautiful balcony.

We was on Bed and Breakfast so can not comment on the evening meals.The breakfast was very good but not the best we have had.Huge selection of breads,cakes,pastries biscuits etc but as my wife is Coeliac these are off the menu and there wasn't much alternative except fruit and limited yogurts.

The Hotels fitness facilities are exceptional.A beautiful large heated indoor pool accompanied by a well equipped gym and shower room with an adjacent spa and massage center.The outdoor pool is surrounded by plenty of comfortable sun loungers and various layers of decking provides plenty of sun loungers with parasols.Fresh clean towels are freely available daily.

For those on Bed and Breakfast there are many good places to eat within easy walking distance and a Spar and Pingo Doce supermarket are close to the Hotel.A taxi rank and bus stop for the local buses is also a short walk away.

The staff at the Hotel are the most friendly and polite you could wish to meet.We never met one that did not smile and greet you.A credit to the hotel.A special mention to Marcos on reception who went the extra mile for us and a good wish for trainee Joanna in the restaurant who is nervously learning the job but is fast fitting into the team.!Muito obrigado pela hospitalidade.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MrsTDrBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience & Marketing Exec at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 5 August 2012
Thank you kindly for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor and for your preference in our Resort during your recent stay in Madeira Island.

We strive for complete guest satisfaction and a service that is efficient yet unobtrusive.

Many thanks for your kind words which I will share with our entire team including Marco and our intern Joana who I am certain will undoubtedly be encouraged by your remarks.

We're sorry some of our facilities did not completely meet with your expectations and wish to inform you that your comments are being addressed internally.

With kind regards and best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,703 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    935
    554
    165
    36
    13
See reviews for
240
1,128
46
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

This was our seventh visit to this hotel since it opened and our 13th to Madeira.The hotel is located in the Lido area overlooking the sea with a lovely promenade for walking and gardens with bars and restaurants .Its always a pleasure to return here as its a different type of holiday we always hire a car as there is so much to see on the island and you can get to so many places that the bus tours don`t go to. There is no problem with traffic noise as the hotel is located well back from the main road and rooms are either side or front facing the sea. Breakfast is excellent as other reviewers have said lots of choice .Pool is nice and warm and is an infinity design .Staff could not be more friendly all throughout the hotel.The hotel is built back into a hill so therefore a number of levels ,...Reception is floor 3 ...Outdoor Pool and Restaurant ( used for breakfast also ) and night time entertainment is floor 0 . Indoor pool and Spa is floor 2. Library and games room is floor 2. Internet is floor 3 left of reception in left hand corner. There are 2 sun terraces on decking areas on level 1 and 2 above pool with loungers and parasols ,steps at side of pool bar to access these or from reception at side door which also has a decking area with lots of seating and garden area. At the back of the hotel if you go left past the Porto Mare this brings you to the biggest Pingo Doce supermarket (3 min walk) easier to get to than the one up on Estrada Monumental also small shopping mall and a number of restaurants. For those heading in to the Old Town area of Funchal ( Zona Velha little cobbled streets with lot of the main restaurants mentioned inTrip Advisor) the No.6 bus terminus is at the back of the hotel in the roundabout it also stops outside front of Porto Mare and is the best bet as its empty when you get on, no service after 8pm The No`s 2 and 4 that stop opposite the Monumental Lido hotel are others you can get but these are often full at evening time when they come as bus services have been cut back.Get off at last stop (bus station) for Old Town on all 3 routes and walk to the right under the cable cars and you are there .Bus fare is 1.90 euro or 1.25 euro if you buy prepaid tickets.The open top sightseeing yellow bus also stops at the back of the hotel. Taxis are plentiful and are about 8 euro. Buses to other resorts can be got at this bus station these are Rodavante a grey and red bus the local ones are yellow .The Forum shopping center is a 10 min. walk from the hotel go up steps at side of Bella Ilha bar opposite hotel and go left at top of steps past the other Pingo Doce supermarket . There is also another of these supermarkets in the Forum on the bottom level. Last but by no means least a very special thanks to Tina and Nati in the Melia for all their help.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank richardandgabrielle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience & Marketing Exec at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 5 August 2012
Thank you ever so much for taking time in posting your valuable feedback and positive comments yet again on Tripadvisor.

Moreover, we are truly grateful to you for allowing us to host you during your last 7 visits to our Resort.

We feel both honored and privileged to have you as our loyal guest and appreciate your patronage, support and preference during your many visits to our lovely island.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back many more times in the future.

With kind regards and very best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Excellent hotel in lido district of Funchal only stayed B&B but food was excellent staff very friendly facilities excellent will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gazzaman56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience & Marketing Exec at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 5 August 2012
Thank you kindly for taking the time to post your positive feedback and comments.

We strive for excellence of service and your positive experience is our most important reward.

We look forward to welcoming you back again sometime in the near future.

Kind regards and Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
369 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 581 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

We stayed in the Melia Madeira Mare for 7 nights in uly and found the hotel to superb.
The hotel is very spacious and beautifully appointed.
It is located about a 10-15 minute bus trip from Funchal Marina (depending on traffic) and bus costs €1.90 single ticket or a taxi will cost you about €7 excluding tip. There are taxis on the road just above the hotel and the bus stop is on another street elevated above the first. You'll see what I mean when you get there ;-))

Check in was easy and the receptionist explained the 'workings' of the hotel to us very well.

The room on 6th floor (I specifically asked for a high floor) was very well appointed and had everything you would need for a very comfortable stay there. We were given a 'side sea view'. Next time, I believe I would pay extra for a full sea view. The side sea view is fine, but you do have to make a bit of an effort to actually see any decent sea view in these rooms.

Before we arrived at the hotel, some reviews on Tripadvisor mentioned that the food was not great at MMM. I would have to disagree completely with this. The breakfast buffet was superb and the staff very attentive. I can't imagine why anyone would complain about that. It was probably the best breakfast buffet that I have encountered to date. We also ate dinner there on one night and we found the buffet to be very nice and reasonable at €28 per person.
There are a number of nice restaurants within walking distance.

I used the indoor pool area every morning for an early morning swim and always included 10 minutes in the jacuzzi. Fresh Towels are provided at both indoor and outdoor pool areas.
The outdoor pool area is really lovely and the pool is fantastic. There are lovely views of the sea from this deck. While the area was busy, we never had trouble getting sun beds around the pool.

There is a little 'Spar' shop just across the road from the hotel, but a better Pingo Doce up one level and across the road from the bus stop.

Overall, this has to be one of the better hotels around the Funchal area and I was delighted we chose it above others that were offered.

I recommend it to you.

Room Tip: Get a sea view room. Try and get a free upgrade first but if this does not work and you like a full...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bryno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience & Marketing Exec at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 5 August 2012
Many thanks for your review on Tripadvisor.

We're happy that we were able to deliver on your expectations and that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your positive feedback is an encouragement for all the staff and will ensure to pass on your kind remarks.
Thank you for your preference; we hope to welcome you back sometime in the near future !.
Kind regards and best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

My wife & i have just returned from a very enjoyable 11 night stay at the Melia Mare.We have stayed at this hotel quite a few times since it first opened in 2009.Standards & quality have not slipped in that time period,in fact they have got better, & having stayed in most of the 4&5* hotels in Funchal we think it takes some beating. The hotel is in a commanding position on the promenade in the lido area with fantastic views.Very large sea view bedrooms with all the facillities you could wish to ask for,including free wi-fi.We stayed on a b/b basis.Everything is freshly cooked at breakfast & the fresh fruit that is on offer is excellent.Nothing to much trouble for any of the staff,whether it be reception, pool attendant,or the room maid.
Summed up the Melia is a very well run hotel & is a delight to stay in when on holiday.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rob_Morton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TinaNobrega, Guest Experience & Marketing Exec at Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 5 August 2012
Thank you ever so much firstly for your loyalty and patronage and for taking time to post your feedback yet again on Tripadvisor.

We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us once again and thank you kindly for your comments and remarks which are an encouragement for us all.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon !
With kind regards and best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.8 km away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 86 in Funchal
2,816 reviews
1.1 km away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#15 of 86 in Funchal
1,861 reviews
0.7 km away
Madeira Regency Cliff
Madeira Regency Cliff
#12 of 86 in Funchal
1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#8 of 86 in Funchal
1,348 reviews
0.6 km away
VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira
2.5 km away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa

Property: Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Address: Lido - Rua de Leichlingen nos. 2-4, Funchal, Madeira 9000-003, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Funchal
#9 Business Hotel in Funchal
#17 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#20 Family Hotel in Funchal
#22 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#23 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,917 - ₹ 28,725
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Melia Madeira is a modern and elegant five-star hotel with a contemporary design that will enhance the availability of quality accommodation options for both business and leisure travelers to Madeira Island. Overlooking the Atlantic Ocean and boasting magnificent sea views, the hotel is conveniently located a few meters of the sea, in close proximity to the small pebble beach, Gorgulho and offers direct access to the Oceanside promenade. The Resort offers free Wi-Fi in all rooms and public areas, an indoor and outdoor pool and a spa. Elegantly-furnished rooms offer a balcony and cable TV. Some rooms of Meliã Madeira Mare include scenic views of the Atlantic Ocean from the balcony. Many of the hotel’s rooms also have a sitting area.Guests can relax in the jacuzzi and sauna at Meliã Madeira Mare’s spa. Massage treatments and a steam bath are also offered.Free parking is available. Madeira International Airport is a 25-minute drive away. Meliã Madeira Mare is a 5-minute walk from the center of the city.Meliã Madeira Mare’s restaurant serves a breakfast buffet and themed buffets for dinner. A la Carte menu is also available. The hotel’s pool bar provides refreshing beverages and light snacks for lunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Melia Hotels APAC, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Madeira Mare Hotel Funchal
Melia Madeira Mare Resort And Spa
Sol Melia Funchal
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing