We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (38)
Filter reviews
38 results
Traveller rating
22
12
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
22
12
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fully equipped kitchen place to stay suitcases apartment train
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 38 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2017

Excellent apartments with communal large terrace for enjoying a sundowner or a quiet breakfast. Kevin, the manager/owner(??) incredibly helpful & friendly. Insisted on carrying our suitcase up to our apartment. There are quite a few steps from the main entrance on the street up to the terrace, with the apartments leading off it. Lovely outlook from the apartment & terrace. Apartment large & incredibly well equipped with everything you could want, from nice fluffy towels & fabulous shower to fully equipped kitchen, corkscrew & hairdryer. Spotlessly clean & very comfortable bed. Aircon should you need it in bedroom & living room. To be really picky, some more hangers in the wardrobe, & more drawer space would be good. 10 minutes walk from cruise terminal & station. 10 minutes because it is up a steep hill!! Easy walking distance to castle, cathedral ,trams etc. But beware as all of Lisbon is very hilly with lots of steps. Alfama is not a city district I'd want to visit in a wheelchair, for example. Everyone seems to smoke in Lisbon too.

Room Tip: First floor rooms have best views & best privacy. Ground floor rooms have easier access to patio for breakfast etc.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Geoff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2017

We didn't mind the stairs at all but found the maisonette apartment far beyond expectations. The kitchen was kind of poorly selfmade and scruffy, there was mould on the walls due to lack of ventilation. Anyway, you could smell it straight away. The kitchen supply was very sober, the cleaning cloths were used and dirty. Who woud want to touch those?
The bathroom really could not be called as such. On a surface of 70x110 cm there was a shower, a washbassin and the toilette. I'm not a big person but I barely fitted into the shower and once on the toilette, there was the problem of where to leave the knees.

The location of the apartment was goed, but that's about it. If we ever return to Lissabon, we will look for a different accommodation.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Mischa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2017 via mobile

About a 12 euro taxi ride from the airport this hotel is tucked in off a pedestrian street in the Alfama area. Not really a hotel but more a series of suites around a multi layer courtyard. Rooms are not big but they are comfortable and well equipped. We had a kitchenette with stove top and micro wave. Iron, toaster also provided. Couch folds out to a small bed. The outdoor courtyard area gives you much larger living space with tables, couches and BBQ area. Great view of the Pantheon about a five min walk away. There is no reception but if you leave your travel info Kevin will greet you and help you with your bags and make other arrangements for you. He was very helpful. But.. there are lots of stairs so if. They give you a problem this is not the place for you. We would return.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Lesterbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2017

Quiet but ideal apartment in Alfama. Great location, 15 min walk to centre of Lisbon or even quicker by underground at nearby station. Not suitable for the infirm as endless steps to navigate and uneven cobbled roads which all add to the charm.

Room Tip: This is a self catering apartment - not a hotel
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moguest2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2016

Took our first ever trip to Portugal this summer with no idea what to expect beyond some research we had done on the country. We were intrigued but stepping into the complete unknown. It was my girlfriend and I as well the couple that is our best friends and travel buddies. Over the course of the year before we left we explored Portugal via various sites on the internet. We made and cancelled reservations all over Lisbon until we finally settled on Alfama Terrace. The location was perfect for us - in the midst of the oldest parts of the city and close enough to everything to get around without much trouble.

Alfama Terrace, like Portugal, wildly exceeded all of our expectations going into the trip. The terrace is a wonderful place to relax between excursions or to sip a glass of Portuguese wine or Port at the end of a day of exploration. The rooms are more like small apartments than hotel rooms, which to me makes all the difference in the world when you first arrive someplace. For me, it helps make me feel centered and grounded in the location I am at. I feel less like a tourist, no matter how long or short the stay is going to be. Comfortable beds and the rooms are all individually furnished and decorated. We only had a couple of days in Lisbon before we were heading out to explore other parts of Portugal and definitely want to come back to the city to explore it more - when we do we are definitely coming back to Alfama Terrace!

Simply put, great location, wonderful rooms and an amazing view when hanging out on the terrace! If you are looking for a five-star full service hotel, this isn't your location. However, if you are looking for a place that feels more like a cozy home in a great location for walking around Lisbon, this is your place.

Stayed: May 2016
2  Thank Mikemandu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews