We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful fresh seafood!”
Review of Mar Ao Carmo

Mar Ao Carmo
Reserve with
Mar Ao Carmo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #139 of 4,411 Restaurants in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 24 - US$ 53
Neighbourhood: Chiado & Carmo
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Chiado & Carmo
Reviewed 29 September 2017 via mobile

Hosted a dinner for eleven people. Service was impeccable-no one waited for any food course. The seafood is incredible-fresh and expertly prepared. I shared a shellfish stew with a colleague. Prepared and served in a copper pot. The broth was amazing and the fish (lobster, shrimp, razor clams) were cooked perfectly. Another colleague had grilled octopus, which I tasted-tender and flavorful. Good selection of green, white and red local wines. And, just a little over 50 euro per person. Can't be beat. Highly recommended.

Thank Constance C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maraocarmo, Gestor at Mar Ao Carmo, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Dear Constance,
thank you very much for your time to share a such detailed review in
TripAdvisor community about your experience.
It's so important to us to have the feedback of our valuable guests.
We hope have the opportunity to welcome you back again
Warmest regards from Lisbon.

Lisuarte Cristovam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (414)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 414 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile

Booked to go here as it was a Friday night and Lisbon was busy. My wife and I shared a Turbot as a main course which was excellent. Mussels as a starter and the Tuna were well cooked and tasted lovely.

Service levels were also very good. We went at 7pm and the restaurant was not too busy.

Would go again and recommend.

Thank Palace001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maraocarmo, Gestor at Mar Ao Carmo, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

Dear Palace001,
thank you very much for your time to share a such detailed review in
TripAdvisor community about your experience.
It's so important to us to have the feedback of our valuable guests.
We hope have the opportunity to welcome you back again
Warmest regards from Lisbon.

Lisuarte Cristovam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017 via mobile

Good portions of nice seefood. We had octopus salad, garlic shrimps, tuna with sesam and oysters. All very tastefull! Friendly service. Situated on a nice small square.

Thank Sanne_Amsterdam1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maraocarmo, Gestor at Mar Ao Carmo, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2017

Dear Sanne_Amsterdam1,
Thank you for your outstanding review, and for taking the time to post a review of your experience on TripAdvisor.
We do hope to have opportunity to welcome you back to our Restaurant again in the near future and still offer you the excellent level of service.
Warmest regards,

Lisuarte Cristovam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017 via mobile

Superb evening with absolutely gorgeous fish- two bacalao dishes, octopus, mixed cataplana, prawns.... Plus a Douro white wine. Very much recommend it! There are meat and salads for non fish lovers and the staff were friendly and helpful.
10 minutes walk from Rossio and five minutes from the top of the Santa Justa tower.
Great reward for a day spent exploring this lovely city

1  Thank AnntgYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maraocarmo, Gestor at Mar Ao Carmo, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Dear AnntgYork,
Thank you for your review about your experience at our restaurant
It is such a great pleasure for us to receive your compliments
We look forward to your next visit to Lisbon
Warmest regards from Lisbon,

Lisuarte Cristovam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

We've been there for dinner, we didn't have to wait to get a table.
The waiter was speaking french, english, german, and of course portuguese ! Really expressive and really great for us!

The fish and seafood were really fresh!

We took a seafood plate with rice for 2 (45€), really a good dish, but we would have appreciate a bit more seafood inside of it !

Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maraocarmo, Gestor at Mar Ao Carmo, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Dear Daniel
I would like to thank you for choosing Mar ao Carmo restaurant and also thank you very much for your kind message. It is a real motivation for our team to offer every day a high quality dinner or lunch for our customers.
We look forward to welcome you back soon.
Kindest regards,

Lisuarte Cristovam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mar Ao Carmo also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Mar Ao Carmo? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing