We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Jardim Atlantico
Nearby Hotels
US$ 400
US$ 367
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Moniz Sol(Porto Moniz)(Great Value!)
US$ 89
US$ 51
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$ 164
US$ 140
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 285
US$ 253
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$ 148
US$ 140
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 246
US$ 118
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel The Cliff Bay(Funchal)
US$ 282
US$ 244
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 126
US$ 111
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 160
US$ 140
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Residencial Parque(Funchal)(Great Value!)
US$ 33
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
Reviews (255)
Filter reviews
255 results
Traveller rating
130
88
27
9
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
130
88
27
9
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat place to staymain buildingbig roomthe atlantic oceanevening buffetbuffet foodwalking holidayenjoyed our stayindoor poolother hotelshalf boardlevada walksfunchalwifibalconymauriciovilla
Filter
Updating list...
53 - 58 of 255 reviews
Reviewed 27 January 2011

I was visiting my freidns who were staying in this hotel,
The location of the hotel is for people looking for peace and nature lovers fantastic: high above the sea with a gigantic view, calm and pure relaxation. We highly recommend due to the remote location on the west of the island a rental car. However there were also many tourists in the hotel, the the island with public buses, and the offered in the hotel we have explored organized hiking or also take a taxi (not cheap).
it is better to book a car in advance and collect it at the airport for all you stay here.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank marcin1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2010

great place, people frightnened me before i went with their reviews god they must stay in 5 star get a grip, so there was no air conditioning get a fan and yes it is loud from the bars across the road so do what we did take ear plugs the food was exactly like 4 star hotels which i have done for the last five years only there is none free around the pool that's the only difference. The bedding was changed every 3 days for us and put the towels on the flor once you have used them and they will give you fresh ones just like in every hotel. Pool was cleaned every morning just very busy their on weekends as the spanish have thier time shares in the hotel they are very rude they think they own he place for those couple of days so you will find it busy then but we loved it and would recommend it to everyone..All the entertainment is on the door step.wish we were still there..............have fun you will.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 34371manson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2010

Service on the hotel is excellent, as well as food. Buffet is highly recommended. Location is beutiful and hotel provides free transportation almost daily to a location where it's easy to start a hike back to hotel.

Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Tebessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2010

Great to stay in the West of the island. A very good alternative to Funchal giving you more of an idea of island life. Stayed at the same time as EagleDK in two of the studios in the main building and found them to be very well furnished and equipped and not in need of refurbishment. Soundproofing excellent, food great and staff very helpful....one of us had need of a dentist while we were there and they couldn't have been more helpful! Our only criticism is that given there is a nudist terrace on the 4th floor there is still nudity in both the indoor swimming pool and the sauna, but then we are British so we probably would criticise that!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank MissPickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2010

Large hotel, mainly for mass tourism. Good location and friendly front desk staff but a somewhat impersonal place lacking atmosphere. We stayed in a T1 apartment which is large and with a good sea view but appears worn and definitely needs refurbishing and modernising. Equipment basic but ok.

Pool and spa areas ok but proportions not convincing as the indoor pool is very small and only one small sauna. Must be crowded during season. Jacuzzi was out of order.

Breakfast was not interesting, a fairly small selection. Dinner (buffet): Large selection and good quality but not very inspiring. Restaurant staff seems unengaged and without attendance. On the second day we dropped the buffet and visited Chico, a small cosy restaurant near the church in Prazeres. Cheap, good an plenty food, friendly service and local atmosphere - highly recommended!

On a rainy day we tried the small and steep path to the sea at Paul do Mar. It started as an exciting experience with stunning views, even though stones were slippery, but half way down we were forced to return as the path had been washed away by a large fresh mud flow which had also taken the thin wire separating us from the gorge. After our reporting at the hotel this private path was closed but obviously no current inspection is carried out so be careful in wet weather!

According to all the certificates exhibited in the foyer the hotel is very proud of its status as first class ecological. However, it is difficult to see how this place differs from any other hotel in this sense. There may be some low energy bulbs and waste sorting in the apartments but nothing else indicates an environmental practice or seems to justify the ecological label. Also we were very surprised that the hotel since mid 90's has been continually awarded as one of the best holiday hotels in the world (!) by the guests of a German travel company. But tastes differ..

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Eagle_dk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews