We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shelter in the storm, thank you jardim atlantico”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Jardim Atlantico
Ranked #54 of 157 Hotels in Madeira
Certificate of Excellence
Hinderwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Shelter in the storm, thank you jardim atlantico”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2011

We spent two days here having been moved from the hotel we should have been staying in (Calheta Beach, see my other review). Whilst we were really grateful that we were given shelter here, it wouldn't have been the hotel we would have chosen. It is based in a very small hamlet in the hills and seems to be the choice of people who are keen hikers or naturalists (or maybe in some cases naturists, there was a nude sunbathing terrace). Because we had been inconvenienced, wine was included with our evening meal and we were upgraded to a suite. The disadvantage of this is that we had to walk up/down 69 outside steps to reach our acccomodstion, often in the rain! Both our friends and we were allocated an apartment with bedroom, lounge, kitchenette and bathroom. Because the weather was poor, the rooms were very cold but we managed to use a portable heater to ward off the worst of the chills. The buffet meals were quite good with a variety of meals and breakfast was ample. The hotel runs a variety of free bus trips which we took advantage of and visited a village which might not have done for a lunch out. The receptionist, Rita, was fantastic and I cannot praise the staff enough for looking after us at short notice. The majority of guests appear to be German or Scandinavian and the meals reflect the clientele's tastes.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank sallymarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    79
    23
    7
    0
See reviews for
31
133
16
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Katowice, Poland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2011

I was visiting my freidns who were staying in this hotel,
The location of the hotel is for people looking for peace and nature lovers fantastic: high above the sea with a gigantic view, calm and pure relaxation. We highly recommend due to the remote location on the west of the island a rental car. However there were also many tourists in the hotel, the the island with public buses, and the offered in the hotel we have explored organized hiking or also take a taxi (not cheap).
it is better to book a car in advance and collect it at the airport for all you stay here.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marcin1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Wales, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2010

great place, people frightnened me before i went with their reviews god they must stay in 5 star get a grip, so there was no air conditioning get a fan and yes it is loud from the bars across the road so do what we did take ear plugs the food was exactly like 4 star hotels which i have done for the last five years only there is none free around the pool that's the only difference. The bedding was changed every 3 days for us and put the towels on the flor once you have used them and they will give you fresh ones just like in every hotel. Pool was cleaned every morning just very busy their on weekends as the spanish have thier time shares in the hotel they are very rude they think they own he place for those couple of days so you will find it busy then but we loved it and would recommend it to everyone..All the entertainment is on the door step.wish we were still there..............have fun you will.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 34371manson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2010

Service on the hotel is excellent, as well as food. Buffet is highly recommended. Location is beutiful and hotel provides free transportation almost daily to a location where it's easy to start a hike back to hotel.

Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Tebessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2010

Great to stay in the West of the island. A very good alternative to Funchal giving you more of an idea of island life. Stayed at the same time as EagleDK in two of the studios in the main building and found them to be very well furnished and equipped and not in need of refurbishment. Soundproofing excellent, food great and staff very helpful....one of us had need of a dentist while we were there and they couldn't have been more helpful! Our only criticism is that given there is a nudist terrace on the 4th floor there is still nudity in both the indoor swimming pool and the sauna, but then we are British so we probably would criticise that!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank MissPickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Madeira hotels
2.2 km away
Aparthotel Paul do Mar
Aparthotel Paul do Mar
#1 of 1 in Paul do Mar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
2.6 km away
Atrio
Atrio
#1 of 1 in Estreito da Calheta
5.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
7.9 km away
Residencial Farol
Residencial Farol
#1 of 1 in Ponta do Pargo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 km away
Savoy Saccharum
Savoy Saccharum
#1 of 8 in Calheta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,004 reviews
13.3 km away
Enotel Baia
Enotel Baia
#1 of 2 in Ponta Do Sol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
13.6 km away
Aqua Natura Madeira Hotel
Aqua Natura Madeira Hotel
#1 of 5 in Porto Moniz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jardim Atlantico? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jardim Atlantico

Property: Hotel Jardim Atlantico
Address: Caminho Do Lombo Da Rocha | Prazeres, Madeira 9370-605, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#34 Spa Hotel in Madeira
#51 Luxury Hotel in Madeira
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,265 - ₹ 8,797
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Jardim Atlantico 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Jardim Atlantico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jardim Atlantico Madeira
Jardim Atlantico Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing