We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Cute garden!

Take a nice walk in this palace garden and enjoy. Such nice colors! You can take an Uber easily to... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
joehiroth
,
Frankfurt, Germany
via mobile
Beautiful palace and gardens

This is one of the places in Lisbon to see some really good blue and white tiles. The palace is... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
ES1211
,
Reading, United Kingdom
Read all 319 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Lisbon
from US$ 21.50
More Info
from US$ 25.00
More Info
from US$ 20.30
More Info
from US$ 22.10
More Info
Reviews (319)
Filter reviews
91 results
Traveller rating
54
27
7
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
54
27
7
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews black swans jardim zoologica guided tour portuguese tiles green line tile work zoological gardens portuguese family amazing tiles lisbon zoo worth the trip metro station azulejos battle inhabited independence scenes
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 91 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

Take a nice walk in this palace garden and enjoy. Such nice colors! You can take an Uber easily to get there.

Thank joehiroth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Took a 20 euro taxi ride to be greeted by a gentleman who advised us that the palace was closed for a wedding. The palace is far out of the way from all other attractions so be sure to confirm before going. From the outside it looked disappointing but our driver assured us it was beautiful inside. Oh well.

Thank DoingOurPart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is one of the places in Lisbon to see some really good blue and white tiles. The palace is only open in the morning with half hourly guided tours. It is well worth fitting in a morning visit to see the palace. The gardens are open all day. There are some amazing tiles within, one room being decorated in tiles showing battle scenes. In the garden there are more tiles to be seen including a tiled wall with 12 knights and another wall depicting the 12 months of the year. There are some shaded spots where you can sit in the shade and enjoy the garden. We did have some difficulty getting to the palace. We took the metro to the Zoological gardens but we could not see any directions to the palace. I later learnt that there is a green line to follow from the metro station. We managed to get a taxi there despite the taxi strike and caught the 770 bus back which does conveniently stop outside the palace. We were glad that we made the effort to get there.

Thank ES1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018

We decided we only had time to look around the gardens and these were the main reason for our visit. The gardens are stunning and the tile work is very impressive. The colours of the blue and white tiles, red house, and green shrubbery is a must see. There's some lovely little outhouses decorated with seashells as well.

1  Thank BlarghBlargh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2018

A small palace where we can feel the life of a noble portuguese family along the centuries. The country house turned into a palace after the tragic destruction of the city center in the XVII century. The explanations in English, french and Portuguese were helpfull.

Thank joaoboscoa2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2018 via mobile

This palace is worth the visit for all those who like Portuguese tiles and nice gardens. Entrance to the garden and a guided visit of the palace costs € 9. You should visit the inside of the palace because there are a lot of impressive tiles to be seen. In the biggest room there are ten important battles of the restoration war between Portugal and Spain on display. Unfortunately the guide was very rushed and gave us little time to admire the scenes in detail. In fact he was rushed all the time. Outside there is much more amazing tile work on display. In the garden we noticed some signs of neglect. The maintenance of the garden should be better.
Take the blue metro line and get off at the Jardim Zoológico stop. Outside you’ll see a green line on the ground that you can follow and it leads you straight to the palace.

2  Thank lucd166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2018 via mobile

This house is quite difficult to get to, and sadly the interior is not open in the afternoon. The garden is pretty but not very large. Probably best to go if you are doing the inside as well.

Thank megroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018

Been to Lisbon a couple of times and always wanted to see this place. Finally got to see it before heading to my cruise. the tour of the villa is worth taking to see the tiles inside and on the top patio.

Thank tcakaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2018 via mobile

I was lucky to arrive in the morning because there are only guided tours. The tours are every half hour from 10-12. Make sure you go in the morning. The palace is a bit of the beaten path but will worth it.

4  Thank Odyssey571510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2018

absolutely gorgeous palace. Beautiful gardens and azulejos. One of the nicest places in Lisboa. Chek the hours for visits inside. The transport to the palace is a bit dificult so we decided to take a taxi. from Chiado to the palace and it cost 9 euros. We asked the driver to come and pick us back so he did . It was well worthed.

3  Thank beatrizskv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews