We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Would definitely come back!”
other travellers have booked this property
Open plan living for cooking and chatting
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Open plan living for cooking and chatting
Two wheels are a great way to get around Large open plan kitchen with so much work space with a dishwasher of course
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
17 reviews
Open plan living for cooking and chatting
Two wheels are a great way to get around
Large open plan kitchen with so much work space with a dishwasher of course
Dinning with a pool view at night
Very sunny aspect
Escape and relax
Double bedroom with ensuite shower room and balcony on the south side
Ensuite bathroom/shower for master bedroom
Downstairs twin bedroom with patio doors to southside
Upstairs twin bedroom with ensuite shower room with private balcony
View from the dinning table
View as you approach the village
Lovely cafe bar within walking distance
Lovely roped walk around the lagoon
Many natural places to escape to
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Obidos, Leiria District, Central Portugal

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
GirlSkuce...
Elstree, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Would definitely come back!”
Reviewed 28 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Absolutely loved this villa and we were so sad when we had to come home. The villa itself is stunning and the pictures do not do it justice at all. There was pretty much everything you'd need (except food, although we were even left basic provisions to keep us going until we could get to the supermarket) and we were just so happy and comfortable during our stay. The surrounding area is very pretty and the nearest beach was stunning and not busy at all. Car hire is a must here as there is nothing within walking distance, i.e. supermarkets etc. and the nearest one at Bom Successor golf course (5 mins drive) hardly had anything on the shelves so you'll need to get into Obidos to Intermarche (10 mins) which is a big supermarket with everything. Local wine was cheap and lovely. There were no downsides to the villa at all, it was fantastic. The area however, was a little limited for things for the kids to do, although this wasn't necessarily a problem for our children but may be for another family. Unless you like fish, food choices were slightly limited too (I love fish but my husband and kids all hate it). We did go into Lisbon on our last day but I think because it was Sunday, hardly anything was open so I would avoid going in on a Sunday! Obidos medieval walled city was just lovely and we really liked this as a day out and the restaurants within it were much better and had more choice. What I definitely did not like about this area though was the amount of flies. We couldn't have a meal, inside or out, without being attacked. It got on my nerves within a day of being there but it still didn't spoil our holiday. The villa was beautiful, can't recommend it enough! Thanks for a lovely relaxing holiday :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The villa
Liked least: The flies!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
555dave33
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
“Fantastic house in an amazing part of Portugal”
Reviewed 18 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We recently had 2 weeks in the villa and had a fantastic time. The house is in a quiet street and is very private, it has parking for 2 cars out the front and even a bread delivery van that comes by every day ! It is well located and only a 5 minute drive to the lagoon and 5 minutes more to some beautiful hidden beaches. Debbie and Kim were very helpful, the pool was cleaned regularly and they even dropped off some fans to help with the warm weather. The house contains everything you need for a great holiday, toys for the kids / pool, badminton set, poolside lounges, bbq etc and everything is of a high standard.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: High standard and private, located in a nice quiet area
Liked least: Bad wifi
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: A lovely villa for the price per week.Very modern, comfortable well appointed.
Liked least: 15 min drive to the nearest largish supemarket.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 29 July 2012 for a stay in July 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Deb and B...
Kitchener, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great Villa but off the beaten path if you are interested in sightseeing in Portugal”
Reviewed 1 July 2012 for a stay in June 2012

Travelling in Portugal is confusing at times to say the least. As a North American, we are used to street signs, N/S/W/E directions and relatively straight roads. Unfortunately, there are none of these and if they are, only the locals know where to find them.
We initially had difficulty finding our villa as we had no street address and a narrative type direction given. We ended up in a town past our accomodation and were lucky enough to find a gentleman who agreed to drive us to our villa. After a few days, the directions made sense but with the 5 hour time difference, strange roads and very rustic and maze like streets, these were challenging initially. We got lost trying to get to the villa and then got lost trying to just get out of the subdivision.
Obidos area is beautiful once you find your way around, another renting couple from the UK also had the same trouble finding their way out and back in to the villa development so we didn't feel so bad. There is many streets in this subdivision that are not developed yet and due to the use of traffic circles and strange or lack of signs - were confusing until you get a handle on them. It took a few days but became much easier after. The other couple were a little miffed at not being able to have the owner come over to explain some things like the internet and the air conditioner and it may have been helpful to go over those things at first. That however, may have been our fault as she was there the first day a few hours after we arrived however, we were all pretty tired and not quite in the mode of finding these things out. We do understand the owner does work too and could not always be there daily.
We were satisfied with the anemnities however, the furniture was all from IKEA as were the beds. I am used to posturpedic type beds and struggle even in hotels, so it might be unfair to say I disliked the beds however, the other couple we stayed with had the same complaints i.e. stuffed mattress on a platform does not equal posturpedic mattress.
It is quite breezy and at times cool in the Obidos area so we did not access the pool very much. I have to say though, when the pool goes through its cleaning cycle at 3am, it is very noisy and lasts through most of the day (weekly on Wednesday and occasionally after that). The property is very nice though and quiet with a washer, dishwasher, bbq and patio furniture as stated in the ad. The only things we were disappointed with were the air conditioner as at first, we couldn't get it to blow cool air (not so bad at the beginning of the week as it was cooler but terrible at the end when it was over 30 degrees). When we did figure it out, it didn't seem to reach the upstairs and the other couple described it as a "sauna". It said in the ad that the rooms were airconditioned- I would say just the kitchen, living room and dining room - somewhat in the lower bedroom.
The wifi also costs you although we did not see this in the ad. It is dial up type so is very slow and was confusing at first (our fault) as we didn't realize a wifi stick was required in the top (located in a separate plastic folder). Even with this, it was difficulty to get on our email and also Sunwing website to change our seats and check on plane arrival times. Also, it is charged at $1.00 Euro per hour and if you don't shut the modem off, it will continue to eat your time (Deborah does tell you this in the orientation binder). We were disappointed that it was not clearly stated that it was a paid for service. Also, we debated not paying for it as we didn't find it helpful and had difficulty using it - we did however.
As a North American, being that the deposit must be paid in UK pounds, it was costly to get a money transfer and also difficulty through the bank. As well, the pound is significantly more than a Euro and could be an additonal cost (as well at the bank transfer) that you may not be budgeting. You must also have a 250 pound damage deposit that you will not get back until at least a week later so you must budget this as well. Ensure you have all necessary information including the owners name, address, telephone, Banks name, address (full) and telephone number as well as all transit codes etc. Likewise, that Deborah has yours in which to return your deposit. I left a void cheque as it had all this information on it. I had to make several inquiries in order to send the rental fee and spend an hour at the bank trying to track down which bank it was in the UK due to the differences in addresses.
We did have difficulty contacting the owner. This could be due to our using our Canadian phone but I found that she didn't get my texts (or didn't answer them) when I sent to the number given in the book (she texted me back with a different number later) and due to not being able to email, had no way to contact her. I ended up calling 2x which unfortunately cost me roaming fees of 25.00 + x2.
Lisbon is 1 hour away and it would have been nice to spend a couple days there, I recommend Peniche (about 30 mins away) for beach and beautiful scenery. Obidos we spent 2 days in as well as it is so majestic. Sintra is about 2 hours away and is a busy tourist town but has a beautiful palace and shops to see. There are many areas that have commonalities re. fortress walls and churches etc. A good website to visit is golisbon.com. Research is needed prior to going in order to plan your holiday as well as a rental car with a confident driver due to the states of the narrow and curvy roads and lack of street names. Recommend you pick up a Portugal map at the airport and then look for smaller towns/city maps as you go. The grocery store in Obidos is reasonable and with some looking, you can find known food items even though they are listed in Portuguese. It seems almost everyone in Portugal knows "a little english".

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet street, clean accomodation and beautiful property
Liked least: Long and confusing drive to cities, lots of driving if you are going anywhere else, beds were uncomfortable and wifi very slow and with a cost, air conditioning did not reach upstairs.
Travelling group: With Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing