We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere and Fado”
Review of Cafe Luso

Cafe Luso
Reserve with
Save up to 50% when you reserve online *
Cafe Luso is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,614 of 5,068 Restaurants in Lisbon
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodré
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

I’m surprised to read the negative reviews of this place. The interior is lovely - perfect for an evening with Fado. The service was very welcoming and the food and wine were good. The Fado was exceptionally good. I would recommend going for the later sets as there are larger groups earlier in the evening

Thank Joan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FadoandFood, Guest Relations Manager at Cafe Luso, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Dear Customer,

Dear customer,

Café Luso is, like it or not, a maximum reference in the fado scene in Lisbon. With 90 years celebrated in 2017, it is the proper establishment to enjoy live fado oldest in the city of Lisbon.

For the respect that its history deserves and recognition of the dignified way as it still presents itself in the Present, Café Luso is highly recommended for those who visit Lisbon and want to know this valuable oral heritage, Fado, recognized by UNESCO and 2011.

Thank you very much for choosing Café Luso, we want to welcome and well impress you agian.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (434)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

15 - 19 of 434 reviews

Reviewed 24 March 2018

A restaurant with great character. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Food excellent. The Fado was amazing and very entertaining. What a great experience while dining out.

Thank paulwilsonfrcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FadoandFood, Guest Relations Manager at Cafe Luso, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

Dear Customer,

A statement as spontaneous and open as yours gives us the "oxygen" we need.

Thank you very much for your appreciation, for having chosen Café Luso, we hope to welcome you again when you return to Lisbon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018

The worse restaurant I ever been in Lisbon, they overcharge their customers. I went to celebrate my Mum birthday on the 1st March 2018, first of all they told us at the entrance the menu and Fado included was 30.00 euros each. Also I requested for them to sing happy birthday to my Mum and the waitress just ignored us and was very rude, they sang to the other lady in a different table and not for my Mum, very disappointed. Then when the bill arrived they overcharged us 55.20 euros of TAXA Expectaculo which is ridiculous we didn't even spend more then 10 min and the music was not great at all and we paid 119.15 euros for 2 people. Never again and I don't recommend anyone to visit Cafe LUSO -FADO in Lisbon, rubbish service and rude staff.
Ja estive em restaurantes muito melhores em Lisboa e este restaurante nao merece nem uma estrela, definitivamente o pior restaurante e os empregados sao simplesmente mal educados. Como podem cubrar 55.20 se era suposto a musica estar icluido no menu, isso foi roubar o cliente.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Jessica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2018

I've never seen such an even spread in the graph representing TA ratings. I don't hesitate to put my vote in for five stars. Having had a huge lunch the same day, we opted for salad, beer, fruit, and port wine, all of which was irreproachable. Expensive it was, but after all, the Fado is what you come for, and that is free (and priceless!). Among the excellent performers were Carminho, Yola Dinis, and 94-year-old Celeste (sister of the legendary Amalia). The room had good acoustics (I applaud their eschewing electronic amplification) and was nicely decorated and comfortable. For each Fado session, they dimmed the lights to candle level (there were some real candles as well)--just the right mood. The large audience was well-behaved and made scarcely a sound during the performances. Customers are also offered souvenir photos of themselves at the table. We'd love to come back another time!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank fanoffrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FadoandFood, Guest Relations Manager at Cafe Luso, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

Dear customer,

What you write here is "music to our ears"!

We value, and much, who knows how to appreciate us, who visits us with an open heart.

Thank you so much for choosing Café Luso, we are counting on your promise, the next visit :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2018 via mobile

We had a lovely evening at Café Luso. The fado music is fantastic! The food is not outstanding but tasty enough. The staff is great. Would definitely recommend.

1  Thank Daphne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Luso also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Cafe Luso? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing